We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and dinners were just excellent”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were totally surprised to find such a good restaurant in a small hotel. The Sunday night BBQ is a scream - fab meats and buffet veggies. The following night a la carte was also v good. Good wine list. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fab - the eggs and home smoked salmon probably the best I've had.
The room was adequate - big enough, the shower was small but all we needed was there.
Laundry facility incl tumble drier at 3$ a pop.
Great location on the main road and next to a lovely river, with a walk taking to the lake and the information centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Hi Team
Great that you enjoyed our Sunday BBQ.... it has become popular and we are just over the moon that you have taken the time to leave us such lovely feedback.
The breakfast dish with the salmon is new this year...we are please that you enjoyed it.
We hope that you are enjoying the rest of your holiday and maybe we will see you again some time in the future. Regards Alexandra & Leighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 249 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very friendly welcome awaited us when we booked in. Were offered a reservation for our evening meal which we took. Our room 307 was on the first floor and along the corridor. When we opened the door to the room we were quite surprised as we had a spacious lounge and the bedroom was up on a mezzanine floor. A very comfortable timber property.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candt1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanking you kindly for taking the time to send us your thoughts.....
We always value feedback and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Beautiful alpine environment, spacious spotless rooms and wonderful friendly staff.

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge for one night for a wedding anniversary party. We had the most delicious set menu with lots of different choices (beautiful d'oeuvres ... scallops and homemade rabbit filled ravioli, superbly cooked lamb and pork for mains with delicious salads and vegetables). Staff really went the extra mile to make our evening a real celebration. The table was also set so thoughtfully for us with beautiful decorations which we hadn't expected.

We highly recommend this gem of a place. Service is superb and it's in one of the most beautiful parts of NZ.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thank you for you for taking the time to write about the Alpine Lodge.
We hope to see you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We just walked in to this lovely log cabin style lodge on our way from Picton to the West Coast and found it to be really good value for families. Located near the Nelson Lake National Park. The accommodation is very comfortable and constructed in solid timber which gave it an authentic alpine feel. The rate for 2 bedrooms was good value and more than comparable to others we had priced prior to leaving.
Management was very efficient and the dining room had a good varied menu.
The setting was beautiful with the mountains towering in the near distance.
For people wishing to take the slow road to the west coast this makes a good initial night stopover.
Unable to rate due to a problem with TA website.

Room Tip: Take a short drive down to the lake-very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bowenarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to writing a review.
We like the fact we are somewhat understated and that our guests, such as yourself feel pleasantly
surprised when they come and stay with us.
Warm regards
Alexandra & Leighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We showed up unannounced, tired, hungry and smelly after cycling several hundred km's over the previous few days. We were treated to our own room in the backpackers part of the accommodation, towels and even some free soap (as good as gold to us), which was above what we were expecting. Can't comment on the other accommodation options but the backpackers was well laid out.

The staff went out of their way to be super friendly even though they were slightly understaffed due to a sudden surge in visitors. We ate in the restaurant which provided great meals with everything prepared on site. Excellent location.

Room Tip: The backpackers rooms are all double glazed and have heaters so should be super warm in winter. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Hello...
Many thanks for your great review.
You are right we did get busy unexpectedly, but having lovely, patient and appreciative guests like yourselves make all the difference.
We hope that you have time to explore more of the Nelson Lakes National Park some time in the future.
Warm regards Alexandra & Leighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Average hotel, clean, possibly a tad pricey. Dated fittings, nice bar area and beautiful surroundings. No air con, no guest laundry. We had a smaller ground floor room which was well maintained but could have been better ventilated.

No complaints.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank vaguelymovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We agree that some of our rooms are dated and due to the economic times we have only managed to refurbish some of our rooms.
For now we are trying to focus clean rooms, good service and great food and looking forward to the future we will continue to upgrade the hotel.
We are truly sorry that you did not find our guest laundry, it is located opposite the spa pool, next to the luggage storage.
Being at an altitude of 640m we don't find it necessary to provide air conditioning.
As for the ventilation we will check all the rooms as we are unsure which one you had.
We hope to see you again sometime and please feel free to ask Leighton or myself for an upgrade into one of our superior rooms.
Warm regards
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Wished we had stayed more then 1 night. Looking forward to a return visit. Our superior room was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of a stream. Food at the restaurant was absolutely delicious. Service was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546mariannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Hello Marianne
Thank you very much for your lovely response.
Is not easy to please everyone in the Hospitality so it makes us happy when we receive great reviews.
We are looking forward to hosting you again sometime in the near future.
Warm regards Alexandra & Leighton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#2 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
6 reviews
0 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: $125 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing