We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tower Bank Arms
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$337
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$186
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$215
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$198
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveler rating
297
56
6
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
56
6
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeatrix potterthe pubhill topbeef stewloweswater goldopen firewonderful pubwarm welcomelake districthomemade chipsreal aledog friendly pubhuge portionsnational trustcheese boardbeautiful villagethe sticky toffee pudding
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 364 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We have stayed in several very nice B&B's in the area and would have gone back to them so when we say this is the best it is accounting for the quality of the room, the service and the bargain. It is very small so booking early is essential, but once you are there you will not want to leave. If you take the value of the very nice full breakfast out of the room price the rooms end up being a bargain. The guests have reserved tables at the dining room and have great dinners available each evening for competitive prices. The evening in the pub is part of the experience. It is perfectly located for lake district activities if you want to avoid the Windemere crush. While it is located directly next to B. Potters Hill Top NT property it has less Beatrix Potter hype than Hawkshead!

Room Tip: You should book directly with management
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drigall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We booked some time ago to allow us to fish in the area and can only say that the reception and the food were great and the accomodation great value and clean but there was this almost family atmosphere both from the staff and the locals and what a setting which would be hard to beat.The management and staff are a team so they all go out of their way to help with local knowledge and even pointed us to alternative fishing areas and by staying here we got inclusive fishing permits for some beautifal fishing waters.

Room Tip: parking limited but can be dealt with
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiderjivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed at the Tower Bank as my birthday treat for three nights over the Whit bank holiday.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Anthony, who showed us to our room. The room was a little smaller than we expected, but the bed was comfortable and it provided everything we needed.

We chose to eat in the bar for most of our stay, as it is probably some of the best food we have ever eaten. Large delicious portions in a warm friendly atmosphere.

Breakfast was wonderful, bacon and sausages to die for. My partner had haddock one morning, again a large portion, cooked to perfection.

As the bar does not have a TV ( due to the property being owned by the National Trust) we had to go in to Hawkshead to watch the Big Match. Anthony drove us down there
himself and even offered to come and pick us up later!

As a previous reviewer has pointed out, the hotel accepts dogs. We don't have one ourselves,but there was certainly non of the doggy smell you often associate with places that accept dogs. Our room was spotlessly clean, with no evidence of dog hairs anywhere.

I love Beatrix Potter, and the village of Near Sawrey fascinated me. The hotel itself was full of Beatrix Potter books and books about her and the area. I could have quite happily sat by the roaring fire ( lit specially for me one morning) and read for most of the day.

We will certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rappy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

The Tower Bank Arms is a magical inn, charming, cosy and it's friendly owners providing the warmest of welcomes.
Our hosts were absolutely fantastic and helpful above and beyond at all times, without being one bit intrusive. Nothing was too much trouble and everything you could wish for was provided, or somehow appeared before you could ask!
In a spectacular setting and great value, I would recommend the Tower Bank Arms to anybody, young and old and we will definitely be returning, not least of all for the unbeatable service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Just great. We had a large room with near new facilities. The restaurant was first class for pub grub and the bar service faultless. Anthony was a great host and went out of his way to help with anything. If there is anything to be considered, the local parking can be a challenge. Overall we had a great stay over Easter here with some lovely seasonal surprises provided.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianandFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews