We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great place to book into in St Arnaud. Staff are very friendly and knowledgable . I highly recommend their continental breakfasts . After an 8 days tramping it was a welcome sight . I enjoyed using the spa, and area for washing and drying clothes. If you are down this way well worth looking into. There is backpacker and hotel accommodation available

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Janr20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 240 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in November 2013, in one of their superior rooms. The room was nicely appointed with modern furnishings. No built-in heat or air conditioning, but there was a space heater which was fine for us. Nice view from the room of the gardens and river. The room was a little noisy on the first night, could hear neighbors and folks above moving around, and water running through pipes. Friends traveling with us stayed at one of the practical apartment units that have two bedrooms, a living room and kitchen.

Restaurant was good, we had dinner there a few times, and breakfast once. Good food and service. Well kept lawns surround the facility, and there’s a playground for kids. A short trail along the river takes you down to lake Rotoiti.

WiFi was a bit flakey – but they had folks working on the problem. Oh, and bring some insect repellant, and your own body lotion.

Room Tip: The apartments seems pretty quiet, no one above or below. Not sure if there are superior rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank transcon_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here on our way from Greymouth to Picton. Our room was clean and warm and had a nice view with two ducks outside our sliding glass door. Unlike other motels we have stayed at in New Zealand this room only had a hot water kettle and refrigerator. It really didn't matter though since we were on a package deal that included a continental breakfast. St. Arnaud is small enough that you are close to everything. There is a trail from the back of the property that follows a creek down to a lake. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Manager at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.... Leighton and I always appreciate it!
Kind regards
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Alpine Lodge for two nights over a long weekend with our two year old son.

The rooms were pleasant, tidy and had a picturesque outlook over wetlands and native beech forest to the mountains. The meals were excellent quality and value.

Travelling with a rampaging toddler can be stressful at the best of times. We were really impressed by how family friendly the Alpine Lodge was, and how the hosts went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the first floor, which gave us even better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tama E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Manager at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Hi Team

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we appreciate it.
Both Leighton and I really enjoyed meeting you all and hope to see you again!

Take care....
Warm regards
Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the alpine lodge. Room was clean and bed comfortable . Had dinner there, best pork burger i have tasted and my husband enjoyed his steak. I recommend trying the expresso martini, excellent.Had breakfast there as well which was included in the get away package ,which was value for money . Chris was an ideal host and all staff friendly and helpful.The ducks friendly also.Enjoyed sitting in front of open fire after all blacks game. Over all great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noeline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Hello Noeline

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.
We always appreciate feedback especially when our guests have had a positive experience.
The hospitality industry can be tough and it is a challenge to get the balance of food, beverage, customer service and accommodation right.....unfortunately there is very little room for error.
We have passed your lovely food comments on to our head chef and it has put a smile on his face for the day!
We hope to see you again some time......
Warm regards Leighton and Alexandra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here only one night for a wedding held nearby, we had left our 12 month old at home with family so it was also a bit of a getaway. We got a 'superior' room for $170 a night and it was very nice. Either the rooms are very quiet or we had no one nearby! Clearly it has been here for a while and the decor wasn't modern however it was immaculately kept. It had all the necessities although breakfast making facilities would have been better. A fridge, kettle and tea/coffee/milo/milk was supplied. Shops etc are directly over the road and the lake was a pleasant 5 minute walk away.

We had a room with a back door that opened out onto a grassed area with a stream close by. It was lovely drifting off to sleep with the sounds of frogs and trickling water outside. The bathroom was spacious and the shower pressure was amazing! Real shampoo and conditioner were supplied rather than that awful conditioning shampoo stuff. We we wanted to check in earlier than normal as we wanted to have time to prepare before the wedding and they were more than happy to oblige. Check in staff we lovely and friendly and we never saw the housekeeping staff - which is a good thing as I hate tripping over the trolleys they normally leave everywhere!

Didn't get a chance to see the restaurant but the reception area was nice and spacious and inviting. We visited a friend in a large family unit which was wonderfully spacious with what appeared to be a full kitchen.

The day we went was perfectly sunny and the lake was stunning. Take insect repellent with you but we had fly spray available in our room in case any of the locals decided to visit. If we are up that way again we will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: The 'superior' rooms are right at the back of the complex so wonderfully private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzraelMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine-Lodge7, Owner at Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor, as we always appreciate customer feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there two nights in an unpowered site with my camper van, so I didn't get to see the rooms. However, the common areas which I got access to(backpackers) were very good, clean, spacious and warm. Everything was clean everywhere and nearly brand new. The staff were just fantastic, very friendly and ready to help with anything. I was very happy there and the lodge is located in a places where the views and the walks around are just stunning.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiegoUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
10.2 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: $27 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing