We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Beech Hill House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Witherslack B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from a three day stay at Beech Hill House, Witherslack. We would recommend this B&B very highly. Everything was superb, the room, breakfast, service. There is great attention to detail with homely comforts and if you are a dog owner, your dog is made to feel most welcome, even at breakfast time in the conservatory! Everything was so clean and fresh.

We will definitely be visiting Beech Hill House again. Thank you to Jenny and Stuart. xx

Ann Staveley

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellaLeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Myself, my husband and our German Shepherd stayed for one night this September.
Very welcoming with the most friendly hoteliers I have ever met. If you don't have/like dogs it would not be problem, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the 'family' greyhounds are kept very seperately to guests (although they welcome attention if you like dogs!) The perfect doggy break with all doggy needs catered for. The pub down the road (2 minute walk) is also doggy friendly and serves very tasty food.
The hotel is a litle nearer the main road than I had expected but unless you are a very light sleeper this shouldn't put you off.
What impressed me most was how organised this hotel was from choosing what you would like for breakfast the evening before so that you get it prompt to a torch in the bedside table so that you can walk safely back from the pub after dark. Sherry and chocolates on arrival a lovely touch.
Will definately be recommending to friends and famiy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1982_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Only three rooms in this B&B made it nice and quiet with a pub just down the road.
Food was served hot and tasty in the morning with a good choice and variety.
Only downside was cattle grid outside that created noise when traffic approaching A590.
They also foster greyhounds if you were allergic or hate dogs may be a downside but it wasn't for my party.
The place is spotless and well decorated

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggienoilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Recently returned from trip to the Lake District where we visited Cartmel races, we stayed at Beech Hill House for the Bank Holiday weekend. What a 'find' this small guest house has everything you could possibly wish for - bedroom spotless, well decorated with very pleasing colour scheme. Lot's of little touches from a full range of complimentary toiletries, to the option of hiring bath robes should you wish!

Don't go to this guest house if you are watching your weight because the breakfast choice is awesome, can honestly recommend the porridge, along with the 'pick & mix ' options if you can't face the traditional 'full English'

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliec036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding a few miles away. We arrived at the guesthouse too early to check in, but the owners were most helpful in letting us use the lounge and downstairs bathroom facilities to get ready in - they were most helpful, allowing us to leave our luggage in the lounge area and then moving it into our room once it was ready after we had left for the wedding.

The guesthouse was immaculate, comfortable and well equipped. We stayed in the room with the balcony which was lovely, and it was just a shame we could not spend any longer there!!

Breakfast was delightful, and The owners continued to do everything they could to make our stay pleasurable and memorable.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this place or staying there again - being able to pet the beautiful greyhounds was an added bonus for dog lovers such as ourselves!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CazzaMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

From the warm welcome and the sherry in the room, we felt very spoilt. The rooms were very comfortable and ours had the bonus of outside space. The small fridge was also a bonus. Nice to be able to sip a glass of chilled wine on the balcony before going out for our evening meal. For us the Greyhounds were a delight , but don't let that put you off, you can have as much or as little contact as you wish.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathdoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed in this guest house for three nights with our two greyhounds - this place is indeed dog friendly. Everything in the room was geared towards both us and the dogs having a relaxing break. We stayed in room 1, the one with the small balcony - ideal for us and the hounds. It was well decorated with an extremely comfortable bed (always a bonus), a small fridge in which we managed to store some bottles of wine and cheese for the dogs! The welcome folder was efficiently put together and explained everything we needed to know and more. The flat screen TV turned out to be a godsend after we ended up at the vet with Freddie and his poorly leg - only gentle walking allowed on the Saturday so we certainly did chill out by watching some DVD's from the selection that Jenny and Stuart provide (all neatly listed in the information folder). The breakfasts are excellent (you put your order in the night before from the extensive choice on the menu) and there is no need to eat again before tea time. If the dogs could speak they would say they really appreciated the giant dog beds that were waiting in the room for them as well as the water bowls and dog biscuit treats (even though they're not a great fan of dog biscuits). We were also greeted regularly over the balcony fence by Jenny's 6 greyhounds (3 of her own and 3 in foster care). Most of the time the dogs are kept in Jenny and Stuart's private living quarters so they are rarely seen. Both Jenny and Stuart are friendly and helpful. The local area is very quiet with some lovely walks through the village and some local nature reserves. There is a small community shop about 50 yards down the road and just beyond that, a dog friendly pub called The Derby Arms that serves delicious food - well worth it even though it is a little more expensive than some other pubs in the area; the bonus is you don't have to take the car. About 4 miles down the road is Grange Over Sands, a pleasant little town that overlooks Morecambe Bay. There is a good little fish and chip shop although the portions are a bit on the small side however, the fish is very tasty. A walk along the promenade is very pleasant and there are some nice little gardens to explore a s well. Lake Windemere and Coniston Water are both within easy driving distance and there are many other attractions in the area (plenty of leaflets in the wardrobe of the room). All in all we had a really relaxing and enjoyable time; we'll definitely be returning to this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelinaSmyth29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beech Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Hill House

Address: | Off the A590, Witherslack LA11 6RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Witherslack
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Witherslack
Price Range: $99 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beech Hill House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Hill House is a truly dog friendly bed and breakfast situated just off the A590 at Witherslack. 8 Minutes from the M6 J36 we are situated in the South Lakes near Grange-over-Sands on the edge of the Lake District National Park. Receive discounted rates for multiple night stays by telephoning us direct - see our web site for details. With 3 spacious, individually decorated en-suite bedrooms with king-size beds, each room has free Wi-Fi, a flat screen TV with CD/DVD player, silent mini-fridge, safe deposit box, hair drier, hospitality tray and many other 'home from home' comforts to help you enjoy your stay. One bedroom has a private balcony with table and chairs, with access through the enclosed guest's garden to the drive while another has both a king and single bed in it making it an ideal double, twin or family room (sorry no children under 10 years of age). Dogs are truly welcome and we have an enclosed guest's garden with dusk to dawn lighting, parking is available, and our village pub is dog friendly and 50 yards along the road. Beech Hill House makes an ideal stop-over while travelling and base for visiting the Lake District and South Lakes Furness Peninsulas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beech Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing