We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
StayForLong
Destinia.com
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
156
62
21
25
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
62
21
25
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view his team mansion village sunset oia island christopher suite greek mainstream caldera jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 298 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2017

On arrival, you'll be greeted by a man with a pack-mule; by the end of your trip, you'll become one.

Usually, when visiting the Greek islands, you'd pack your flip-flops/slippers/etc. and prepare for a relaxing day, lazing by the waves. This is far from the case if you foolishly choose to stay at Zannos. You must be prepared to climb up and down its cobbled, winding, slippery maze of a path to the main-street at least once a day to reach anything worthwhile, in which case forget the flip-flops, you could twist an ankle wearing sneakers!

Most rooms of the hotel also require a short, steep climb to get to and from, and seem to merge with the rest of the village. And the borderline rude reception staff don't help soften the blow of your tragic hotel choice.

So if you don't find the village charming, and do not look forward to a daily hike, for the love of all you hold dear, stay away.

P.S. if you plan on traveling with family, I hope the poor soul that is condemned to sleeping on the rickety, painful sofa-bed finds the mercy to forgive you.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ferdin4nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous week with my husband .
I found this hotel by extensive research as I wanted something boutique and a bit different . And that is what we got. After arriving at the town we were then transferred from taxi to donkey. Admittedly this was not my favourite bit and I did become very emotional about the donkey taking our bags but I was reassured by many that it's fine. The hotel is situated up a very steep hill through countless alley ways with a castle upon the top.
Our room was the lead in room which is actually underground with little natural light and a handheld shower. Again I was apprehensive at this stage but I must say we have never slept better in our lives! The bed was comfy and the room kept cool. We wished we could bottle our sleep!
The staff could not do enough for us. It was truly a 5* concierge service . That is what made it for us . The breakfast menu was interesting but I became obsessed with the Greek yoghurt! The little pool like a private villa at times. It was windy so we did not go in but it was bliss to just lay there.
We did explore the island via quad bike and that was great fun but honestly pygros was by the best place to be and we loved our little restaurant at the bottom of the hill .
Would we go back? Absolutely in a heartbeat. It was so romantic and even though it was not an anniversary or honeymoon you couldn't help but feel how much extra special it would be if it was . We loved it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We had booked a honeymoon suite and were immediately schocked when we were taken to our room. The suite was nothing at all like the description and pictures at the internet site. Very dark, dirty (stained pillows and poufs "because the guests put their suitcases on them"), small and with a noisy aircondition, minimal wardrobe space and lacking the amenities shown or described at the internet site (no coffee making facilities, no bathtub, just one large room with a bed instead of an "open plan bedroom with livingroom", no CD/DVD player, very low quality bathroom amenties (not the Korres showed at the internet site) and old furniture plus no windows. We immediately said that we were not at all happy with this room and was taken to see another alternative. This was slightly larger but again lacking the facilities and decor that we thought that we had booked. When referring to the pictures we had seen, we were told that these were other room categories. When asking about lacking facilities compared to the descriptions, we were told that "I do not know why they put that in there". Also the private terrasse with jacuzzi was not connected to the room, one had to walk away from the room and up some stairs to get to them. Not at all what we had expected! Later on we were taken to see a third honeymoon suite which was better in terms of size and decor and had a terrasse with whirlpool which could be accessed from the suite. As we had prepaid (don`t do!!), we accepted this suite. It had writing desk, bathtub and the CD/DVD player, but no coffee making facilities. We asked for this to be brought, got a water boiler and cups plus milk very quickly, but no refill of cups and milk later on, even after asking so we gave that up. As mentioned the last suite had a bath tub, but no separate shower or place to hang the shower head so we had to sit in the bath help each other to shower with water all over the floor every time. Hair dryer was stuck to the wall and could hardly be used. No separate electicity outtake in the bathroom so had to plug in my items in another part of the room where there was no mirror. Small and hard towels, no place to put the soap next to the sink. Only one glass for toothbrush, other one just had the standard on the wall but glass was missing. Housekeeping did not take away used glasses, left them standing next to the bed. Also didn`t clean stains on the table. No turndown service. Pool small with a great view, but few chairs, no service including often no towels to use. There was a phone to ring for service and that worked, but really not good enough for a hotel which wants to be luxury.

Positives: Pyrgos is a very charming village and the hotel had good location with several great restaurants within walking distance (Cava Alta, Metaximas, Anemoloo), nice view, friendly welcome with welcome drink, fruit and wine, beautiful old main building, good bakery basket for breakfast, fresh and different every morning, Hotel helpful in organising transportation to different beaches and restaurants.

We paid more than 500 euros per night and found that to be terribly overpriced. A daily rate of 200 euro for the honeymoon suite and a 3 star rating for this hotel would have been appropriate.

Room tip: If you really want to stay here in spite of my review, ask for a correct description and current pictures of the specific room you book.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Musken
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile

This hotel is so strange - spread out laterally across part of the hill in Pyrgos - but it grew on me enormously. I was in Santorini to catch a flight (literally), and I ended up staying here for three days. While I am not excited about Santorini (anymore, thanks to the overdeveloped tourism), Pyrgos is lovely and Zannos - peaceful, clean, gorgeously situated - is fantastic. I spent most of my time outside, enjoying the view and the various pools and lounge areas.

It should be said that the staff at Zannos is top notch. Really thoughtful, helpful, and professional. While I started out being skeptical of the place (plus, I kept getting lost because of a town designed to fool pirates (!), it ended up being a highlight of my trip. I would definitely go back. Zannos saved over-crowded Santorini for me.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank marthas811
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We stayed here in August 2017, and being our first holiday in 20 years without the children it was a real treat. The hotel organised airport transfers for us, along with luggage collection, car hire and a boat trip. They couldn't do enough for us. Everyone, without exception was friendly, helpful and efficient and everyone spoke perfect English. Despite it 19th century opulence, which made me think we would have difficulty relaxing and being ourselves, people were really relaxed and informal and we were left to do what we wanted when we wanted. The hotel is set high on a hill in a very traditional part of town. There are numerous places to eat nearby and the walk back from the small centre below does get the heart pumping but nothing too strenuous. Rooms were clean and functional with air-conditioning and beautifully decorated. Would definitely go again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews