We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
StayForLong
Vio.com
Destinia.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
156
62
21
25
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
156
62
21
25
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful view his team mansion village sunset oia island christopher suite greek mainstream caldera jacuzzi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 298 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

We stayed here in August 2017, and being our first holiday in 20 years without the children it was a real treat. The hotel organised airport transfers for us, along with luggage collection, car hire and a boat trip. They couldn't do enough for us. Everyone, without exception was friendly, helpful and efficient and everyone spoke perfect English. Despite it 19th century opulence, which made me think we would have difficulty relaxing and being ourselves, people were really relaxed and informal and we were left to do what we wanted when we wanted. The hotel is set high on a hill in a very traditional part of town. There are numerous places to eat nearby and the walk back from the small centre below does get the heart pumping but nothing too strenuous. Rooms were clean and functional with air-conditioning and beautifully decorated. Would definitely go again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Pos.: Beautiful main building, spacious and clean rooms (some are in the main building, some in surrounding cave dwellings), great location in Pyrgos, beautiful views of the island, friendly staff.
Neg.: Communication via e-mail is sometimes ignored. Better to communicate via telephone.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

A difficult hotel to review. The building is spectacular, a fine old mansion that we were told was the summer home of the Tsar of Russia's sister, she was in residence when the revolution started, which saved her life.
Obviously beautifully appointed with original fabulous ceilings. About 15 rooms, some built into the mountainside. Nearly all with spectacular views. All very private many with dip pools. The rooms are modern and comfortable. The restaurant is to a very high standard with an interesting menu. The staff are delightful.
Only one small incident let them down. We had a lovely suite, with a very nice large lounge right beside the very clean swimming pool. Really like being at home. After dinner we often felt like cuddling up on the comfortable sofa to chat or to read. Sadly reading was not an option as the 30 foot long room was lit by 60 watt lamps in each corner, and the sofa is in the middle of one side. I asked in reception if we could have another light for reading and was told that the lighting was "mood".
It really was as we called it the "Temple of Gloom. "
Otherwise a great stay.
The difficulty is in describing the lovely village. It certainly will not suite everyone. Wheel chair users will struggle greatly. It is charming but very unusual. You can't get a car within a half mile. The natural barrier is that none of the paths within the village are wide enough to take cars and practically every corner is a 90degree which no cars could navigate. All the streets are steep and require a good degree of mobility to climb the cobbled sloping steps. BUT very worth the effort. There is no real shopping to speak of but there are many small bars and restaurants that serve delicious simple local food. Ten tables is about the average size. All worth visiting.
During the day several coach trips bring in tourists but it never seems crowded. At night the village is almost deserted which is lovely. You can often walk the few hundred yards to a restaurant without encountering anyone. If you are looking to unwind or spend quality time with someone go to this village and Hotel.
There are many fantastic walks along the coast and up the hills. A walkers paradise. A short drive to the towns of Oia and Fira , the latter has all the expected attractions that will suite all ages, clubs etc, and busy!
Fantastic sunsets and no crowds.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank GarryGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

I certainty say that is the worst hotel 5 stars in whom has never been during my trips.
The bedroom such not was.
It had not windows or points light. There was not a guard-robe but almost 1 meter of bar placed in a restricted bow. I think that the room was been originally an old and humid deposit.
The bathroom had the wc-button broken as well the door made by glass and without any pulldown on. Our little terrace with small jacuzzi had not a table so when we ordered aperitif we had to stay all the time with dishes on legs.
The restaurant was very terrible. The food was so awful and the service shoddy maybe because there was just one waitress and another one was, at the same time, receptionist and concierge. Probably it should have 3 stars.

Date of stay: July 2017
1  Thank Licia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I've read the reviews for this hotel with interest and I hope I can add something helpful to them.

One of the first things to say is that it’s clear there have been some significant recent changes at the hotel (in the last year or so) so you shouldn't judge the place on reviews from 2016 or earlier. And there is also a building that is being developed next to the pool area which looks like some additional space coming soon - I forgot to ask about this but it is worth keeping an eye out for expansion and what this will mean in terms of options and the feel of the place.

My recent experience (July 2017) was excellent and of a great staff team who are really trying to provide guests with a great holiday. They had got the balance right, in my view, of being helpful without being intrusive. Plan a stay here if you like being isolated (but not cut off) from the mad crowds elsewhere but with the complete freedom to choose from easy access to any place on the island together with a great local selection of restaurants and time to feel as though you have completely escaped from the rat race.

One important thing to appreciate is that this is an authentic Greek hotel which is beautifully crafted into the local natural resources. You have to walk up cobbled steps (quite a few of them) to get to the hotel but it does get easier and feel closer every day. And there is a donkey (Marco) who carries your bags if there are two or more of you and a member of staff (Victor) who carries single bags - on his shoulder whatever the weight - that guy (and this donkey) must be fit! This is part of the immediate charm of the place. Rooms are inevitably quirky with a variety of rooms dotted about on the hillside. There is no road access. You need to get off your bum and explore but, trust me, this isn’t difficult to do and it’s worth it!

The rooms were serviced swiftly and efficiently. Queries were dealt with courteously and thoughtfully. The hotel felt spacious even when there must have been a number of guests milling about – it still felt as though we had space and privacy. The small staff team worked hard and dealt with queries and requests with consideration and genuine interest.

We spent our days very happily – the hotel has a driver and you can engage him (at reasonable cost) to take and collect you to a variety of places. We arranged trips to Oia, Fira and local vineyards through the hotel. Or you can put together days based around the hotel – pool time, local exploration, picnic lunches on great, fresh Greek fare (bakery and mini-market in Pyrgos for local bread, tomatoes, wine etc.) and an abundant supply of eateries for dinners. There are at least 6 good places to eat within easy staggering distance of the hotel gate – and if you’re prepared to stagger just a little further probably about a dozen good places to try.

On balance, a very solid recommendation from me. And a truly Greek experience.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mary_from_Mordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews