We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs cleaning”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Needs cleaning”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed in the backpacker part of this hotel and was disappointed with the lack of cleanliness in the dorm room, living room and bathroom. None of these rooms had been vaccumed, rubbish bins not emptied and the bathroom only had a very casual wipe down in the two nights I stayed. Even simple things make a difference and it's not hard to do the above or to replace blown light bulbs. Overall a poor stay and I will camp at the doc campground in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi-yeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    87
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
121
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our journey from the South to the North island. When we first arrived we were in awe of the scenery as we were surrounded by hills unfortunately there was no snow as we were in Spring. Although there was still some remaining at the very top of the mountains. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the rooms were great. The only negative I have was that we found that there wasn't very much to do. We did go on a walk when we first got there right by the lake but that was about it. We used our time her to catch up on our sleep and just chilled out. The restaurant was very nice and we just had to have a NZ lamb shank and it was gorgeous. In the morning we also opted to have breakfast although it was a tad pricey. Overall a great place to stay but I imagine it would be even nicer in the Winter.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan180680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed at this lodge many times and arriving with a group of friends for lunch were turned away as the restaurant was closed. The person who informed us was not welcoming and expressed little regret, rather appearing to doubt our expectation. The large sign outside says Restaurant, in very small letters near the front door it states that lunch is served only in weekends during winter. However this was mid-November and we would expect either service or a clear indication at the entrance that there was no food. My friends were unimpressed; there is no other cafe in St Arnaud. Fortunately the garage/store opposite was more welcoming.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F'burg
Level Contributor
205 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Although the accomodation is basic, the food is spectacular. The dinners are outstanding and the breakfasts are hearty and delicious. The hosts are warm, welcoming, and fascinating people. The Lodge is conveniently located for water sports at the lakes but also for single day hikes and before or after multi-day tramps.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice tidy, clean room, had a wonderful dinner and drinks, very friendly hosts surrounded by a spectacular location. Gets a big tick of approval, Would recommend this place to anyone and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Level Contributor
582 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were unlucky with the weather. When we reached St. Arnaud we didn't expect it would rain here, too: in fact they forecast rain everywhere, except in the Nelson Lake area... What a joke. For the next two days we are stuck inside our room with unrelenting rain and cold outside. We do the most of what we get, write tons of postcards, play sudoku, do the washing, drink cider in front of the fireplace and enjoy tasty hotel dinners. We also stick our noses out when it isn't raining too hard to observe wildlife, see the visitors' centre. But there isn't much else to do. We must return in a sunnier period.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Was a great place to stay with wonderful service. Wonderful Dinner menu.
Would thoroughly recommend. wonderful and generous breakfast.Very friendly staff.
Would definitely return. An undiscovered gem

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schultzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Arnaud
16.3 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing