We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zanzibar Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sankt Jorgen Park(Gothenburg)
$245
$237
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elisero Hotell(Gothenburg)
$163
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scandic Backadal(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$156
Stenungsbaden
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Winn(Gothenburg)(Great Value!)
$150
$104
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kville Hotel(Gothenburg)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
3
6
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
3
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 14 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I agree with some other reviewers that the place is unusual and the atmosphere is friendly. I also agree that it is kind of clean and tidy. However, the nice things end here, and all the fuss about the place you can read on the website, or that is claimed by the owner, is grossly overrating. The place is just an improvised arrangement, with scarce facilities (e.g. scarce bathrooms, scarce sitting place, scarce breakfast arrangements). I can not define the place a real hospitality structure, nor a B&B.
So, those that decide to stay at Zanzibar B&B will have to make their own bed (with rented sheets for 100 SEK), stay in line for the bathrooms, sleep with the noise of the road to Marstrand, and (try) to make their own breakfast. All of this in the middle of the other activities of the owner. If you want, you can try to have something from the overpriced "café´" (a re-arranged home kitchen).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maubett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is an interesting property with a very enthusiastic owner. She was very busy with lots of new visitors just as we arrived. we looked round the garden and the smokery while we waited. You have to make up your own beds which were very comfortable. Our room was in the main house, there are 2. On the first floor via a new staircase our large room had lots of sloping roofs and a large beam across the room dividing the double bed area from 3 singles, a little inconvenient to climb over in the dark. The whole house is decorated with African materials and ornaments, as the owner runs safaris abroad.
As other people have mentioned there is only one shared bathroom in each house on the ground floor.
We enjoyed a freshly prepared lunch of home smoked salmon and prawns with a range of sauces and baked potatoes and bread, delicious! Breakfast was also good with a variety of fresh meats and fish on offer as well as cereal and juice and coffee or tea, a little queuing required. Beware the delicious coffee and cardamom at bedtime,you won't sleep. Everything was very relaxed and friendly.
The house is only a 10 minute walk from the sea and harbour marina where there can be seen fantastic sunsets and 180 degree view of the island opposite. Marstrand is 9 km drive away across several island bridges, all very scenic.

Room Tip: Possibly more accessible in house 2 which is more modern than the owners own house and more convenient, but lots of atmosphere in the suite.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

On a rainy day we spontanously dropped into zanzibar b&b and were welcomed very warm and friendly - lucky to receive the last free room, which was real cosy and spacious. We were also provided with a warm self-made lunch - and in the evening with a delicous meal of self-made fresh salmon and crabs. Last not least the outstanding self-made sauces!
The familiar atmosphere during dinner also supported nice contacts between the guests - by the end of the meal we all sat around one "german table" talking and being served with drinks...

A trip to Göteburg from Tjuvkil is half an hour drive by car - so the accomodation is ideal for a day trip into the city and also for enjoying the nice suroundings at marstrand.

We stayed two days and felt nearly as friends when we left, not as strangers. Most at all we enjoyed the warm friendly atmosphere, which made us feel home from the beginning - I would recommend zanzibar b&b to everybody who likes uncomplicated friendly surroundings and flexibility (e.g. breakfast was prepared by ourselves with the provided food in the kitchen - so there was no time regulation until what time it had to be taken).

All together the house, rooms, food, service and cleanliness were up to a very high standard and totally meeting our needs and requirements.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenMenzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Everything could be perfect but ...

Our bedroom were at about less than 10 meters from the main road to Marstrand so very noisy
There is for 15 beds :
- only one bathroom
- only one toilet inside the bathroom
- a kitchen with 4 seats
Then you must be patient for everything !

You have to make your bed and prepare the breakfast with frozen bread. Everything is planned to facilitate the owner' s tasks.
Caution, you have to pay in advance.
Last but not the least, the B&B is selled as an ecological place but it's only a nice house with a large garden and flowers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dkim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We found this place on visit Sweden website, but were reluctant to book online due to the lack of photos on the website and the policy of requesting up front payment. However, once we got here we dropped by to check it out, and the place is beautiful. There is one house with three rooms in it, and a few other rooms in the other house. We are in the yellow room, which is large and comfortable with a big double bed (not so common in Sweden). The place is beautiful and also only 9km from Marstrand on the Swedish coast, which is an incredible place. Howver, Marstrand is actualy an island and cars are not allowed so this place is actually a very convenient compromise location. The only downside is that the house has only one shared bathroom for the three rooms. They also have a restaurant and serve a wonderful salmon plate with smoked salmon and shrimp.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lyra-Belaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews