We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see in St. Arnaud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
Ranked #4 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
Oldenzaal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must see in St. Arnaud”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hospitality minded people! Excellent food and nice, clean and good looking accomodation! Last but not least awesome views on beautiful surrounding, definately reccomend the place. There are some nice walks around the place for both; beginners and advanced trampers. The owners are locals and can tell you lots about the area as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GijsRikhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dutchkiwi59, Owner at Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks for this wonderful review. As I am the new owner (as of 1 October 2012) of the Guesthouse, Cafe and Bar I have made changes to improve the food and make the stay in Tophouse Historic Guesthouse even more wonderful. Please see the TopHouse website for the improvements that have taken place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Grab one deal for $120 for 2 B&B & evening meal, normally $200...
Lovely views from pouch and bedroomed window, could see the mountains and asess the weather , lots of varied bird song in the am.
Smashing old fashioned, enormous open fire, we were only ones there which was good as we turned living room into a drying room. Food basic pub fair and good prices, sides such as soups and salad dressings VERY nice,you ave free access to plunger coffee and clean with a bit of history, and a ghost( did not make an apperence). Made 3 days snowboarding VERY easy, saved about $100 in fuel by not knotching up 200km per day, about 40 minutes from hotel to the top of Rainbow, perhaps the premier SNOWBOARDING club field in NZ

Room Tip: Blue room over looking Mont Robert, you are of dinnning room which has teh open fire, THE place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samceach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really nice historical pub. Cosy night in front of the fire. Delicious meal. Tiny bedroom but very comfortable bed. Had the place to ourselves. The hostess left for the night and said "lock the door behind me please. I'll be back at 1030 tomorrow if you're still here".
Spent two days doing short walks in St Arnaud. The bird life is fabulous.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed overnight at the Tophouse, including dinner and breakfast. The place is a lovely old accommodation house with a heap of history. We shared the weekend with a fun bunch and met some nice people. the dinner was lovely, and the rooms very cute.
The history is very interesting and Nigel the host is a great story-teller.

All in all a great weekend away - would recommend it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have doubles and some have singles - might be best not being directly off the dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Arrived here at night with a group and were delighted to find a historic fireplace and great dinner waiting for us.
Thanks Nigel for looking after us. Loved the history and the feel of this place, about an hour south of Nelson which is also pretty. From here it was only an hour's drive to the Marlborough vineyards so would highly recommend this spot as worth a night to enjoy the cozy feeling of your own historic homestead on the edge of the alps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whereisjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
343 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was so much fun. We surprised a group of friends going to the Marlborough wine region by pre-arranging a surprise diversion for a night at Tophouse B and B, which is a magnificent, historic homestead with big mud brick fireplace and a quaint tiny bar (the smallest in NZ).

When we flew into Nelson at dusk, we drove our 5 friends south an hour to St Arnaud without them noticing instead of east to Blenheim.

When they thought we were lost, Nigel the owner was magnificent when he came out and told them it was too late to drive anywhere else and there may be a few mattresses to spare!
The surprise was complete when our friends went inside to find a welcoming sign saying "Surprise" and dinner laid out for all of us in front of the historic big old fireplace.
And what a stay it was. Dinner was magnficent and the wild venison was so tender that I wished we had all ordered it.

The rooms were spacious and charming...they had their own heaters and the warmth of the fireplace filtered through the homestead.

Nigel was most entertaining as a raconteur, describing the murderous history of Tophouse from more than 100 years ago over the love of a woman. You can still see the shotgun pellets on the underside of an external roof near the cute little bar.

As another reviewer has mentioned, the small bar has an honour system and you can even pull your own delicious draught beers as well as enjoy the quality NZ wines waiting for you.

Tophouse B and B is history with a capital H and a reminder of days gone by when everything was uncomplicated and fresh.

A really lovely experience only an hour south of Nelson and 3 hours north of Christchurch.

Room Tip: All were historic and lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manager_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree NSW Australia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We can't comment on the dinners or accommodation (the rooms looked clean and olde-world but comfortable), but we did enjoy a lunch and two morning teas on three separate visits, and a couple of beers in the ultra-small bar (beers on tap, serve yourself). Sitting in front of the open fireplace and listening to the story of the on-site murders many, many years ago made for an enjoyable break between Nelson and Murchison. Very genial host. Take the time to try it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Arnaud
3.9 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
18.2 mi away
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
Lake Rotoroa Lodge
#5 of 5 in Murchison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.1 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar

Property: Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
Address: 68 Tophouse Road | Nelson Lakes, Saint Arnaud 7072, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TopHouse Historic Guesthouse offers accommodation, meals and drinks ( in NZ's smallest bar) to travellers and has done so since 1887. TopHouse is located on the edge of the Nelson Lakes National Park and offers fabulous mountain views from the guesthouse or from your veranda of your chalet. The Guesthouse has a home away from home atmosphere. It is steeped in history so come and experience the atmosphere and feel the warmth. The mountainview chalets are each self- contained and sleep a max. of 4 adults or a family of five. The Nelson Lakes National park is an outdoor persons delight with, boating, fishing, walks & hiking on your doorstep. In the area there is mountain biking, wineries, 4x4 tracks and more. The property is set amongst farmland and is a safe haven for young children. We have the best views to the mountain ranges. Retreat to your deck of your chalet or the garden terrace and watch the bunnies, cows, goats, sheep meander in the fields or read a good book in utter peace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing