We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay while in the surroundings of Tokaj”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel is a wonderful place to stay while you explore the surroundings of Tokaj. The Castle Hotel is perfect to host a wedding for 50 guests. I know for I was lucky to be one of them. Beautiful and perfectly calm castle with, magnificent rooms, fine service, wine cellar and surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

The wines of Tokaj drew us to this region and we researched on Tripadvisor to find accommodation. It is not easy to locate a place to stay in Tokaj on the net and once we got there, we realized why. It is small town after small town, with the focus on industry of wine making and farming. The hotel is very well kept and has an good restaurant focusing on tradition cuisine. There is very little English spoken at the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and it was a treat to leave the window open at night to be woken to what seemed like 50 varieties of birds in song. Use this base to tour the various producers of the wines of Tokaj but be aware there is a zero tolerance for alcohol and driving. If you have a chance, try to get a tasting of Essenzia. It is very expensive for a tasting but truly is the nectar of the gods.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your comment, and one more advise. There is no taxi service in Tokaj and the countryside, so whether you book the shuttle of hotel or anybody can not taste wines :(

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Stayed one night with my wife and found it to be a perfect local for touring the local area and countryside

Atmosphere is great - beautiful decor and layout. The huge, rooms did not disappoint and the views and grounds are wonderful.

The highlight for us was the opportunity to tour their wine cellar WOW!

Having stayed in castle hotels before we found thsi one to be charming in the fact that the service was attentive without being overbearing

If you get the chance to stay here.

I highly reccomend you do.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SEBESZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedbacks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I used Gróf Degenfeld Winery and Castle Hotel as our base to tour this beautiful area. Found my wife's grandfather's birth certificate from 1895. Photographed many "Bodnar" headstones so lounging around the pool afterwards was great. The winery tour was intimate and tasty. Staff amazingly helpful considering our goal of family history.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CandMSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A really magical place to stay with excellent modern facilities in a restored castle. Good food, attentive hosts and a lovely parkland setting. Pool looked good though did not have time to try it. Only wish we had had more time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is one of two 4* hotels in Tokaji (there are no 5* hotels) and I have stayed in both (this and the Andrassy). There's a lot to like about Grof Degenfeld including high quality rooms with plenty of space, nice peaceful surroundings in a large garden and other touches like free broadband (cabled), comfortable beds and a good breakfast. Dinner with their own wine estate's wines is pretty good too. The minor niggles with my room (201) where a really poor shower with a trickle of lukewarm water and no way of adjusting heat, and a slghtly cold room overall (it was -3c overnight in October). But my biggest complaint was that on turning up on night one I found around 60 to 80 dead flies and two or three very large wasps on the window ledge of my room, with another dozen on the floor below the window and a few still flying in the room or dying on the floor. The rest of the room was spotless and it was very late, so tired from a long journey I went to bed and reported this in the morning on my way out. On returning late again that night, the room had been cleared (the wasps had gone), but a fresh batch of around 100 flies was on the ledge again. I have no idea how they got there or why they were dead, and I accept that any hotel can have an occasional problem of this nature. But clearly the hotel knew this room had this problem, so to put guests in it and merely sweep the flies away each day was just not acceptable. The photo shows the ledge on the second morning when I left the hotel. Others in my party in other rooms had no such problem, so it is even more baffling why they would put me in this room when the hotel was far from full - or why the room was not closed down until the problem was tackled.

Room Tip: Not room 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsmantravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Overall - two star service with four plus star facility. It was a beautiful building and has great potential but service is non-existent. Checked in and receptionist seemed upset to be pulled away from the Internet. Basic questions about local sites could not be answered and a question about enjoying a glass of wine (it was around 8pm) led to a dismissive hand wave in the direction of the restaurant.

Don't bring too much luggage as this so-called five star does not offer any assistance with it.

Room was nice but housekeeping lacking as cobwebs and dirt in corner was disappointing. We got to hotel restaurant just as they were closing and waiter suggested we could enjoy wine in our minibar.

Previous to this we had stayed at Bock Pince & Panzio in Villány which despite more humble physical facilities far outshone this in terms of service. There we arrived later in the evening and yet the person receiving us offered us cold food from kitchen and wine as long or late as we wanted. I should think a so-called five star in the Tokaj region would offer at least as much. Instead the receptionist had better things to do on the Internet than ensure a great hospitality experience.

Our disappointment is that we paid three times what a three star would have cost in the area and yet received service below such standard. I would rather spend our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandnoemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarcal
1.2 mi away
Andrassy Residence Wine & Spa
4.3 mi away
Madi Kuria Hotel
Madi Kuria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mad
22 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
Hotel Vecsecity Superior
#1 of 1 in Hernadvecse
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
Hotel Bodrog Wellness
#1 of 1 in Sarospatak
28 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Tokaj & Restaurant
21.8 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#3 of 9 in Nyiregyhaza
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel

Address: Terezia kert 9, Tarcal 3915, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Borsod-Abauj-Zemplen County > Tarcal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tarcal
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four star hotel was reconstructed from a historical mansion in the middle of the one hundred hectare vineyard. The rooms are equipped with Empire furniture and fascinate with their fabric and color harmony. The salon and the library are equipped with antique furniture, old paintings and Venetian chandeliers reflecting the atmosphere of the 19th century. The elegant restaurant for 60 persons, the pleasant summer terrace with an overlook to the park, as well as the wine bar in the cellar with unique atmosphere for 40 persons are expecting those who prefer excellent food and high standard wines. The separate room gives place to business and family events, as well as receptions at a high standard. Besides the wonderful environment the qualified staff ensures high standard, but still family like hospitality. Our additional services include: heated outdoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness room, tennis courts , own parking place, 24-hour reception and concierge service, program organisation, restaurant, wine bar, summer terrace, salon, library, conference hall, laundry service, central safe and bicycle rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grof Degenfeld Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grof Degenfeld Castle Tarcal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing