We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avon Emporium - CLOSED

Avon Emporium
Cuisines: Swiss, European
Description: they are also known as The Shipwright Inn at the same location
Restaurant details
Description: they are also known as The Shipwright Inn at the same location
Stewiacke, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

This restaurant was a surprise as I travelled along the Noel Shore highway. The chowder and the rolls have drawn me back time after time. Sunday brunch is a delight. Again, it was a happy surprise, especially travelling on a motorcycle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Katharine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As Long as You Aren't in a Hurry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Try the chowder with the fresh rolls. You won't be disappointed. It usually takes awhile to get served, so I never go when I'm in a hurry. But the spot is lovely and you can while away the "wait time" by spotting frogs in the pond

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotianLadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Swiss Interlude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We drove on a pleasant afternoon along the Noel Shore road of Nova Scotia, north from Brooklyn. The Avon Emporium is located near the Minas basin opposite the Avon river in the hamlet of Summerville Nova Scotia. The day was pleasant and we sat outdoors on a patio near a pond, complete with birds, flowers, frogs and lily pads. The menu tended toward the Swiss, but in a Canadian context. Lunch was excellent and moderately priced. Rooms are also available, although we did not stay overnight. A very restful and pleasant experience, all in all, and well worth the drive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, NS
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Excellent brunch and even better European desserts! We haven't tried lunch or dinner but will as soon as we can. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avon Emporium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Avon Emporium is an amazing little gem in Summerville, Nova Scotia. They do a terrific Sunday brunch buffet throughout the spring and summer. My wife and I have been going there for about 5 years (every mother's day for sure) and come away totally satisfied and totally stuffed every single time. So stuffed in fact that we must do a walk down the shore of the Bay of Fundy. The owner told us the best places nearby to beachcomb for fossils. This resturant has been voted The Best Seafood Chowder by numerous reviewers including The Halifax Herald food writer Bill Spurr. I could go on and on but just go there, I'm sure you will love it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkster55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avon Emporium also viewed

Summerville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Summerville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing