We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service but good food”
Review of The Derby Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Derby Arms
Ranked #2 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It was quiet when we visited on a Thuursday evening. Although the food was good, we had to go to the bar to prompt them we even existed ! The poor young girl behind the bar, seemed to be running the show on her own and was out of her depth.
Cant complain about the food, but the staff ? ..what appeared to be the manager, just strolled around with his hands in his pockets (what I regard as the height of bad manners ! ) I am led to believe, this is a sister establishment of the Strickland Arms, Sizergh. The food may be on par, but the service is way, way behind. As i say, you cant fault the food, but DONT expect medioca service !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LillyLillySeaside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 386 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Just returned after spending the night at The Derby Arms and it was a really lovely surprise. All staff went the extra mile to help accomodate us with 2 young childen and a dog. Room very nicely decorated and extremely clean. Food in the restaurant was excelent with prompt service and breakfast the next morning was equally as good. The Derby Arms has a lovely atmosphere and I would totally recomend it. Plenty of good walks straight from the front door in a beautiful area of the Lake District. Couldn't fault the staff or the accomodation. Thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We dined on a Sunday lunchtime. Beautiful surroundings, great menu and staff that seemed to go the extra mile made for a great experience.
We will be visiting again soon to sample some of the other dishes.
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

A proper pub and a good place to eat and stay, a really good combination achieved by a very warmly welcoming manager, good friendly staff, a good chef and very good selection of beer. The room was clean nicely fitted out and the bathroom a great treat . The dogs were welcome and there was a nice walk nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front or for the room with the Victorian bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The old chef has gone so food has improved dramatically (stopped eating there earlier in the year because our favourite meal of the fish and chips had become very little fish in thick batter soaked in oil and chips that looked like small roasts) and over the weekend tried the same meal which was A TOTAL DELIGHT. Jolly Boy's beer is back on (and a massive improvement on how it is being kept) and a supply of ice for the diet coke means everything is now back under control. Please give 'James' a chance to change things around with his new ideas (which is what the place needs as it is visable to the eye that a lot of custom has been lost) and his excellent customer service skills / focus is giving the place a warm and friendly feel as you walk through the door. Previous comments about too many dogs in the pub - well it is actually a 'country' pub and they are generally far better behaved then most children who think its fun to run around whilst parents relax and we get an inturrupted meal - I'm sure under the new management this sort of thing will be stopped.
Looking forward to calling in again next Saturday (we travel from Manchester to Meathop).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

good menu and good value for money. bedroom comfortable and clean and lovely ensuite. gorgeous location. attentive staff. needs a little tlc but i am sure the new manager has great plans for the future. onwards and upwards!! see you again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Repeat visit and called in this afternoon 22 sept, and had a two course meal, i will keep it short, the service and starter and main meal all excellent, quality at its best, pls note this is also dog friendly

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fellclimber123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Witherslack
3.1 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#6 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,028 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
Woodlands Hotel & Pine Lodges
#9 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beech Hill House
Beech Hill House
#1 of 2 in Witherslack
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Derby Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Derby Arms

Address: Witherslack, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: $82 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within the Lake District National Park, The Derby Arms Hotel serves traditional British cuisine and real ales in the popular on-site restaurant. The elegant rooms have spacious bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. The quaint country pub offers charming rooms with crisp white linens, antique furniture and ornamental lamps. All rooms feature a plasma-screen TV, and some rooms have scenic views and luxury roll-top baths. A generous continental breakfast is served each morning, and full evening meals and lunches are also available. The beautiful restaurant features a grand open fireplace and polished wooden tables, and is intimately lit by candlelight. The Derby Arms has a spacious games room, which features a pool table and darts board. There is also an on-site village shop, and free on-site parking is also available. Dogs are welcome throughout the hotel, and packed lunches can also be arranged. Grange-over-Sands is just 10 minutes' away, and Kendal town centre can be reached in 15 minutes' drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Derby Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Derby Arms Hotel Witherslack

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing