We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent valentines weekend.”
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawrey House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent valentines weekend.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for a Valentines break. The hotel is lovely, very clean and welcoming. The staff are very attentive and polite. It was lovely to sit in the lounge with a drink with a roaring log fire and a view over the lake.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and great value for money.

We booked this through a very reasonably priced KGB deal and the value for money is exceptional.

Ideally located for walking and exploring the nearby countryside. I would recomend that you have a car though as nothing is really within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Lorraine S,
Thank you for taking the time to your recent Valentine's weekend break with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us so much and found everything to your liking. We are pleased you found us great value but don't forget to sign up to our e-newsletter or follow us on Twitter or Facebook to get all the best deals first!
Hope hope you consider us again for your next visit to the Lakes.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    127
    28
    14
    1
See reviews for
45
477
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The setting and the scenary are outstanding and the staff are excellent. The restaurant service is of a very high standard: welcoming, attentive and very thoughtful. It is clear that every aspect of the service had been thought about, from the the ordering in the lovely bar, the leading to the table and the intricacies of the finishing touches that lead you to think that this is a top class establishment. The food is exquisite - any other word would be an understatement. You will not be left disappointed by this hotel.

Room Tip: Any lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryandOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

After a stressful drive through snow drifts it was a relief to arrive safely at The Sawrey House Hotel. The hotel was warm and welcoming with a relaxing atmosphere, candle-lit and open fires.
Due to the snow we stayed in for dinner and as it was so good we ended up dining both nights. Well done to the Chef who turned out consistently high quality plates of creative and delicious food. We also found breakfast to be the best we have had on our travels. The waiters were polite, helpful and provided service of an extremely high standard. All areas of the hotel were well maintained.The room was clean and bedding and towels spotless. Despite its position on the ground floor and by the dining room, our little room was quiet and we slept very well.
As the snow thawed the true beauty of The Sawrey House Hotel and gardens was revealed - the views of the Lake, hills and forests were stunning. The hotel was a great base for walks and a short drive to some of the most beautiful locations in the Lakes.
Areas for improvement? Not many as Sawrey House Hotel is pretty perfect. However, if I had to make any criticisms it would be our bathroom was cold as there appeared to be no heating and there was only a shower and no bath (essential after a day on the fells.) Also, our room could have been bigger (but perhaps that is a little churlish as we had a KGB deal and I think we were lucky to get a room at all, as it was Valentine's week and the hotel was fully booked!)
Next time we go (and there will be a next time) we will make sure to take advantage of one of the more spacious rooms and jacuzzi bath!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Blackpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Perfect. Cannot fault it. We went on a KGB deal but would definetly return paying their normal rates as even they are reasonable. The food is wonderful. If you are ever in the area for the day you should visit them to sample their tea room.The staff are excellent, courteous and professional. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurseryman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a perfect, romantic break at Sawrey house. The KGB deal was fantastic in every way. We arrived having come off the bowness ferry on a rainy night to a warm welcome.
The room was cosy with lovely homemade biscuits on arrival - I wish I had remembered to ask for the recipe! The bathroom had a fantastic jacuzzi bath which I took the first opportunity to use after a busy day walking..
The breakfast had the best selection we had ever seen - gorgeous granola, yogurts, fresh fruit salad with lovely toppings such as nuts, dried bananas etc. we both went for the hot breakfast the first morning then I had the local smoked salmon and scrambled the next.
The evening meal was also fantastic! Alin couldn't do enough for us - offering us our canapés in the lounge and 5 different selections of homemade bread couldn't get any better.
I couldn't recommend this lovely, quaint hotel enough! We only hope we can return very soon. 

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Where do we start! We were only going to stay for 1 night but woke up in the morning and decided it had to be 2... For starters the house is stunning with beautiful views. The staff and service is 2nd to none with our Romanian waiter being attentive and warm. The rooms were impeccably clean and spacious. The breakfast was delicious with a huge range to choose from. We had the 3 course meal in the evening and it was all delicious, quick in coming and our waiter made fantastic wine and port recommendations. It was the type of food and service we would expect staying at a 5* hotel! And the dogs are extremely well behaved and very cute. We will be coming back time and time again. This is our first stop in a week long holiday and I am extremely worried nothing will live up to our first stay...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laf_Dupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Laf_Dupe,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a delight to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay so much and we were thrilled when you decided to stay another night with us. We have passed all your wonderful praise onto our team and we hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday and we will look forward to you returning to Sawrey House in the not to distant future.
Best Wishes,
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming to the Lake District for years, but this is the first time we have stayed at Sawrey. The Hotel itself is in a fantastic location for walking and the surrounding countryside is magnificent. Both our rooms were lovely with all the facilities you would need and nicely decorated with crisp clean linen sheets. our room looked out over the gardens and the lake, it was very windy when we were there and we even had some snow, but the bed was lovely and cosy. The bathroom was a little cold, due to the sash windows, but a portable heater had been provided so this was never a problem.
Everyone we met at the hotel was very friendly and pleasant, in particular Alin the waiter, who always had a cheery smile.
We did not eat in the hotel, but the menu was interesting and offered good value for guests, breakfast was first class, with a help yourself buffet and hot food to order.
Will we be back, Yes!

Room Tip: Room 3 is nice and quite large, room 7 is smaller but with lovely view over the garden and the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akeithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear akeithj,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent break at Sawrey House. We are delighted you found our hotel to your liking and enjoyed everything we have to offer. We are very lucky to be set in such a wonderful location and trust you managed to make the most of it despite the wind and snow. We are in the process of upgrading all our windows and adding secondary glazing to them too, so all our rooms will be even cosier in the near future. We have passed your praise on to our team and don't forget to sign up to our email newsletter or follow us on facebook to get the best deals for your next visit!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
957 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
964 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,412 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Property: Sawrey House Hotel
Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing