We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
114
105
63
33
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
105
63
33
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful poolpool areano wifi in the roomscentral locationthe hotel staffdelightful hotelloft bedroomreception deskbreakfast was includedblack beachhotel restaurantlovely little placean absoluteenjoyable stayout of the waybeautiful islandhustle bustle
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 351 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

And so begins post holiday blues.
After staying for a week I am so sad to have left its peacefulness.
Pros: the staff and location. Whether it was adding extra pillows, borrowing us towels, helping find a lost item, or even free crisps to go with the bottle of wine they opened for us which we brought from outside the hotel, nothing was too much for the staff here- that's what makes you remember a place.
The view of the caldera and pool with the sunset was amazing from room 211. Wonderful balcony and clean.
Location to pyrgos is ideal, a ten min walk to village or to santo wines in opposite direction.
Cons: shower curtain rather than screen- but some rooms do have them- however I am used to this in Europe so no big issue- as long as you have a hot shower what does it matter!
Some other reviews here have mentioned the wind- it's on the edge of the caldera - of course there is wind!good job too or you'd not cope with the heat!!! There are also the caldera winds which last for two months annually which is very breezy but do research and go at another time!
Highly highly recommend and thank all of the staff for making our holiday do memorable and special

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathrynpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Reading some of the most recent reviews, they sum up the status for Orizontes both positive and negative.
What is advertised as a 4 star boutique hotel - may very well have been one - but is sadly not so any more. The location is excellent - especially if You are arriving/departing Santorini by plane or boat, as the hotel is situated halfway between the port and the airport. It has a magnificent view, nestled on top of he island - you can see the entire island from here. This of course, also makes it a windy place.
The hotel seems to be understaffed - and we were not quite sure who was actually working here - as none of the staff had uniforms or name badges. But those we did meet - were most helpful and forthcoming.
The room we had - and by the look of the rest of the hotel - is in a desperate need of attention.
Our room was just above the reception - facing the street. The traffic outside did not disturb us much as the aircondition unit inside which seemed to be competing with the dripping in the washbasin and bathtub in the bathroom on making most noise. -Fortunately, we could close the door to the bathroom...
There are numerous defects and lackings in the room and bathroom, such as
-no showercurtain (which means the entire bathroom gets wet),
-the toiletpaper holder was broken, so the paper rolls were put on top of the garbage bin
-the drying string had no string, so you could not dry clothes indoors
-the electric mirror had no socket to plug into, so there was no light in it (the cord was just hanging down)
-the faucet and armature has scaled off and looks rusty
-both the faucet in the sink as well as the one in the shower was continuously dripping
etc etc.
Outside, there is what could be a nice garden, but paint is scaling off, tiles around the pool are loose and broken, the deck around the pool is coming apart and loose screws are coming out (so don´t go barefoot), furniture is partly broken or has damages.

Very sad that is has been so poorly maintained - with a closer attention to details and maintenance - including some fresh paint and redecorating, this could have been a four star boutique hotel.

Breakfast is not much to write home about. We did not se anyone working at breakfast - but there was food put out covered with plastic foil. Not too appetizing. Cutlery and crockery was labeled with a different hotels name...

There seems to be a spacious restaurant inside, but this was closed off (Closed down?).

Lobby is ok - but when entering you have a deja-vu, "Have I not seen this before?" Oh yes - Probably in a spanish town hotel in the heydays of charter tourism...

And as a previous review mentions; WIFI is only available in the common areas - but free of charge.

So in short terms; It has potencial - but needs immediate attention for renovation and redecorations before it falls apart completely!

Room Tip: Book a room facing west (away from the street - facing the pool and the sunset)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stordalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I see that I'm not the only one thinking that this Hotel should be a 3 stars and not a 4.

We spent 10 days there.
The hotel has a huge potential but it seems they don't care about it.

Our room was the 302.

Bad Points
1 - we paid 10 euros extra per day because we wanted to change the room (we wanted a balcony) and they even charged us for 10 nights when we spent 9 nights in that room. luckily I realized it.
2 - The window was shaking all the time because of the wind. We live in Sweden and sometimes you can't even walk for the wind but no windows shaking.
3 as consequence, when you open the window
A - you can hardly open the door
B - the door keep making a noise as somebody is knocking all the time so every time I had to put some paper under it
4 the toilet was incredibly small and the shover almost impossible to open.
5 salt water in the shower
6 dust everywhere
7 the cleaning lady was not cleaning but just making the bed
8 I ask if it was possible to change the light bulb in the toilette and in the end I change it by my self the day after
9 the breakfast is definitely not a 4 stars hotel breakfast
10 wifi is awful.
11 short staff
12 small fridge in the room that we had to unplug during the night for the noise
13 we had stained towels with some rust on it.

Good points
1 situated in the middle of the island in a beautiful place. With a scooter o a car you are half away from everything
2 amazing view
3 nice pool
4 Excellent service from Leonidas: he almost gave us his soul. He helped every person in the hotel giving suggestions about Santorini. Wonderful
5 Marina at the bar was also very helpful
6 we had 2 televisions in the room. One very old and one almost new but still: they were 2.
7 if you are looking for peace and quiet this is your hotel. When was fully booked there were no noise

In the end I would like to suggest them to fix the hotel because we both think that it's a beautiful place but they don't care about the details.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaoandrewC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

There are good points about this hotel, don’t get me wrong.
In general terms I would rate this hotel at a place with great potential but at the moment it lacks of maintenance.
I guess, it all depends on how much you pay for the stay as it should not be above the rate charged by a 3 star hotel in the area and for the pictures, the hotel is not what you see on the pictures appart from the pool area.
We’ve stayed in this hotel for more than a week.

The good points:
• Excellent reception (day and night) and management staff, lovely people.
• Lovely view and pool.
• If you have a car, you are in a central position of the island and it is easy to visit it.

The bad points:
• Wi-Fi only in central areas and a bit unreliable.
• Breakfast staff shortage (there is only one person serving but this lady is there all the time hand washing the cutlery plus the hotel manager clearing the tables) you can see the owners sometimes in the Breakfast area, but they come to have their own breakfast, not to help!
• Breakfast is not good for a 4 star hotel (the coffee is horrible, only one “orange” color drink available as Juice, the butter is melted and not maintained at the right temperature, no fruits, no hot chocolate for children or any yogurt apart for Greek yogurt in a non so well maintained temperature, the rest is boring…very boring).
• The hotel seems a Gost place, the pool is most of the time empty because of the wind and we didn’t risk eating lunch there as we were wondering who will be cooking it.
• Sometimes you see the tables near the pool full of empty bottles and glasses as the staff will not leave the bar during the day to collect used glasses, bottles or plates.
• The rooms are not “boutique” they need updating, there was humidity on the walls of the one we’ve stayed, an old TV is hanging on the wall in a very precarious way, only one or two channels available, there is a small fridge in the room, but don’t expect to find glasses or bottle openers or minibar and the toiletries are basic just a soap and a cheap shampoo .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We just got home from Orizontes. Like all hotels, it has it's good and bad points.

Good: The pool is amazing. The people are nice enough. The breakfast is good. I had the best sleep there.

Bad: The food experience was horrible. No matter what we wanted, they were out of it. Every day went a little like this: "Can I have a chicken club?" "No - we are out of chicken" "When can I get some chicken?" "this is an island so we have to wait". "Will you have chicken in a couple of days?" "Probably not." "Can I have a mojito?" "No we don't have limes." "Okay - just a beer" "Sorry we're out"
The location is not great - if you are suicidal - you can walk to the town up the road - otherwise, just take a taxi or bus to Kamari or Fira.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2girlsinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews