We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury in THE vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Luxury in THE vineyards”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A grand looking converted house set in à vineyard. Rooms are large and furnished in à stately way. Outdoor swimming pool where you van relax and recover after partaking of à wine tasting. Some of THE wines are outstanding.
THE restaurant is excellent. Worth having the wine tasting menu.
Not cheap, but you feel special.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
50
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If been to Deegenfeld twice, both times were memorable. The hotel offers great backages, the one we picked (a group of four the last time) was a wine tasting arrangement including almost all meals, nights, wine tasting, complimentary drinks etc. Excellent value for money, especially when the weather is nice and you can enjoy the outdoor pool. Rooms are good, service pleasant and dinner satisfatory, but don't expect the high degree of subtlety the better restaurants in Budapest offer these days. Combine your trip with visits to some of the Tokaj wine estates and you'll have a lovely time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeroenBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smaland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel is a wonderful place to stay while you explore the surroundings of Tokaj. The Castle Hotel is perfect to host a wedding for 50 guests. I know for I was lucky to be one of them. Beautiful and perfectly calm castle with, magnificent rooms, fine service, wine cellar and surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The wines of Tokaj drew us to this region and we researched on Tripadvisor to find accommodation. It is not easy to locate a place to stay in Tokaj on the net and once we got there, we realized why. It is small town after small town, with the focus on industry of wine making and farming. The hotel is very well kept and has an good restaurant focusing on tradition cuisine. There is very little English spoken at the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and it was a treat to leave the window open at night to be woken to what seemed like 50 varieties of birds in song. Use this base to tour the various producers of the wines of Tokaj but be aware there is a zero tolerance for alcohol and driving. If you have a chance, try to get a tasting of Essenzia. It is very expensive for a tasting but truly is the nectar of the gods.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your comment, and one more advise. There is no taxi service in Tokaj and the countryside, so whether you book the shuttle of hotel or anybody can not taste wines :(
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife and found it to be a perfect local for touring the local area and countryside

Atmosphere is great - beautiful decor and layout. The huge, rooms did not disappoint and the views and grounds are wonderful.

The highlight for us was the opportunity to tour their wine cellar WOW!

Having stayed in castle hotels before we found thsi one to be charming in the fact that the service was attentive without being overbearing

If you get the chance to stay here.

I highly reccomend you do.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedbacks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Village, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I used Gróf Degenfeld Winery and Castle Hotel as our base to tour this beautiful area. Found my wife's grandfather's birth certificate from 1895. Photographed many "Bodnar" headstones so lounging around the pool afterwards was great. The winery tour was intimate and tasty. Staff amazingly helpful considering our goal of family history.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A really magical place to stay with excellent modern facilities in a restored castle. Good food, attentive hosts and a lovely parkland setting. Pool looked good though did not have time to try it. Only wish we had had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
22.0 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity
Hotel Vecsecity
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Hotel Aventinus
Hotel Aventinus
#3 of 8 in Nyiregyhaza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Botrytis
Hotel Botrytis
#2 of 3 in Mad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paulay Winehouse
Paulay Winehouse
#1 of 18 in Tokaj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel

Property: Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Address: Terezia kert 9, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel was reconstructed from a historical mansion in the middle of the one hundred hectare vineyard. The rooms are equipped with Empire furniture and fascinate with their fabric and color harmony. The salon and the library are equipped with antique furniture, old paintings and Venetian chandeliers reflecting the atmosphere of the 19th century. The elegant restaurant for 60 persons, the pleasant summer terrace with an overlook to the park, as well as the wine bar in the cellar with unique atmosphere for 40 persons are expecting those who prefer excellent food and high standard wines. The separate room gives place to business and family events, as well as receptions at a high standard. Besides the wonderful environment the qualified staff ensures high standard, but still family like hospitality. Our additional services include: heated outdoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness room, tennis courts , own parking place, 24-hour reception and concierge service, program organisation, restaurant, wine bar, summer terrace, salon, library, conference hall, laundry service, central safe and bicycle rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grof Degenfeld Castle Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing