We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Arnaud
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Arnaud House B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Saint Arnaud B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I together with another couple stayed with Russell and Margery and have to say it was a very cosy and warm. It was raining when we arrived and we were immediately offered coffee etc. Russell made the best coffee with his machine and I had a warming hot chocolate. The weather cleared and we made for the lake and did a great walk through the bush. It started to rain again and we went back to the B & B and the 4 of us agreed that if we had to be anywhere in the rain this was the most perfect place - warming fire,comfort lounges, great conversation with Russell and of course their lovely dog. Margery cooked us a delicious dinner. I also found Margery's quilt making very interesting and their Garden was beautiful. Would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Because we had friends travelling with us we gave them the room with a large bedroom - our bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell C, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Thanks Margery and myself enjoyed your company and the great conversations we had over dinner. Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 85 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

Russell & Marjorie are truly the B&B Kings & Queens!!!
We used their beautiful home as a base while conducting the "Travers-Sabine Loop" tramp. (4 nights)
We arrived after doing the Abel Tasman (kayaking / tramping for a week) and much to our delight Marjorie went out of her way to make our adventures that little more comfortable by doing all our washing! This luxury cannot be understated!
Russell on the other hand was amazing!
He knows pretty well everyone in the region & is even in the local Search & Rescue Services. As such he lent us his own EPIRB and set us up with a "Notice of Intentions" (DOC) documentation as well as getting us water taxis and vehicle transport.
Put in a nutshell, nothing was too much trouble!
And the food!!!! My goodness, The Food!
In addition to truly 5-Star breakfasts & barista coffees on call (Made by Russell!) we took liberty in also being provided amazing evening meals at a very reasonable additional cost which in the scheme of things, was basically an investment in our wellbeing!

For the slightly increased cost as compared to backpackers, St Arnaud House, is THE place to stay! (No matter what your activities!) A truly beautiful home and a beautiful family!

Jim & Gwendolyn (Honeymooners from Darwin)...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I live in Arizona, USA. We made a reservation the day before and ended up staying an extra night. Our hosts go above and beyond. They are so helpful and friendly and the food!!! Margery's food was the best we'd had on our 16 day New Zealand visit. I highly, highly recommend St. Arnaud house. You cannot get any better. Thanks again Russell and Margery We WILL see you again. Cheers---Scott and Leslie

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lammie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwiman-09, Owner at St Arnaud House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2012

Thank you Scott & Leslie,
For your great review. It really was our pleasure having you stay at St Arnaud house, Margery and I really enjoyed your company and the great discussions that we all had over dinner.
Thanks again and hope to see you sometime into the future.
Russell and Margery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

One of the best evenings of our holiday! Super food and very genial company.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I booked St Arnaud House as a mid point between the ferry at Picton and the scenic west coast. But it's far more than that. We were welcomed by our hosts and made to feel right at home. Our 8 year old daughter had a fantastic time and enjoyed the beautiful walk to the lake to feed the ducks and the eels! Margery is a great cook who uses fresh ingredients to make tasty meals. All the home made jams, chutneys and sauces were a treat and we felt thoroughly spoilt by their hospitality and friendliness. The room we had was perfect for the 3 of us - it's not large, but certainly is clean and comfortable.
My only problem is I'm allergic to cats and they do live in the house. Whilst I don't think they're allowed upstairs, I was effected by them at night.
However overall, I would definitely recommend this B&B - and it does make a great half way point to the West Coast!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

St. Arnaud house is situated right in the beech forest, so close to the lake, the closest neighbours being the bellbirds and the tuis. Russell and Margery were the most attentive hosts making us feel extremely welcome and giving us a very special holiday. Our room was exquisite with great attention to detail and marvellous views of the mountains through the skylights. After a long day's walking to return to good conversation, a glass of wine and a wonderful dinner (cooked by Margery) added to our overall enjoyment. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 566Toots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

A wonderful wonderful place located at a wonderful location it is in a secluded spot that gives you the filling you are in the middle of the forest and yet within 10 minutes walk you are at the lake and all the activities are near by.

The rooms are specious the beds are very comfortable with view to the forest or the mountains - depending on the room 100% cotton sheets with worm duvet as well as electric blankets.

The en-suit shower is very specious and you have everything you need.

the leaving area is big and comfortable.

Breakfast is cooked to your liking by Margurie (an artist in the kitchen) it varies between cooked English breakfast (bacon and eggs - Rassuls favorite choose it if you can :)) as well as muesli and freshly backed muffins - and of course don't miss Russles delicious coffee!!

Dinners are as good but wait for the desserts (puddings...) non stop feast!!!

But the most important feature of this place are your hosts a warm couple that makes you feel at home right away and is very helpful and kind which made me feel like I'm staying with close family or old friends - after 5 days there it was very hard to leave for the rest of my trip :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Arnaud hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge
Alpine Lodge
#1 of 1 in Saint Arnaud
240 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tophouse Historic Guesthouse Cafe & Bar
0.3 mi away
Avarest B & B
Avarest B & B
#3 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Wairau B&B
Wairau B&B
#1 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kikiwa Lodge
Kikiwa Lodge
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
9 reviews
2.3 mi away
Nelson Lakes Home Stay
Nelson Lakes Home Stay
#4 of 5 in Saint Arnaud
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Arnaud House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Arnaud House B&B

Address: 4 Holland Street | PO Box 88 St Arnaud, Tasman, Saint Arnaud 7053, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Saint Arnaud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Arnaud
Price Range: $150 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Arnaud House is a boutique sub-alpine Hosted bed and breakfast lodge nestled amongst native beech forest and its abundant bird life. We are within easy strolling distance to Lake Rotoiti the gateway to the Nelson Lakes National park We have three queen bedrooms available, all with en-suite bathrooms. Wireless broadband internet, evening meals are available by prior arrangement. St Arnaud House is heated by log fires and heat pump, making for cosy warm evenings in the winter. Whether you desire a romantic break or adventure holiday, or just yearning for fresh mountain air, St. Arnaud House is the perfect location.Come warm your toes in front of the log-burner after a great day's hiking, fishing or skiing. relax with a great espresso coffee, Please contact us for one of Margery's superb home cooked evening dinners, which includes a complimentary glass of wine are available by prior arrangement.)Russell & Margery, our Burmese cats, Pug & Chilli and Poodle, Ruby, look forward to welcoming you into our home and sharing our wonderful location with you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing