We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of Pyrgos Restaurant

Pyrgos Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Perfect Wedding Venue”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We got married at Pyrgos on 7th September 2013. We had the ceremony and reception there and it was perfect!!

We used Nina at Pro Support (info@pro-support.gr) as our Wedding Planner who liaised with Artemis, who is the Owner of Pyrgos Taverna. We arranged almost everything in advance via email and then had a final meeting with Artemis once we arrived in Santorini. This allowed us to talk through the order of events, meet the staff who would look after us on the day and even sample of the food to make sure we were completely happy.

Artemis is a very lovely man and made an exceptional effort to make us feel welcome. He could not do enough for us and constantly repeated to us that "anything we need, just ask". The way he conducted the event and his staff made us feel like royalty. Gabriel was our Head Waiter and he was also fantastic, very professional and a great laugh too!

Room - We chose Aghia (St) Fotini Hall for our reception. This is on the lower level and allowed us to have our own private terrace for the ceremony, we then opened up the bi-fold glass doors to extend the bar to the outside area (wind permitting!) for the champagne reception. We also arranged for outdoor speakers for ceremony and backing music before coming indoors for the meal. We then used the built in sound system to play music through our iPod. (We don't like cheesy DJ's!). The room was large enough to easily accommodate our 40 guests, plus the Greek band and dancers - and even room for dancing! Artemis gave us the choice of rooms when we arrived, which ensured we were totally happy with our decision.

Food - We chose Menu 2 which was a mixed greek starter, a choice of Kleftiko, Special Pork, Swordfish or Chicken for main and Wedding Cake and grapes for dessert. It was all beautiful and we had some very good compliments from our guests to back it up.

Drinks - We chose the sparkling wine and Strawberry reception after the ceremony, which was also gorgeous. The wine was particularly nice - better than some of the champagne we had in Santorini. We also bought champagne for the toasts and a drinks package, to provide wine for the tables during the meal. Artemis is very flexible on your requirements and can make changes right up to the wedding, if you desire.

Views and Photography - We had all of our photo's taken at the Taverna which provided views our across the island and the sea. The photo's look stunning and were exactly what we needed. If you want views of just the sea and sky, then go to Imerovigli or Oia. If you would like to capture the island and buildings too, then this is the place to be.

Overall, the setting, the food, the mood and the staff made this a perfect wedding venue!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisAnderson1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    102
    29
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You must try it”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

ONE OF THE BEST TAVERNA we have visited IN SANTORINI. Service is great, food as well, the view from the Taverna is marvelous, the garden spectacular, not expensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SGM2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We found this restaurant by an accident but this was one of the best places that we discovered that day. I stronly reccomend the fava and the tomato balls (tomatokeftedes) as well as the eggplant salad and mousaka. Everything was just delicious!!!! We liked it so much that we went there again. The waiter recognized us and gave us the same table which was a pleasent surprise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vendy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great food, great staff, great location”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Pyrgo Restaurant, in Pyrgos Santorini is the perfect place to hold a wedding reception/party. The owner, Artemis, promised us a fantastic evening to remember and he and his staff delivered and more. From the welcome drinks, the sit down meal and then partying until 2am everything went like clockwork. We also had a meal at the Pyrgos a few days after the wedding and we were welcomed like family. The food was excellent abd again the service was spot on.
If you or someone you know are planning a wedding in Santorini you simple must hold the reception at the Pyrgos. You will remember the experience forever. Thank you Artemis and your team.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bruvrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely wedding venue”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were quests at a wedding in mid August. The reception was held, here, in the upstairs round room. The entranceway, to the restaurant, is so nice with the grapevines and old windmill. The view of the island was amazing, especially since it was during rotating blackouts and we could see the hydro coming and going around the island. The sunset was as nice here as in Oia. The strawberries were so sweet and juicy. The food was well presented and very tasty. Thank goodness for generators. We were only in total darkness for 30 seconds.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0MandDAUGHTER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pyrgos Restaurant also viewed

 
Pyrgos, Santorini
Pyrgos, Santorini
 
Pyrgos, Santorini
Pyrgos, Santorini
 

Been to Pyrgos Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing