We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Comfortable in Awesome Surroundings.”
Review of Alpine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk
Level Contributor
187 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quiet & Comfortable in Awesome Surroundings.”
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Motel style accommodation with quality central restaurant, We had a 'superior' room overlooking stream and bush. V. quiet. Equipped with kettle, microwave, fridge. Ensuite shower room. Very clean and comfortable. Hosts/staff very helpful and knowledgeable re local walks, water taxis etc. Food delicious, reasonably priced and good menu. St. Arnaud v. small - village store/garage opposite Lodge sold milk, bread etc. Whole enterprise ideal for exploring the Lakes.

Room Tip: Go for room at the back overlooking stream/bush .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    87
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
50
121
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
292 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This lovely lodge was a stopping point during our South Island drive. Nelsons Lake National Park is impressive. We also used this location for a trip to the wine country near Blenheim. The owners of the lodge were most helpful in helping us plan our activities. All of the staff offered 10+ in service. The restuarant in the lodge was vey good.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We had a delightful stay here. The place looks a little older from the outside but the rooms are renovated and very clean and comfortable. Attached restaurant absolutely delicious and staff very accommodating. Attached small cafe had one of the best breakfasts I had in NZ.
Central to town and so a short drive from the visitors centre and lake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank now__voyager_melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Alpine Lodge far exceeded our expectations. Our room was large and extremely comfortable. Location and views were both very good. We received very attentive service both at reception and in the attached restaurant, which was lively and offered a good range of food and drink. The hotel was a short walk from the beautiful Lake Rotoiti, and this added to the overall attractiveness of the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jotheringman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

There are not many accommodation options in St Arnaud, which is a small village by the Nelson Lakes. This is one of the bigger Lodges and the rooms are a standard size, comfortable and functional. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The best this about this hotel is the food. We ate in the Cafe next door to the hotel and the chef there is a hidden gem! Basic food but all fresh ingredients - a must. We also had a BBQ at the hotel itself - again all the food was fantastic. You can walk to the lake from the hotel via a back gate and great walks are a short walk or car ride away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PixiBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Very nice place and very good value. There is a range of rooms from backpacker's to units with spa. There is also a good restaurant on site.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stopped here for 1 night on our road trip around the south island. St Arnaud was a good point to stop for us as it was a good 1 hr drive from Nelson and situated in some beautiful scenery.

Accommodation reminds me of something out of Canada. Nothing flash here, but quiet. Bugs are a bit of an issue down near the lake so take some aeroguard.

There is a restaurant which I think is the only one in the area as is does tend to fill up. Prices are a bit on the high side, probably because of the theory of supply and demand. However there is a fish and chip shop across the road which stays open til about 7.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Arnaud
16.3 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
23 reviews
3.9 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
4.9 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Lodge

Property: Alpine Lodge
Address: 75 Main Rd | Nelson Lakes National Park, Saint Arnaud, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alpine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Alpine Lodge is situated at the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park, only 5 minutes walk from Lake Rotoiti which offers a range of great outdoor pursuits. The Alpine Lodge's central location makes it an ideal base for exploring other attractions in the region such as the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks, wineries and arts and crafts in Nelson or Blenheim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Alpine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing