We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in paradise”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The area around the hotel is the real attraction here, but notwithstanding, the Alpine Lodge provides a comfortable break from the hard physical day you would have likely had. We had our wedding reception there a few years ago, and the food was absolutely superb, our venue for the wedding was the little chapel near by, which is a short walk through the bush, which is worth a visit for its lovely view of the lake behind. We stayed there again recently and found the standards hadn't dropped. Food was excellent, staff were attentive, but you will probably be there for the lakes and bush, which is superb !

Room Tip: You will find in the deep dark of winter that you will need to book meals in advance. Also, bring mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeroenSpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 240 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are a family of four and stayed in an apartment for one week before our friend's wedding in the same location. The apartment had 2 bedrooms and was very spacious and very clean. It was partially serviced each day we were there, only bad thing to say was that they didn't vacuum during our stay but I'm sure they would have if we'd asked. We travelled with a toddler and baby and the staff were very accommodating and great with our kids. There is a great kids area adjoining the restaurant where they will let you eat so the kids can play at the same time. Even better if you have older kids they could play in there by themselves while you eat just around the corner! The managers of the lodge were wonderful - very friendly and keen to help us have an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Alpine Lodge is a great stopover between the West Coast and Wellington -- for either a night or longer.

We stayed in a family room with two beds on the main floor and three bunks on the upper level loft. While the vertical ladder to the loft is a bit steep for really young kids, there is plenty of room on the main floor for them to sleep, and the ladder and loft would be the perfect adventure for ~ages 5 and up. The views from the room were absolutely gorgeous, and I wish we could have spent more time exploring the area.

The owners were very reassuring when we called to tell them we were running late, and they were very kind and considerate once we arrived. We highly recommend a stay at the Alpine Lodge!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Got there for a night before going down the campsite, and the impression I had was that the staff cares way more about the hotel than the backpacker.
I slept in an empty 6 beds dorm, in a very small room. About the facilities, the kitchen is not bad, very big and full of what you need, but you need to pay for the showers. Bad point when the night is already very expensive.
The surroundings are of course great, but you need to go to the campsite to really enjoy them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent one night here in late December with another couple and rented a two-bedroom unit that had a sitting area/mini kitchen that suited us just fine. We were able to make our own breakfast and pack lunches for the road. Though our unit didn't have any view to speak of, that's not why we chose it. We did appreciate the quiet at night though. Dinner in the restaurant was surprisingly good for the middle of nowhere and offered reasonably priced wines by the glass.

Our only disappointment is that the office didn't open until 8, and we needed to leave early in the morning, so we were not able to make the payment arrangements we had intended (one couple made the reservation but we planned to have the other couple pay).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a very quiet, comfortable, relaxing property! The room was so nice and the pond view was soothing. The on site bar/restaurant was superb and we lucked out since they have a BBQ on Sunday nights. The star gazing was a treat and of course the close proximity to Lake Rotoiki was the best factor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

St. Arnaud is a beautiful spot, with Alpine feel to eat. The lodge is the only motel in the village as far as I'm aware. The rooms were spacious and clean. From the motel you can't really see the view but it is just 10 min. forest walk to the lake. The hot tab is a nice bonus. We took the family room that has two floors. We stayed in the lodge for 1 night.

Room Tip: The family room has two floors but if you have young kids (under 5) it might not be so helpful as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
8 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nelson Lakes Home Stay
Nelson Lakes Home Stay
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: $27 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing