We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sawrey House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveler rating
511
139
33
15
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
511
139
33
15
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsesthwaite waterhill topbeatrix potterlake districtafternoon teaevening meallake view roomtower bank armsnational trustsmall hotelcompliments to the chefpeaceful locationfour poster bedhotel is lovelyfantastic viewssuperb foodscones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
468 - 473 of 699 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Lovely small hotel in a tiny village in a quiet part of Lakeland. The hotel is a beautifully renovated Manor House and our room was excellent, the only gripe was the rather small shower room which was a bit chilly. We enjoyed a superb dinner with excellent service and there were lots of nice touches inc canapés and home made bread, breakfast was also excellent with an extensive menu. The staff and service were good throughout our stay and we would definitely return.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Staffsmartin,
Thank you for taking the time to review Sawrey House. We are all delighted to read that you had such a great stay with us during your break to the Lake District. We have passed your praise on to all our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a house with a fascinating history, (eg used for WW1patient convalescence), and now has an ambiance that one would associate with "country house". This includes a very comfortable lounge, with a real fire, and two splendid labradors that appear occasionally, both very friendly. The staff are young, but highly competent. We did not eat in the restaurant, but judging from the breakfast, and comments from other guests, it was our loss.
The walks around Sawrey are excellent, and a nature trail is being created on the banks of Esthwaite. A very enjoyable weekend, many thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear maldachs,
Thank you for your splendid review of Sawrey House. We are thrilled you found our hotel 'Terrific' and enjoyed the ambiance and comfort we provide. It is a shame you didn't eat in the restaurant on one evening of your stay, as you would have found the same high standards of food and service as you do at breakfast. Callum and his team work very hard to produce excellent food and our front-of-house team deliver excellent service everytime, although this is a good excuse to return again to try our restuarant!! Thank you again for your review and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We like to visit the lakes a few times a year purely for the walking, so consequently would book into B&B’s purely for somewhere to lay our head and enjoy a hearty breakfast. This place is a difference class altogether. Yes, thanks to its wonderful location, you can still enjoy the fantastic walks but the sheer luxury of the place and professionalism of the service helps turn it more into a wonderful holiday experience than simply a base for walking.
Their prices are a fair reflection of the standard of rooms and food, however we took advantage of the ‘Winter Warmer’ deal which in our case equated to £60 pppn for BB and dinner. These offers are for all rooms so it’s first come, first served for the best rooms. (Top Tip – follow on Twitter & Facebook to get advance notice of special deals). The 3 course Table ‘d Hote menu itself is worth £30 so you can see what a fantastic deal it is.
From the moment you walk in the door to the moment you check out, the service is exemplary. Not a stone is left unturned to cater for your every whim. The waiters are so polite and attentive and a credit to themselves and whoever trained them. From the pre-meal canapés to the post meal petit fours you are just so well looked after and the timing between every stage of the meal are just spot on.
The food, where do I start? We have now had 14 three course meals between us and have yet to have had anything that was less than excellent. The choice each night is amazing yet we had 3 different menus for the 3 nights we were there. Even the breakfast menu had over a dozen different options.
Thanks to advance warning from ‘Twitter’ we managed to get the Grizedale room, 4 poster bed and Lake views. Our only complaint about this room is that it was so nice it was difficult to tear ourselves away to visit the fells. Even if you aren’t lucky enough to bag this room, we know from our previous visit that other rooms are just as immaculately clean and well maintained.
There was other plus to our visit this time and that is the discovery of the Mountain Goat bus service which takes you to Hawkshead or the Bowness ferry from a bus-stop just 100 yards from the hotel entrance.
As you can tell, we love it here. We can combine our walking holiday with a luxury holiday for an affordable price in a wondrous location. What more could you ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake View room. The views arew stunning.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Mozisgod,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your latest stay at Sawrey House. We are always delighted to welcome back guests and very pleased to read the amazing review of your latest visit. We have passed all your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back for another visit in the near furure.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Sawrey House Hotel after booking our wedding there later in the year. I have to say , everything we thought the place would offer us for a venue has surpassed our expectation!
The value for money is exceptional. The accommodation , facilities and food were all truly superb and hats off to Callum, the resident chef, for the meals were second to none ,beautifully presented and even better to eat!
At the end of each evening we were invited to take coffee in the bar or lounge where we enjoyed sitting in front of a roaring log fire. I was surprised, although secretly very pleased, so many of the other guests retired so early given the warm , cosy atmosphere in the lounge. It was lovely to have the room to ourselves to relax for the remainder of the evening. At this point I would also like to add that unlike in other houses where the managers are tapping their feet waiting for all their guests to retire for the night , here Toni the joint manager was more than happy for us to make ourselves at home and leave us to enjoy our evening.
A special nod to Juan must also be mentioned . What a lovely, cheerful and helpful waiter at breakfast ( which again was delicious and offered an ample selection of all sorts of goodies to set you up for the day ) .
As for the hotel itself ,the building has been lovingly restored and decorated to the highest specification and the views are breathtaking with some of the quietest and most beautiful lake district walking on the doorstep.
All in all with such wonderful staff and a superb hotel the Sawrey House Hotel deserves to thrive. We are now looking forward to our wedding even more!

Room Tip: They are all beautiful but go for a lake view room , truly stunning view from the front of the house ove Esthwaite water.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordshireRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear StaffordshireRufus,
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. Its always a pleasure to read our guest's comments and I delighted you and your partner had such an amazing time with us. We have passed all your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House in the very near future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for a wonderful two night stay. Even though it was extremely difficult to get up the hill from the ferry in all the snow, it was well worth it. The lovely warm welcome, not just from the staff, but also from the lovely warm open fire made up for the fact we were tired very wet and cold from having to push the car up the hill!

The room was lovely and had everything in there you needed. The food was amazing, we ate there both nights.

The view from the rooms across to the lake were very picturesque.

The hotel added to a lovely three day trip to the Lakes and would definitely recommend this to anyone who wants a small and friendly hotel to stay in whilst visiting the Lakes. We will definitely be visiting again.

Many thanks to all the staff.

Brian and Helen Driscoll

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Helen D,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your wonderful review. We are all delighted you managed to get to us in the snow and thrilled you enjoyed your wintery break so much. Sawrey House is indeed in a wonderful location and ideal for getting away from it all and enjoying the peace and quiet the Lake District has to offer. We hope you consider us for your next break in the lakes.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews