We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The website does not do this place justice!”
Review of Sawrey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sawrey House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Absolutely beautiful from the hotel and the grounds. Peaceful and well maintained. The bedroom was clean and immaculate. We were even given a card to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary!
Staff were very accomodating and helped us out when we though we may have to cancel.
All in all A definate recommendation!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennie1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thank you for taking some time to write your review of Sawrey House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Lake District and thrilled you found all aspects of the hotel to your liking. We hope you consider us again for any future visits to the Lakes as we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 685 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2011

hotel was clean,freindly and very relaxed.....staff spot on and food very good all in all
A LITTLE GEM OF A PLACE!!!! we will be back

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willsherwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all thrilled that you had such a wonderful stay at Sawrey House Hotel and delighted you are planning to return. Don't forget to add us as a friend on Facebook or sign up to our enewsletter on our website for great offers and deals. We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have just got back from our second stay at Sawrey House Hotel and are already looking at the diary to book the next trip. As previously, everything about this hotel was top notch. I would like to thank the owners, Toni and David, for making our stay so plesant but also to the delightful Spanish waitress who, after waking up to a wet Saturday morning, promised me good weather for the remainder of the weekend and actually delivered! OK perhaps it was not all down to her fortune telling but the magic of the hotel makes you think that perhaps in some way it was. Sitting on the patio, in T shirts, overlooking the lake with a drink at 7pm and still in glorious sunshine was a bonus in early April!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thank you for reviewing your second stay at Sawrey House for us. It is always a pleasure to see guests returning again and again and is a testiment to the staff and hotel that we are doing things right. The position of the hotel means that we capture the sun all day long on the terrace and there is nothing better than enjoying a early evening drink as you watch the sun set over Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest... truely a very relaxing experience. Don't forget to follow us on Facebook or Twitter for great offers and deals for your next visit or keep an eye on our Tripadvisor page for exclusive offers. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Fantastic room 4 poster bed with views of lake in distance.
Very friendly staff and food was just great could not be faulted in anyway.
We will definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sawrey House Hotel. Toni and I are delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel and food so much. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

My sister recommended this hotel to me and how right she was! The hotel is gorgeous, the setting is idyllic and the lovely staff were so helpful - even when we were one hour early for dinner as I had not read the time correctly! My favourite part was sitting before the glorious log fire drinking coffee after a super meal. We would love to return , as does my sister who is visiting again in April..........

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We are all thrilled that you had such a wonderful time with us during your stay in the Lake District. You are right, there is nothing better than sitting infront of the log fire after a great meal and we are delighted you enjoy doing just that. Don't forget to sign up to our email newsletter on our website to get great offers and deals in preperation for your next vist and we will look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House in the very near future.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just arrived back from a wonderful two day break.Sawrey house looks just as good inside as it does outside. I could not fault it in any way.The room was spotless,the staff were friendly,the breakfast lovely and the views tremendous.Fantastic walking from the door.What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorsues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Sawrey House. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us during your recent visit to the Lakes and thrilled you enjoyed our hotel so much. There are so many walks from just the front door all with stunning views or the forests, tarns and hills. We have just started to put the walks into pictures for our website and Facebook page to share with everyone. We hope you return to Sawrey House Hotel in the near future for more of the same!
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

set on a picturesque hill side by Hill Top, had a very pleasant stay with lake views,exellent taste and presentation of evening dinner & satisfying breakfast.enjoyed a winter walk in the snow straight from the front door to the near local tarns & forest,returning via refreshing local ales at the Tower Bank Arms.Will return

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Sawrey House Hotel. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful visit to the Lake District and thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Sawrey House is indeed in a very beautiful and picturesque spot and ideally located for lots of wonderful walks and the snow just adds to the beauty of the area. We have passed your praise onto our Chefs and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Sawrey House very soon.
Best Wishes
David, Toni and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
2.1 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,075 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
771 reviews
5.1 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 10 in Eskdale
598 reviews
0 mi away
Buckle Yeat Guest House
Buckle Yeat Guest House
#3 of 5 in Near Sawrey
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cuckoo Brow Inn
Cuckoo Brow Inn
#1 of 2 in Far Sawrey
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawrey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawrey House Hotel

Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range: $137 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sawrey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawrey House is an 11 bedroom country house hotel located in the heart of the English Lake District. Set in 3 acres of mature garden and with stunning views of Esthwaite Water and Grizedale Forest, Sawrey House Hotel is the perfect base to explore this beautiful part of Cumbria and is the ideal getaway for nature lovers, romantics and those who enjoy the finer things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sawrey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawrey Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing