We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tower Bank Arms
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$260
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$172
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$214
$177
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$231
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
297
56
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
56
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeatrix potterthe pubhill topbeef stewloweswater goldopen firewonderful pubwarm welcomelake districthomemade chipsreal aledog friendly pubhuge portionsnational trustcheese boardbeautiful villagethe sticky toffee pudding
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 364 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Visited for lunch(again, been here before) and found standards as high as ever. Children and dog friendly and good menu. Quite small so can't always deal with everyone who wants a meal but can book beforehand to ensure table. Well worth doing. my family and I love it can't come to Lakes without a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ark102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The lovely young lady at the National Trust property recommended us to lunch here, and I am so pleased we did. My stew was delicious, the menu was small but with plenty of choice; 6 of us ate, and all thoroughly enjoyed our meals, friendly staff, open fire and atmosphere of this lovely quintessentially English pub, I hope we pass this way again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very basic cheap cuts dressed up to serve without finesse and well overpriced.

The accommodation is sadly lacking with windows that do not close properly and rather dour decoration throughout. Bathrooms would certainly not pass the 'cotton bud' test either.

We were amazed at the apparent good reviews that would suggest that guests and diners are very easily pleased - perhaps they should be more discerning in their recommendtions and then we might see some much needed improvement.

Dogs are welcome and perhaps the Tower Bank Arms is well suited to their needs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Barnacle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

what a lovely welcome, we were staying next door at the Sawrey house hotel on bed & breakfast.(which was excellent) but didn't fancy a three course meal which was on special offer, and the Al A Carte was Expensive, so we decided to eat at the pub next door, glad we did the welcome plus roaring fire as we entered was lovely, food was very good and reasonably priced, would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank yesses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a superb evening in this lovely old pub, the host was exceptionally welcoming and there was a lovely open fire. There were 5 local ales and a decent wine list and the food was great quality and the menu had a good choice. The locals also were very friendly and we will definitely return to this beautiful part of the lakes.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Staffsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews