We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stop in the Lake District”
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sawrey House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect overnight stop in the Lake District”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The hotel was great in every way! The room I had was a single overlooking the car park, but it was just me on my own for one night so it was fine for my needs. The en suite bathroom was nicely done... again no complaints from me about the size becaue it was a single room. The best 2 things for me were the staff/service and the food. Both were brilliant! I recommend this hotel (and restaurant) to anyone looking for a peaceful short stay while in the Lake District area! I will stay here again without a second thought!

Room Tip: If you have a room at the front (car park view) remember to use the black-out blind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear A J,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Sawrey House. I am thrilled that you found our hotel to your liking and enjoyed the service and food so much. The hotel is indeed in a very peaceful location and is ideally situated for anyone looking to avoid the hussle and bussle of Windermere and Bowness and I'm glad to read you would recommend us so highly.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    125
    27
    14
    1
See reviews for
45
471
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lovely hotel in a beautiful location, good food, comfortable rooms and very attentive staff,although I must agree with a previous contributer, the young man at breakfast was not as efficient as the young lady who served us at dinner.
Lovely walks from the Hotel and the proximity to interesting tourist attractions including Hill Top, next door, and Wray Castle a few miles away makes a stay in this area a must.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have a lovely view of the lake and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Lizzie85,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you found Sawrey House so good and managed to make the most of your time with us. We have addressed the concerns with our male waiter and all our staff are fully focused on delivering efficient and friendly service to all our guests, everytime. We hope you consider us Sawrey Hoouse Hotel again for your next trip to the Lakes!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The title says it all. We only stayed one night at the Sawrey House, but it was wonderful. We stayed in the luxury 4 poster room with the jacuzzi bath overlooking the lake and garden. It was all wonderful, the staff, the setting, the food, and most of all the amazing scones they serve at afternoon tea.
Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayheaven91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Holidayheaven91,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sawrey House Hotel. It's always a pleasure to read when our guests have had such a fantastic experience with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your short break too. We hope you can stay longer with us next time and dont forget you can sign up to our email newsletter to get all the latest offer straight to your inbox!
We hope to see you again very soon!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel is just stunning, the service excellent and food amazing!! The room was clean and the bed was comfy, even home-made biscuits in there on arrival - a lovely touch. We stayed for five nights and the staff were lovely, they all made us feel welcome and cared for throughout the stay. The food was faultless and the views you get whilst dining or sitting on the patio area are stunning. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to return again soon, thanks Sawrey House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Sarah H,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Sawrey House Hotel. We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic time with us and found our food, service and hotel so good. We all work very hard to ensure everyone's break with us is just how they want it and we are delighted you had such a great time with us. I have passed your praise onto the rest of the team and we all look forward to welcoming you again very soon!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we arrived we were placed in a downstairs room right next to the loudly banging front door, with a window near the car park. After this unfortunate false start (which cost us an afternoon of dearly needed jet-lagged sleep), we paid extra to be moved upstairs to the rooms they show in the brochure. At this point, the hotel became worthy of the reviews. The views over the lake are stunning and the (Peter?) rabbits in the garden and fields are so cute. Our only other gripe was the inconsistent breakfast staff on day one (poor English and lack of attention from the young man), contrasted with perfect attentive service and care from the yound lady on day two. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here, but at the price we paid, we would have expected top drawer...and I'm afraid it was not quite there.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs at the back of the hotel looking over the garden. Avoid the downstairs room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I can't fault this place. It's cozy and clean. The lounge has a lovely log fire.

Breakfast was lovely although we ate out at a nearby pub at night as food was a little expensive.

Be careful if you go for a wander in the garden and it's been raining. I didn't know I could do a back flip. The stone steps are lethal!. Maybe a warning sign should be put there?

If you are staying here to get 1st in the queue at Hill Top then this is ideal. Hill Top carpark is about 10 steps away. You can't get any closer! Be warned that once the carpark is full visitors use the hotel carpark. You need to be there within the 1st hour of opening as it gets packed and it's quite small.
You never really get to absorb Hill Top as every room is full of people and every photo you take will have half a dozen people in it.

Great location, great place, I would stay again..now that is a first for me!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveyctvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We enjoyed three wonderful days at Sawrey House Hotel celebrating a family birthday. Seven of us had four superbly comfortable bedrooms in this lovely hotel. The location is stunning, the staff are responsive and friendly and everywhere there is an air of quiet elegance. The owners, Toni and David, are to be congratulated on the service, comfort, decor and unobtrusive professionalism of this hotel. The meals in the restaurant were excellent with a varied and interesting menu. Breakfast could not be bettered. Visit it, you won't be dissapointed. Paul W, Abingdon

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Ees Wyke Country House
Ees Wyke Country House
#5 of 5 in Near Sawrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Property: Sawrey House Hotel
Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing