We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice tidy, clean room, had a wonderful dinner and drinks, very friendly hosts surrounded by a spectacular location. Gets a big tick of approval, Would recommend this place to anyone and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tumoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    88
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
121
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cervo, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
586 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were unlucky with the weather. When we reached St. Arnaud we didn't expect it would rain here, too: in fact they forecast rain everywhere, except in the Nelson Lake area... What a joke. For the next two days we are stuck inside our room with unrelenting rain and cold outside. We do the most of what we get, write tons of postcards, play sudoku, do the washing, drink cider in front of the fireplace and enjoy tasty hotel dinners. We also stick our noses out when it isn't raining too hard to observe wildlife, see the visitors' centre. But there isn't much else to do. We must return in a sunnier period.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havelock, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Was a great place to stay with wonderful service. Wonderful Dinner menu.
Would thoroughly recommend. wonderful and generous breakfast.Very friendly staff.
Would definitely return. An undiscovered gem

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schultzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

A lovely place to stay but the rooms are a little overpriced. We had a spa room and the spa itself was rather small. The meals and service was excellent though. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVR_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

An excellent venue with all the facilities you'll need as a traveller and walker. The friendliest of staff, particularly the manager, a huge food choice and 4 local beers - make sure you book for dinner. In a cozy second floor room we slept soundly and awoke to views of the mountains. There's no lift so if you have heavy cases book for the ground floor. We made an early breakfast and there was ample of choice and no shortages. The local garage is just across the road for sandwiches, fuel and insect repellent - you're going to need it!

Room Tip: No lifts so if you struggle with steps or have heavy bags book on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Of_The_North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Very friendly staff, cosy rooms, really good food in the restaurant at dinner and a very generous and tasty breakfast made this stay a very pleasant one. The lodge is very clean and tidy and efficiently run. Close to local amenities and attractions and the scenery at the nearby lake is outstanding.Will definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

excellent location for hiking in Nelson Lakes National Park, no need to drive anywhere if you do not want to. Mount Robert circular hike (5 hours of which first 1.5 hours are going up) is amazing, had wonderful weather and stunning views over the lake. Room nice, breakfast not included but should mention cost of that somewhere. Evening meals nice, recommend to make a reservation.

Room Tip: check website - upstairs rooms probably slightly better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrianafallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing