We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ees Wyke Country House
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$237
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$173
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$193
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$149
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveler rating
106
46
13
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
46
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsesthwaite waterbeatrix potterdecanter of sherryporridgehill topthe blue roomsunshine roomshoe cleaningaward winning breakfastlake districthighly recommend you givebeautiful location overlookinglovely dining roomhotel guidetower bank armsbedside tablepeaceful weekend
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 169 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 days at Ees Wyke, and the time was beyond our expectations. Everything was done professionally, the room was clean and pleasant, and there were plenty of little touches that set apart the best B&Bs. We found the owners to be personable and available, and the breakfasts were outstanding. Finally, the setting could not be more beautiful or peaceful. Sheep and geese graze in the pastures below the house, the property stretches down to the lake, and rolling hills are in the background. Beatrix Potter's Hill Top is just down the road, and there is a great little pub where we had some very good meals. We love the pastural West side of Windemere, and this B&B was a great place to land. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghguthrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautiful views and thats where it ends. Wallpaper hanging off in bathroom wall. Hotel clearly in need of some TLC. We intended to have evening meal' however the owner/ manager, informed us that he could only do a set meal of roast beef with no other choices, which would cost £50 per person including a glass of wine. we decided to go for evening meal a little further up the road to the Cuckoo Brow Inn which was Excellent. on our return at 10.30pm we asked the manager/Owner for a whisky nightcap to which he replied "well we were just going to bed if you had been having evening meal here we would have known you would be expecting a night cap" He eventually agreed to sell us a whisky. At Breakfast the Owners wife served us with breakfast, she was extremely unpleasant and rude: when I went to the buffet table to get a second glass of fruit juice she stated " will there be enough for the other guests which made me feel very unwelcome and uncomfortable. I was in a party of 11 people staying at the hotel for our friend 60th birthday weekend. One of our party felt so uncomfortable she wanted to pack her bag and leave on our first day. She stayed because she did not want to upset her sister as it was her celebration weekend. I would not recommend this hotel if you are hoping for service with a smile. a really uncomfortable weekend. E & S Farrar-Herd.

Room Tip: Choose a en suit room as there are rooms with separate private bathrooms which can be inconvenient through night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EesWyke, Owner at Ees Wyke Country House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay, albeit at odds with your comments on leaving. Early in the year your host asked for exclusive use of the house. The cost of accommodation together with the menu we were asked to provide was given. Two days before arrival the numbers were reduced by a third and we were asked if we could revised costs omit dinner as guests “could not afford” the arrangement made for them. The weekend resulted in a considerable loss of income. We are, and remain, sorry we allowed our liverishness to show through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Ees Wyke, on the edge of Near Sawry village in the Lake District, is large house with an idyllic view over Esthwaite Water and the valley, with views between the large established trees to the higher fells of Wetherlam, Bow Fell, and the Langdale Pikes. It has picnic-style tables and chairs in the garden area and a veranda with seats with those fabulous views. It has an elegant old-fashioned charm. Our room was pleasant with a good bed and great views down the valley, and, although the en-suite itself was small, it was perfectly adequate. One couple run the place and appear to do everything themselves, and do it well - they must be permanently tired! The food was superb - Michelin-standard in my opinion - and it was less than £40 per head for a 6-course dinner, served (as is breakfast) in a lovely dining room with fabulous views. Two old English sheepdogs occupy the place, but even if you're not keen on dogs, these two don't give you a second glance even if you're stepping over them. The proprietors are very accommodating - for example, tea in the garden any time you wish. We paid £120 per night for the room, but this price was deserved. Ees Wyke manages to be peaceful in spite of the hordes of visitors to Hill Top (Beatrix Potter) 200 yards up the road. We'll definitely go again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have at least a good view, if not a great one, but not all rooms are en-suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Well kept, lovely staff and beautiful setting. Fully enjoyed our stay here.

We did not see swimming pool or fitness center, or wake up in time for breakfast after a late night! The guy running the place was really friendly and helpful, thank you.

Room Tip: I do not know what to recommend. Our room was good, didn't see others
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeftEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is nice house with a good location. The rooms are good size and comfortable as are the dining room, lounge etc. , all with excellent views. It is a couple of yards along the road from Beatrix Potter's Hill Top house - but because the roads are very narrow, it is not overloaded with coach loads of tourist. The food is good, and Richard is very helpful - (we didn't see much of Margaret). They have two very lovely and docile old English sheep dogs. We were the only visitors at the time , which made us feel very lucky, but gave the house a kind of unreal feel. It is easy access to other areas of the Lake District. (although Ambleside and Windermere are somewhat too full of tourist for us). We liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Two-Grey-Gypsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews