We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ees Wyke Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
105
46
13
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
46
13
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsesthwaite waterbeatrix potterdecanter of sherryporridgehill topthe blue roomsunshine roomshoe cleaningaward winning breakfastlake districthighly recommend you givebeautiful location overlookinglovely dining roomhotel guidetower bank armsbedside tablepeaceful weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 168 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beautiful place! Gorgeous outside views. I could imagine Beatrix Potter sitting at the pond below sketching. Very charming and lovely place. We appreciated the serene and quiet of Near Sawrey as well as the stunning views. Owners were very nice. Not sure if it was a bad day but woman owner was very stressed at breakfast and a bit short with the customers. Food was absolutely amazing and we would actually stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aspentree1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed for a Saturday night in July.On arriving at the house one of the owners greeted us and asked if we would like a cup of tea,which was served in the sitting room,a nice thought after our long journey.
We had booked for dinner and it was five courses,expertly cooked and presented.Breakfast the following morning was a delight,the joint owner of the house served the meals.
All in all,very clean,well kept garden,very comfortable and delicious meals;a very pleasant stay in a wonderful location and certainly a visit to repeat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stunning location and surrounding grounds. Excellent food,excellent value for money. Ran by a lovely couple with two gorgeous dogs that did not smell and the food was amazing. Would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nicks888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Quite a staid hotel but a very pleasant stay with friendly, helpful owners and some nice touches. For example in your bedroom you will find a small decanter of sherry with a pair of glasses, cotton buds, emery board, cotton pads, dry roasted peanuts, tea, coffee and biscuits. Breakfast is superb and very, very well presented. The beds are comfy, the views over the lake are wonderful. The chef (and owner?) was kind enough to arrange for a local mechanic to come out and repair my car on a Sunday morning. My only gripe was that if you have the downstairs bedroom (peach room) then you are subjected to a grandfather clock in the entrance hall that chimes every hour. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked a Saturday night at Ees Wyke to mark a birthday. Not many Lake District hotels will allow a single night booking at the weekend so this was a plus. The location is quiet and scenic, being on the less frequented west side of Windermere. Our room was comfortable with antique style furniture and a view over Esthwaite. A decanter of sherry in the room was a nice touch that I have not seen elsewhere. This is a family run guest house; it is rated by the AA as a five star guest house (not a five star hotel). It also merits a rosette for dining and a special award for breakfasts, which were outstanding for an establishment of this size. Dinner was of a very high standard and the owner, Richard, clearly takes great pride in his skill as a chef.

This is a great place for a couple looking for a short break, not for familes with young children.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view if possible.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews