We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations and great base to explore the region.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Abalos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hospederia del Vino
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just what I was looking for. Clean, friendly, low key, and every amenity. My wife and I used
Abalos as a base to explore Rioja. It is central between the two larger cities of Haro and Logrono.
Jesus is expanding his winery and constructing a large rotunda next to the hotel but we experienced very little distractions from it. I particularly enjoyed our tour of the bodega given by Jesus. The tour along with a eye opening breakfast was included in the price of 130 euros.
Hospederia del Vino was our favorite hotel during our 10 day trip of northern Spain. If you go to this Region, read my other reviews on the region.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar with modern fixtures and nice linens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueColumbiaSCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We really fell in love with this place and La Rioja. Jesus and his wife Mila were very gracious and friendly hosts. The rooms are clean, modern with all the amenities and great views overlooking the vineyards of the Bodega. The pool, hot tub and sauna are a welcome addition and we went for a swim/sauna everyday. We also found the location to be great for exploring the different towns (we even went as far as Burgos). We got the winery tour and tasting and ended up taking more wine with us when we left. We highly recommend this to anyone coming through La Rioja - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Superb attention to detail in this small working winery next to a 200 years old watermill. Impeccably clean and modern, it equals a 4 star hotel anywhere in the world. The spa includes a heated swimming pool, hot tub and a true steam bath, massage facilities and a self service minibar operated under the honor system. It is run by the Puelles family, they make you feel welcome immediately and give you great advise on where to go and places to eat in the region. I just came back home and cant wait to go back.

Extraordinaria experiencia en éste viñedo junto a un molino de agua de 200 años. Impecablemente limpio y moderno, podría ser un hotel de 4 estrellas en cualquier lugar del mundo. El Spa tiene piscina templada, vapor y jacuzzi así como un minibar de autoservicio donde uno avisa lo que se consume. La familia Puelles es gentil, extremadamente amable, conocedora del lugar y da excelentes recomendaciones de que visitar y a donde comer.
Acabo de regresar y ya me muero de ganas de volver.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views. Todos los cuartos tienen vista excelente.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdommdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Tucked away, off the beaten path, this small winery offers confortable, affordable rooms, good wine, and a charming village nearby. Jesus is gracious and very knowledgeable. You'll get wine tastings and a tour of the organic vineyard and wine making area. Breakfasts are included and served until relatively late. The nearby village of La Guardia is an ancient walled town with good restaurants and several shops well worth visiting. If we come back to this part of Spain we'll be staying here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OvillaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in late October. As you've read, Jesus is a great host and welcomed us once he saw us pull into the parking lot. He immediately gave us a tour of the hotel, then opened some wine for one of several tastings we would have during our stay (one almost each day!).

The next day, he took us on a winery tour. He makes a range of wines, and I think his whites are among the best in Rioja. His reds are also really good. The town of Abalos is very small, but perfectly situated for wine touring since it is roughly in the middle of Rioja. We had an easy time getting to Logrono, Laguardia, Haro, Briones, etc.

The facilities are comfortable with a nice breakfast room and tasty breakfast. There is a nice pool, jacuzzi, and steam room. The rooms are comfortable and clean (for standard European hotels, but not as posh as very high-end Western hotels such as the Westin Palace in Madrid) and the free Internet is a great touch. Jesus was very warm, told us which wineries and restaurants to try, and spent a lot of time talking to us about the region. He also loves to travel and we shared a ton of travel stories while we tasted his wine.

Overall, I highly recommend this for anyone considering a stay in Rioja!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

A real pleasure to stay on a real Bodega as it prepared for the grape harvest. The Puelles family are very welcoming and did everything they could to make us feel at home. Rooms are very comfortable and beautifully finished. Breakfast excellent. Oh - and the wine is some of the best we tried in Rioja.

Highly recommended - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WestCountryFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A great hotel/b&b to stay in the region of La Rioja. Family owned Bodegas Puelles is still run by the owners of the vineyard, has 6 bedrooms to choose from, all of them overlooking the vineyards of the estate. Fantastic location to access all the vineyards of the region and enjoy the best wine tourism.

The hotel staff are brilliant, will give you all the necessary tips of restautants to go to, vineyards to visit (apart fro their small vineyard which produces about 250k bottles a year), villages to see, etc... We really enjoyed our weekend break at Puelles, and would certainly return if we had the chance to!

Try their brilliant Crianza, at about 3euros a bottle! We have already ordered a few more boxes...

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gsemelas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abalos
6.8 mi away
Sercotel Villa de Laguardia Hotel
13.4 mi away
Hospederia Teatrisso
Hospederia Teatrisso
#1 of 1 in Cuzcurrita de Rio Tiron
211 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Calle Mayor
Hotel Calle Mayor
#1 of 16 in Logrono
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Hospederia de los Parajes
6.6 mi away
Hotel Marques de Riscal a Luxury Collection Hotel
11.8 mi away
Real Casona de las Amas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Vino

Address: Camino de los Molinos, s/n, 26339 Abalos, Spain
Location: Spain > La Rioja > Abalos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Abalos
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing