We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowed in”
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawrey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Snowed in”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a kgb deal and the only thing that was bad about it was the terrible weather. The whole of Cumbria was virtually a no go area that weekend. The hotel itself was first class with very welcoming staff, the rooms were superb and the breakfast was brilliant.
The hotel bar was very nice as was the restaurant which served some of the best food i have ever eaten.The hotel itself is about a mile from the village of Hawkshead which has a store and a couple of pubs but was too cold to walk that weekend. There is also a pub a few hundred yards from the hotel too.The hotel is also situated right next to Beatrix Potters house. Well recommended hotel.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a lake view and it was superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cujimeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear cujimeScotland,
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled you had such a great time at Sawrey House and that you didn't let the now put you off you trip. we will pass all your praise onto our team and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel very soon.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    132
    31
    15
    1
See reviews for
45
496
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Hampshire,UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights, single room overlooking the small farmyard. Was woken one morning by barking dogs, only to realise that they were Collies and that they were herding the sheep into the yard.
Just one of so many simple pleasure that this wonderful hotel has to offer. Sitting in the garden reading and passing the time of day with walkers as they went past in the lane at the front overlooking Esthwaite Water. The smell of wild garlic and the song of a blackbird all added to the atmosphere. It is quite simple idyllic.
Add to this the comfort of the room, plenty big enough for a single visitor, with just a shower, which was fine. And then the glorious food, Probably some of the best I have had in any of the hotels around the UK I have stayed at. A most delicious champagne sorbet is an absolute must if on the menu.
I was spending time on a photographic assignment and would often leave before breakfast, to catch the right light. I would return for breakfast which was always good and wholesome and set one up for the day. Often getting back for afternoon tea and cake to sustain me whilst I edited photographs in the lounge.
All one can really say is that this is a little gem of a hotel, non corporate, very friendly, great food and as quiet as one would wish for.

Room Tip: For view go for the front overlooking Esthwaite Water, fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Dennis W,
Thank you for your visit to Sawrey House and for posting your wonderful review. You are right, our hotel is located in a truly idyllic setting and all the simple pleasures add to the wonderful relaxed atmosphere we enjoy. We are thrilled you had such an amazing time with us and enjoyed everything we have to offer including our delicious food and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend before Easter and would go back in a flash. We were there on a Groupon deal so obviously it was good value; but we would pay full price as the service was faultless throughout. Our room was a smaller attic room so the view was limited as we had a velux window, but it was clean and did us fine for a 2 night stay. The en suite was clean and the shower was nice and hot; what more do you need? The hotel has 2 resident dogs, a black lab and golden retriever, who were very well behaved and kept their distance unless you made a fuss of them; they were so well behaved that they didn't even beg when I was eating a scone near them (although I could tell they wanted some from their side glances). We decided to eat there as they offered a special deal of two 3 course meals and a bottle of wine for £50 and we were glad we did - it was lovely. We were served canapés in the lounge, a waiter then collected us and our drinks and took us to the dining room for the 3 course meal; we finished with coffee and chocolates back in the lounge. It was this level of service that made the stay extra nice. The breakfast was nice as you got cereals, yoghurts etc on a buffet service and ordered your hot breakfast from the waitress; the menu was varied, including a standard cooked breakfast, pancakes, bagels and smoked fish. All in all we had a lovely stay and would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneAndRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
LeanneAndRachel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are all thrilled you had such a wonderful time and found Sawrey House to be so good. We are delighted you dined with us too and got to taste Callum's delicious food as well as enjoying our filling breakfasts. We do pride ourselves on giving excellent service in a non-stuffy way and pleased you enjoyed it. Don't forget to add us to Facebook or sign up to our enewsletter to get a great offer for your next visit to Sawrey House.
Best Wishes
David. Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Tyne & Wear
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in Mid March, this is the second time we have stayed at the Sawrey House (a KGB deal). The hotel is lovely and in a beautiful spot with a stunning view from the terrace and dining room across the gardens to Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest in the distance. You can barely see the road, and it looks as though the whole panorama belongs to Sawrey House. The waiting staff have changed since we were last there in December - two lovely young European waiters who were so attentive, friendly and professional. Breakfast was delicious with so much choice, as mentioned by previous reviewers. Whilst waiting for dinner in the beautiful living room next to the log fire, we were served canapes (which were not to our taste, but a lovely touch). The room we stayed in was nicely decorated and spacious, although there was no bath, only a shower, which was not a problem to us as we were only staying two nights. I agree with the reviewers about the temperature in the dining room - I have always found it too cold, which is a shame as it is the only downside of the place. The rest of the hotel, however, we found warm and comfortable. We did some lovely walks from the door (never moved the car all weekend) and we woke on Sunday to a blanket of snow as far as the eye could see - magical! The hotel is a couple of hundred yards away from the Tower Bank pub, which is great for the real ale, food and a craic with the locals next to the roaring fire. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear banner78,
Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us at Sawrey House. It is always a pleasure to welcome back previous guests and thrilled you decided to return back to us so soon. I'm delighted to read you had such a lovely weekend with us again and trust you managed to make the most of your short break in the Lakes. We will pass all your compliments onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sawrey House is a lovingly restored country hotel in an idyllic setting, set back from the road and overlooking rolling hillside and Esthwaite Water. The first thing to point out is that you need to be alert when you reach Near Sawrey, as satnav will send you to the farm round the corner – if you remember the hotel is situated is right next to Beatrix Potters “Hilltop” (not to be confused with Beatrix Potter Gallery in Hawkshead, or The World of Beatrix Potter in Bowness) and a matter of yards down from the Tower Bank pub you can’t go wrong, so look out for both landmarks. The parking facilities to the front of the building are more than adequate for the capacity of the hotel.

The building was originally built as a family home, and that is the feeling maintained throughout the stay. An unusual greeting awaits travellers in the form of a welcome by a couple of friendly, but incredibly quiet and gentle dogs – I didn’t hear either bark once! The public rooms are well proportioned and tastefully decorated so are wonderful places to relax in. Being served drinks by the open fire in the living room was a real treat in particular, and contributed to the homely feel of the place. The homely atmosphere is too nice to compromise: after tramping through the muddy fields one day, I removed my walking boots as I entered the house.

My room was a single and although not large (roughly 12’x7’) it was adequate, and dressed simply; the en-suite was nicely fitted with a good sized shower cubicle and a modern steam-free mirror. The bed was comfortable, and it was made a nice change to wake to the sound of sheep baahing on the Cumbrian hillside rather than the racket of London traffic. There was a small TV set in the room, along with tea and coffee making facilities and a delicious homemade biscuit, and wifi was available throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was served in the dining room (again just the right size for the number of guests) with panoramic views of the terrace, gardens and fabulous scenery beyond. A cold buffet was available – including fresh and dried fruit, yoghurt cereal, pastries and a breakfast cranachan concoction which was the perfect combination of sweet yoghurt, oats and sharp berries – followed by a cooked breakfast, to order. I thereby found myself confronted with a giant bowl of porridge made just the way I like it, but enough for three people!

Now for the niggles, which were minor and confined to the room; there weren’t many plug sockets (not ideal for the business traveller that needs to charge lots of gadgets); the hairdryer didn’t reach the bathroom mirror (an multi-socket extension lead would have solved both points) the bathroom sink was small and sited low under an obstrusive shelf, which made it really hard to remove my make-up at the end of the day; the shower wasn’t as powerful as it could be; the water ran hot and cold at times; the bathroom walls were paper-thin – it sounded like the occupants of the adjoining room were rearranging the furniture whilst I was showering! But bear in mind that this is a 3 rather than 5 star establishment, which over-delivers on this rating in other areas.

Overall I was happy with my stay at the Sawrey House Hotel and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I-veritas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear l-veritas,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sawrey House. We are always thrilled when our guests enjoy their stay so much and we are delighted you would rate us so highly. All of our team work incredible hard to over-deliver in all aspects of the hotel and we are thrilled you appreciate all their hard work. We hope you consider Sawrey House again for your next visit to the Lake District.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed Friday and Saturday night in March when it was cold and at times snowy outside, but inside the Sawrey House Hotel was warm and welcoming.

Whilst our bedroom was not huge, it was warm, well decorated and the bed was very comfortable, with a view of the lake from the velux window. Lovely clean bathroom with excellent shower.

The restaurant, lounge and bar areas were very nicely decorated and comfortable - with the lounge being particularly cosy with an open fire.

The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. The food is fantastic. Lovely breakfast with lots of choice and we took advantage of the great offer for guests for a three course evening meal with wine and ate in the hotel on both nights. The quality of the food was great - thoroughly enjoyed the meals on both nights and the atmosphere in the restaurant was lovely. Tables have been spaced out so that everyone is not on top of each other and some unobtrusive background music ensures that it doesn't seem too quiet, therefore people feel at ease in their conversations!.

Some lovely walks straight from the door of the hotel and a great pub just two minutes around the corner.

Lovely location and great service - this is a gem of a small hotel and I would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear mlne,
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay with us so much and I'm thrilled you would want to return. I have passed your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Sawrey House Hotel where the food was great, the staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried and the views were stunning! The only downside for us was that the dining room was cold, our bedroom no.3 was very cold indeed and the en-suite definitely needs an independent heater. Unfortunately, we found it too cold to shower. We mentioned it to the member of staff on duty when we checked out so, hopefully, the problem will be addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Sue B,
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at Sawrey House. I'm delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel and food so good. Even with the extreme cold weather we have experienced lately, it is a shame you felt our rooms were cold. Our dinning room is heated separately to the rest of the hotel and the heating could have been easily adjusted to a more suitable temperature for you if we had know. Room three is due to have a new eco friendly electric radiator fitted as part of a trial, this will allow each bedroom to have better individual temperature controls more suited to our guests needs. We are currently waiting for a suitable gap in our trade to be able to fit this radiator, along with a heated towel rail into the bathroom and we hope to complete these upgrades very soon.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
1.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
683 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,451 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Property: Sawrey House Hotel
Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing