We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alpine Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Owen River Tavern & Motels(Murchison)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Murchison Motels(Murchison)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Mataki Motel(Murchison)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Parkside Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$99
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
$78
$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
120
101
29
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
101
29
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnelson lakessuperior roomlake rotoitifamily roomrooms are clean and comfortablesand fliessouth island of new zealandbird lifestayed here for one nightnational parkspa poolcomfortable stayfantastic placestreambackpackersleightonalpine
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 261 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Reception was friendly and informative. Location is superb...a nice forest trail to the lake. Our room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. The hotel put on an excellent buffet dinner for the Classic Boat Show that weekend. The staff was very friendly. We will return if possible.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our room had a mezzanine bedroom, which made it very roomy and spacious, with a big seating area. Very quiet neighborhood at walking distance from Nelson Lakes. Dinner and breakfast are very good, service is excellent. Wifi wasn't free and didn't work well all the time, but staff was supportive in sorting it out quickly. Recommended place to stay!

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Alpine lodge is a world apart. The setting above Lake Rotoiti is amazing. Nestled next to stream and alpine ponds and a short walk through native beech forest to lake edge. The lodge has lifted significantly since an earlier visit, showing the care and energy of the couple running it. The room decor was a little tired but clean, comfortable and quiet, opening on to the pond area. The biggest lift is in the reception and dining areas, where the creative eye of the management team is apparent. The menu is great and the in-house "cafe" a welcome addition. It was great to find the lodge in such good hands. St Arnaud is an amazing place and the lodge a perfect place to escape to. Looking forward to a much longer next visit.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A couple of my good friends got married here, and we booked out the whole lodge for the weekend. The reception was faultless, with excellent food and a great dining area and bar. One small downside was that it was quite hot, and far too stuffy up in the loft of our room, so we ended up sleeping down in the main room. But this would be a very rare problem in St Arnaud!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildWoila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The area around the hotel is the real attraction here, but notwithstanding, the Alpine Lodge provides a comfortable break from the hard physical day you would have likely had. We had our wedding reception there a few years ago, and the food was absolutely superb, our venue for the wedding was the little chapel near by, which is a short walk through the bush, which is worth a visit for its lovely view of the lake behind. We stayed there again recently and found the standards hadn't dropped. Food was excellent, staff were attentive, but you will probably be there for the lakes and bush, which is superb !

Room Tip: You will find in the deep dark of winter that you will need to book meals in advance. Also, bring mosquito spray it you are going in summer !
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeroenSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews