We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were able to spend 4 great nights in the Zannos Melathron Hotel. It was so good, we didn't want to leave. The staff is extremely accommodating. You see the same faces all the time. It's like you're visiting their home. This hotel has a bed and breakfast feel to it even though the rooms are spaced nicely. Bring your walking shoes when you visit Zannos as it is up on a hill. They'll send a donkey for your luggage to get up the hill. Once you're up, the views are breathtaking. Zannos is close to Central Square where you can pick up the bus for Fira. Be sure to follow the white arrows on the ground, or you will get lost. We were going to rent a car, but decided to try the bus system instead and it was the right choice. We only had breakfast at Zannos, but they offer meals all day and we heard they were very good. We would definitely visit Zannos Melathron again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ejwaldman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    43
    16
    14
    12
See reviews for
26
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Ann, MA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Mesmerizing views. Staff could not be more helpful. Great rooms, excellent air conditioning, in-room bar, spa (massage therapist), pool, sunning areas. Manager (Vladimir) is a fount of information about great things to do (e.g., guided car with Vladimir, caldera catamaran cruise, etc.). Front desk (Betty) knowledgeable and helpful and terrific. Servers (Maria and Alex) are exemplary. Food is good, but menu is limited. Restaurant has a million dollar view. Since we were there for 10 days, we did have a special dinner arranged--outstanding fresh local fish, soup, etc.
Pyrgos is a lovely small village with nice restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: One note of caution. The hotel is at the top of a long, steep set(s) of stairs (hence the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulZCapeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent a lovely week at the very quiet and beautiful Zannos Melathron hotel. I share many similar comments to other reviewers - the pool is cold but very refreshing when you're in, there are lots of steps to go anywhere and there is a hotel donkey to take your luggage up and down to the town square - all very unique to this Hotel!. The staff were were really friendly and helpful (much more so than in other good hotels I have been to) and helped organise a hire car for us. We did end up with one of the "cave" rooms which did end up feeling a bit clammy but we couldn't be bothered to move rooms once we had noticed. The full restaurant food in the evening was unbelievably expensive so we did eat out at the local tavernas instead which is what we prefer anyway. I get the impression it is always a bit windy on this island so take something slightly warm to wear in the evenings. The spa is located in the vaults and was not my idea of a luxury retreat so I avoided that (& the jacuzzi was also freezing). Very amusingly different place!

Room Tip: Go for a room with windows:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The castle is in the top of the montain in tthe very old and historic town of Pirgus that is very interesting and historic city of Santorini the manager and the people from the hotel are very friendly and professional , they recommwnd to me a guide that show me by car the must important
Places , was very easy way to know de island .
I had a lovely time .
I

Room Tip: The room into the castle are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALICIAAdriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed in many Relais & Chateaux hotels around the world. We have come to expect a certain standard which was sadly let down in this case. We did not enjoy our stay at Zannos Melathrin.
Firstly, the service. The wonderful staff that others commented on were sadly absent. Emails I had sent in the lead up to our stay were not answered promptly and I had to make a telephone call to follow up. We were offered a 12.30 pm check-in but had to wait until 1.30pm to access our room.
The room - this was a Junior suite (entry-level as Vladimir pointed out) was basic at best. The hair dryer was one of those horrors fixed to the wall. The bed was just a standard double and uncomfortable. Our terrace wasn't private, but shared with several other rooms. The toiletries weren't nice - a conditioning shampoo? There were no tea/coffee making facilities.
My partner had a bath. When he pulled the plug out, water rose from the drain in the floor. By the time he noticed, much of the room was flooded. He asked me to ring and report it while he got busy with towels. The telephone wasn't working and I had to fiddle with connections to make the call. When someone came to fix the drain, I went to let him in and slipped in the water, falling heavily on the stone floor onto my knee. When I opened the door, the handle came off in my hand.
I elevated my knee and asked for ice. The man provided that and then cleared the drain and then spent a long time cleaning up.
There are only seven rooms in this hotel. Surely management were aware of the problems we experienced in our suite. They should have apologised. No comment was made. We don't complain. We vote with our feet and in reviews.
It certainly didn't help our mood that the wind was absolutely howling for the duration of our stay. Outdoor furniture was being flung around the terraces. Not nice.
Positives? Breakfast was nice although the music - pop Greek - was intrusive.
There was a turn-down service. Fruit and wine was in our room on arrival, although a request to change the bottle of red for a white was curtly refused.
We were already staying in Oia in a cave-house apartment for two weeks. This stay in Pyrgos was meant to be just a night away in a different town - a bit of a treat. I'm glad now that our request for a late checkout was denied. We were glad to get out of there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I was staying at Zannos (cool name) in June 2012 for one week with my girlfriend, and we had a lovely stay. At our arrival, Alexander the great as i called him (The hotel manager) told us the story behind the hotel, and about a few interesting artifacts that they had stored, after that we went for a little tour around the place. The staff was amazing Bagelis, Mayra and Vaggelis was working that summer and we actually became good friends. The rooms are like caves, kind of special and have cool air. The place is like the most and relaxing place i have been to. The only negative things would be that the warm water wasn't enough to fill up the bathtubs and the water in the pools was really cold. Otherwise the food and the complete stay was awesome!

Btw, ask Alexander for anyting he knows the Island like nobody else!

Room Tip: The lower rooms are cool and dark for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Very nice staff, who always does anything you want to make you feel special. Alexander is very polite and doen not hesitate to giv you a gigantic glas og wine. Eat your breakfast anytime, anywhere. :-) I want to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#10 of 56 in Oia
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
2.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Property: Zannos Melathron Hotel
Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing