We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sawrey House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Short break”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was our first visit to this Hotel and we would definately stay again. The room was excellent and had everything you required. The bathroom was compact but had the most amazing shower. The views were stunning even though we could not get a lake view room, we did not miss out on that view though as the dining room has great picture windows to allow you to see the magnificant gardens and over to the lake. The staff were very friendly and the food was great, we did have an evening meal in the hotel as well as breakfast. Do use the ferry over the lake to get to the hotel very pleasant way to arrive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Bev B,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your lovely review. It is always a delight to read when our guests have had such a wonderful time with us during their visit to the Lakes and we are thrilled you found the hotel to your liking. We are very fortunate to be situated in a very beautiful part of the Lake District and we are delighted you got to enjoy this during your stay. We have passed all your praise onto our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    132
    31
    15
    1
See reviews for
45
496
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have just had the most amazing Wedding Weekend at the Hotel. Words cannot describe how fantastic Toni, David and the whole team at the Sawrey House Hotel are. Nothing was too much trouble and everybody made sure that everything was exactly what we wished for, often without it having to be mentioned. All of the bedrooms are lovely, so comfortable, so clean and so cosy and the views from the Hotel are out of this world. You ensured that all of our guests were looked after and had an excellent time without exception. Thank you to you all for all your hard work, care and attention to everything you helped us with over the last twelve months of planning and particularly over the weekend. We know that a lot of the things you did for us, which you made look so effortless, can only be done with a lot of thought and planning. From the day we arrived to the day we left we were made to feel extremely special. Thank you to each and every one of the team for making our wedding so much more than we ever expected it could be and for all the thought, care and effort you all put into making everything perfect. . We will be eternally grateful for the beautiful memories we have of the hotel, the surroundings and the wonderful time you made sure we all had. Thank you to you all so so much. Mr and Mrs H x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Jane T,

First let me thank you for choosing Sawrey House to host your wedding. It was a pleasure and delight to look after you and your wedding party on such a special occassion. We are all thrilled your wedding was so perfect for you and Tom and we all wish you the very best for the future and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We booked a short break at short notice, (thankfully there had been a cancellation), over Easter. Beautiful hotel. We've stayed in the lakes many times, but the views here are stunning. Hotel has a lovely feel and is enhanced by the many period features retained giving a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Mine host and hostess to be congratulated on running such a wonderful place so well!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllannaLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear AllannaLancs,
Thank you for taking the time to review your short break at Sawrey House Hotel. It is always a delight to read such wonderful praise and we are all delighted you had a fantastic time with us over the Easter period. We hope you consider staying with us again for your next visit to the Lakes.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of my son and his girlfriend, and we thought it was lovely. Our room with the 4 poster bed had amazing views, a comfortable bed and great shower! I really liked the lounge which had a real fire, comfy sofas and a nice ambience. In fact the whole hotel is beautifully restored and decorated. The food was incredible, delicious and just wonderful. We were impressed that the menu changed each night - we were there for 2 over a weekend - although my husband was gutted that he couldn't try the dessert I had raved about!! The chocolates served with coffee are heaven! We had a great time and definitely intend to go back. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCelia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Dear LeedsCelia49,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your fantastic review. As always, it a pleasure to read such wonderful comments about our hotel. We all work very hard to ensure each and every guest has the same fantastic experience that you and your husband enjoyed and delighted your son and girlfriend recommended us to you. Don't forget you can follow us on Facebook and Twitter to keep up-to-date with all our great offers and deals for when you are ready to book another stay with us.
Best Wishes and we all look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
David, Toni and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have stayed in this area of the Lake District many times before, but never stayed here until this month. I was traveling alone and booked a single room on the second floor- it was perfect. The hotel itself is beautiful and so welcoming. The patio outside overlooks the most beautiful scenery, the sitting areas inside are immaculate and so comfortable, and everyone working here was incredibly helpful and friendly.

The included breakfast was great- the breakfast room has big windows that overlook the countryside, it really was a great way to start the day. My room itself was perfect for one person (I believe it was room #4)- the bed was so comfortable and the bathroom was completely updated. It was such a cozy room.

Hill Top is merely steps away, as is the Tower Bank Arms (great for lunch or dinner). This hotel really is a perfect place to base yourself if you are exploring this part of the Lake District.

Overall, I thought this hotel was wonderful. I am very much looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolina2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Carolina2008,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay at Sawrey House. We are thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful time with us during your visit to the Lakes and enjoyed our hotel and the location so much. There is lots to do in this beautiful part of Cumbria and we are delighted you managed to make the most of your stay.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and te Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

My Partner booked this Hotel for my 50th birthday and also booked the Deluxe 4 Poster Room with the double ended bath underneath the window, it was perfect heaven. The room was delightful with wonderful views over the forest and lake, the gardens were a delight to look at and to sit in and enjoy afternoon cream teas served from their Tea Room. The Chef at the hotel is second to none, he changed the menu every day and the only item that was on there twice was the sea bass, which I was delighted about. All home cooked food, cooked to absolute perfection. David and Toni and all of the team made our stay very enjoyable indeed and we will certainly be returning in the future. If you want a romantic getaway or a place of tranquility for a break, go here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Lesley T,
Thank you so much for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are all so pleased your birthday was such a huge success and one to remember. It was a pleasure to have you and your partner stay with us during your special celebration and we are delighted you found everything about the hotel to your liking. We have passed all your praise onto the team and passed your comments about our head chef, Callum, directly to him and he is thrilled you enjoyed his food so much. We hope you consider Sawrey House again for your next visit to the Lakes.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We booked this hotel to celebrate my parents 50th Wedding Anniversary and we all had a wonderful time. We stayed for three nights on a full board basis. Firstly this hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking Esthwaite Water and just so peaceful. We had a twin room, two lake view rooms and a four poster room for my parents. All the rooms were elegantly decorated and spotlessly clean, with all but the twin having fantastic views across the lake. It was so nice to open the window in the morning and all you could hear were the birds singing and the odd sheep bleating in the distance !
The food was also excellent with a great choice for breakfast and very nice evening menus with good variety, Salmon, Steak, Pork, Seabass, Duck, Red Deer etc all featured over the three nights we stayed. We all enjoyed the food, so full marks to the chef for some great creative dishes, I think we were all several pounds heavier on our return home despite all the walking !
There are also two spacious lounges where you can relax before and after dinner with both rooms having lovely views across the lake.
This hotel is very well run with good attention to detail, Toni and her team made us all feel very welcome and Milly and Harvey were just the icing on the cake!
All in all we had a fantastic stay and my parents enjoyed every moment it was a wonderful place to celebrate their Wedding Anniversary, I am sure we will return and I would fully recommend this hotel and the full board option which is very good value for money.
Thank you to everyone at the Sawrey House Hotel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are worth the extra money, wonderful views and scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBaker30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear SueBaker,
Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us and secondly to congratulate your parents on their 50th wedding anniversary. It's always a pleasure to read when guests have had such a wonderful time with us and we are delighted you and your party enjoyed your stay so much. Sawrey House is indeed in a very beautiful location and situated in easy reach of all Lake District attractions, we also benefit from a very peaceful and tranquil location too and I'm pleased you managed to make the most of it during your stay. As always, we have passed all your praise onto our team who are delighted that they managed to make your special celebration even more special.
We hope you consider Sawrey House Hotel again for your next visit to the Lakes...
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
1.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
682 reviews
3.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,449 reviews
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Property: Sawrey House Hotel
Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing