We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic; a great weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ees Wyke Country House
Ranked #5 of 5 Near Sawrey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Idyllic; a great weekend break”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here last year and are desperate to get back, we think of it fondly and often. It's a beautiful location, stunning views and when you arrive you are greeted like an old friend. Dinner was wonderful, the owner/chef clearly enjoys his craft and knows good food. There were two adorable sheep dogs that lay like rugs at the front door, and didn't even budge when you stepped over them, another endearing feature. Take time to seek out this treasure, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed here July 2012. Where do I start.... This Country House is beautiful set in lovely grounds over looking Esthwaite water. Richard met with us when we arrived and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had with a view from the dining room of the lake to compliment it even more. The room was clean and beautifully furnished. There is a lovely pub within walking distance, where we were made to feel very welcome, we ate there and found the food to be of a good standard. Hawkshead is a short car journey away or a good walk if you want gift shops or a choice of pubs that serve food. We popped out on a Friday night and it was very lively for such a small place with a live Jazz band in one pub and a live rock band in another. Ees Wyke is a beautiful house that I would highly recommend to anyone, one of the best places we've stayed in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

One many good things about staying at Ees Wyke is that you genuinely feel you are in Lakeland countryside – look out of the window and there are sheep in the foreground, a lake in the middle distance and fells afar off – and you are nowhere near the tacky gift shops and the endless drab outdoor clothing stores. Yet it’s not remote and difficult to get to – there’s village pub within easy walking distance.

And you might also appreciate the warm welcome, the elegant house and the comfortable rooms. The breakfasts are first class (I’ve not had better anywhere) – and while you are tucking into kipper or a full English or whatever takes your fancy you can watch nuthatch, coal tit, blue tit, great tit, greenfinch, chaffinch and great spotted woodpecker feeding outside the window.

A tip: there is the option of an evening meal cooked by Richard – don’t miss it on at least one night of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

On a trip to the uk we decided to spend one night here and I wish we would've stayed longer....complete relaxation and charm! Please give big kisses to Harry and teddy the two exceptionally behaved sheepdogs who call this slice of heaven home! Every need you can have is catered to. It is a MUST to do the 5 course meal, the food was top notch and well worth the price. The breakfast in the morning is fit for a king! Please take the time to walk around the property and take in the scenery. We previously stayed in Ambleside at a well known b&b and will now chose Ees Wyke when we return annually for a little adult relaxation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the white room, didn't have the opportunity to see others. We had an excellent view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlzahar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We returned to Ees Wyke and took up residence in the Sunshine Room. As always, Richard and Margaret made us very welcome. This is a small family run hotel and Richard and Margaret take great pride in their welcome and customer comfort. The hotel is a Georgian building set in its own grounds with fantastic views over Esthwaite water. The b&b package is good value with an excellent breakfast. The evening meal is six courses of gastronomic delight and excellent value at £35 per head. The hotel is very quiet. Before and after dinner, guests gather and socialise in one of the sitting rooms next to the dining room. Drinks are served on demand. This is probably the best small hotel we have stayed in the Uk!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view. We were over the front porch and the side window overlooks the lake.(su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Ees Wyke Country House Hotel for the weekend, the food is exceptional, we enjoyed the most varied and beautifully cooked breakfast I have eaten in many years. The dinners were both outstanding we had Lamb noisettes and duck both cooked to perfection. Starters and savouries were all excellent as we're the desserts and local cheese. The welcome and sense of humour of Richard and Margaret made this a great experience, one which we would happily repeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This has to be one of the best places we have ever stayed. The B&B cost is a little on the high side, but the five-course dinner at £35 is fantastic value and the food is excellent. We have no complaints whatsoever about the standard of accommodation - we had the Blue Room and enjoyed fabulous views over Esthwaite Water and towards the Langdales. I can't agree with some of your reviewers (CNH0101, for example), who criticize the requirement to choose from the menu an hour before eating. This ensures that the food is freshly cooked for you - and if you don't want to stay in the lounge while you wait you can always go to your room to change for dinner or take a stroll in the grounds. I can't praise this small hotel enough - but you may have to be quick, as I understand it is for sale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceiniog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Near Sawrey
3.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
682 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ees Wyke Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ees Wyke Country House

Property: Ees Wyke Country House
Address: Near Sawrey, Near Sawrey LA22 0JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Near Sawrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Near Sawrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ees Wyke Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ees Wyke Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ees Wyke Country House Hotel Sawrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing