We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect quiet getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Barbi time
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barbi time
Bedroom Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Barbi time
Bedroom
Kitchen area
Exterior
Exterior
Lounge Area
Aerial view of farm
Door sign
View from bedroom window
Dining al fresco
Well stocked kitchen
Garden flowers
Relax and enjoy
Breakfast?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
West Calder, West Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MumoftwoS...
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect quiet getaway”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Such a lovely little hut with everything you need. Beautiful scenery and views, perfect for nice walks.
Great for a weekend away but would love to stay longer next time!
Will definitely be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thanks Stuart for the great review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you return again soon. Maybe in barbecue weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WendyMcBr...
1 review
“Almost excellent”
Reviewed October 2, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would have been roomier and more comfortable if a solo visitor had been able to close the bed into a couch during the day. Also, I would suggest a microwave instead of (or as well as) the hob. Otherwise, it was well nigh perfect!

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2016
Thanks for your review and suggestions. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The bed does fold into a couch but I appreciate it takes a bit of an effort. With regard to the microwave it is something that I have considered but have tried to relent as I do feel that the hut is a glamping experience (glamorous camping) and a chance to live the simple life with no internet etc! Cooking on a hob can be a challenge but fun too. One guest proclaimed her 'pride' at managing cooking steak and all the trimmings on the hob! I will keep it in mind though but tricky to find one that fits in such a small space.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary M
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful away from it all holiday.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This very clean, well equipped, compact, warm and unusual accommodation was everything I could have wanted. I spent two very peaceful weeks here, the views with breakfast were wonderful. I found the local rail service from West Calder to Glasgow or Edinburgh every 30 mins excellent value it saved all the hassle of parking and the cost !! The family were all very friendly and nothing was a bother to them. It was as described not overlooked and the parking was very good. I enjoyed every minute of my holiday and would recommend it.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thank you for your fantastic review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime. Maybe a stay at Peebles next time? Lynda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cavendish, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, unique accomodation
Liked least: poor wifi, but if you are after a restful stay do you really need wifi
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
X9980QTca...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed at the shepherds rest for two nights and were taken aback with the scenery of the surrounding area and how well equipped the hut was, Lynda had thought if everything. There was everything you would need to cook a simple breakfast to a decent meal. We managed to cook steak and all the trimmings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing