We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical location and incredible experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zannos Melathron Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The most magical location and incredible experience!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wow... Well where do I start? This was by far the most memorable stay of our entire month of traveling around Europe! So my girlfriend and I travelled around Europe for a month. We went to 10 countries and Santorini was our last location.. If a story book had a perfect fairytale ending, it was Zannos!

Alexander and the team were incredible in every way! The food was incredible, the service, the rooms, the location, the view! If I had to think about a bad moment of my stay at this hotel it would have to be the pool being too cold. So I think you can understand how awesome it was.

Even when they recommend a restaurant, when we arrive, it's like saying the name Zannos is like a secret code or something because we got so much love! Haha

I am already planning another trip and hopefully they will be available for another 4/5 nights! This time we know where to go and how we will enjoy our time there.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheMagdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    45
    17
    14
    13
See reviews for
27
131
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife Gail and I stayed at Zannos Melathron for ten days during the latter part of September and early October 2012.

What makes this hotel so special is not the antiques and décor that are understated but beautiful; it is without doubt the standard of service directed by the hotel manager Alexandre Andritsopoulos.

Alexandre is supported greatly by the staff that are Zannos; all are refreshingly professional and attentive without being overbearing.

Worth particular mention are Mira the hotel deputy manager who was absolutely lovely and brilliant each and every day. The smiling Vangelis (No1), head waiter, a joy to have around and who could not do enough for us during our blissful stay.

Vangelis (No2) the Chef who consistently provided great food from breakfast through lunch and outstanding dinners on the terrace with panoramic views of Santorini.

Vigellis (forgive the spelling) and Louba, who looked after the fabric of the hotel and carried, cleaned and polished to make sure that everything was exactly as it should be and made our stay so special.

Thank you all. And whatever Zannos Melathron are paying you guys it is not enough!

Could we fault the Hotel? Well, the pool was a tad cold for the first 30 seconds but bearable for hardy Brits from North of the Scottish Border. The bathrooms were also a tad tired at the end of the season but I really am being picky!

Thank you,

Mr Michael and Miss Gail (as we were affectionally named by Mira)
Coldstream, Scotland
10 October 2012

Room Tip: All are brilliant, don't worry
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the wonderful Zannos Melathron Hotel it really is a very special place, mainly due to the lovely, kind people there, who will look after your every need. We felt very relaxed and refreshed by the unhurried pace and the unobtrusive, yet attentive service.
The setting is amazing, and its wonderful to be away from the crowds and cruise ship invasions, which is one advantage of being so high up and pedestrian only village. However, other parts of the island are very accessible and very interesting to visit, especially Akrotiri and the archaology site. Its then bliss to return to the quiet oasis of the Zannos, for a G and T on the terrace at sunset, magical!
The staff and management under the wonderful care of Alexander and Mira really do provide all they say they do on their web site, and work really hard to ensure you are relaxed and cherished, they are so kind to everyone. Its unusual to find this level of care these days.
Yes the pool is a little cool, but I swam in it every day, and its a lovely way to cool down ( it was still v hot in late September), so come on you whimps! The setting of the pool is amazing and wonderfully quiet and restful.
Its a 5-10 min walk to the rest of the village and access to other good restaurants and transport, so you do need to be reasonably fit, there are lots of steps, but they will always send the donkey for you! I am not joking.

If you want a restful, relaxing , sublime setting with wonderful views and special staff to look after you, you will enjoy a few days here, and your spirits will be lifted. Thank you to all of you at Zannos Melathron, you are very special people.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually designed and located in different parts of the building/site so all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princessMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Great Holiday in Santorini at the Zannos Melathron in Sept 2012. Fantastic place to stay and the hotel staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you . Santorini itself was the most attractive place i have been to also the most relaxing

Room Tip: Couldnt find a Fitness Centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnyBoy1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

There are many, many reasons why you should choose Zannos Melathron as your hotel in Santorini, however there are some quite big negative points that you should consider before booking.

Reasons why I loved the hotel:

- The service: Staff were attentive and generous and made you feel like part of their family or an important guest. Yes, sometimes you want to escape the smiles and questions but overall the service was pretty faultless and the staff genuinely seemed to care about you.

- The grounds: The hotel is a converted mansion and there is an impressive rooms that you can relax in. There is only one room where you can connect to wireless internet, but I enjoyed relaxing in it and would be quickly brought free glasses of water as soon as I sat down). On the subject of internet access, the rooms have ethernet ports if you want to plug in.

- Breakfast: Breakfast is an experience in itself. Once seated and drinks are served you are provided a basket with fresh baked pastries, bread and different jams. Heaven! They also have a tea box with about 16 different flavors to choose from.

- Evening meals: There are plenty of very good restaurants in Pyrgos, I would recommend all of them with the exception of the Grill House (awful food). The hotel can serve three tables per evening for dinner (see negative point below) and the food they serve is stunning, along with mini courses that were shockingly good quality. However, be prepared to pay over 120 euros for two people for this luxury.

Things that let the hotel down (consider how important these are to you)

- The pool is freezing: This became a bit of a joke between the guests over how much of your body you could allow into the water. Some people braved it and jumped right in but it literally takes your breath away and causes cramping it is so cold. It was a shame, because I really wanted to swim each day but just couldn't physically stand how cold the pool was -- we're talking ice cold here, you probably won't be able to use it.

- The terrace: This is a sheltered outdoor seating area, with a beautiful view out to sea. However, there are only three tables so for breakfast you have to get there early or get lucky. There is a room inside with four other tables for breakfast, but they are just so tiny considering the feast they serve you. For a hotel with 12 rooms, you'd think they'd have more tables.

- The cave rooms: This is an absolute MUST. Request that you are not placed in one of the cave rooms. I was going to do this before I arrived but didn't bother. BIG BIG mistake. I was going to request to move after a day in it, but my partner didn't want the hassle. The cave rooms are built underground with some natural light but the floor tiles and bathroom grow mold that seems like it can't really be cleaned off. After just a day in this room all of my clothes smelt musty and everything in the room (the sofa, the linen, towels, my passport!!!) felt damp.

- The climb: Unless you are reasonably fit you WILL be out of breath/need a break on the climb up to the hotel from Pyrgos square. It only takes about 5 minutes to walk from the square to the hotel, but my word it is steep! The views are totally worth it, but please bear this in mind depending on your condition.


There are so many good things about the hotel that I could write about but I think this covers it. I paid £696 for one week for two people - I don't think I would have paid too much more than this but it was definitely excellent value at that price.

Room Tip: Make sure you are NOT in one of the caves - you MUST request this. They are musky and will make ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank London2Everywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Situated in a quiet village which was formerly the capital of the island, this is an exceptional hotel with wonderful staff and facilities. The main building has been beautifully restored in traditional style, while the bedrooms are large and well fitted out, with tiled floors and nice decor. Bathrooms are huge with impressive stone bath and sink. I had one of the rooms others have mentioned, which are cave-like and built into the cliff face, but they are quite light and the air conditioning was very efficient, so I didn't find this a problem. I noticed there was an electric air freshener, plus what may have been a dehumidifier, which probably addressed some of the earlier comments? Alexander and his staff cannot do enough to look after you, but will also happily leave you in peace to relax in the comfort. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent, although dinner is expensive. One or two minor issues I had were the intrusive and quite often inappropriate music played in the restaurant area (although this seems to be a general feature throughout Santorini), the slow service at breakfast and the very low pressure in the cold water taps. Although Pyrgos can be busy with tour groups during the day, this is nothing compared with Fira and Oia, and by evening, it is very peaceful. Access to the hotel is not quite as difficult as some have said. If you don't want to trust the donkeys, the walk up the hill from the village centre or car parks takes 5-10 minutes at most and is not particularly steep. A car is definitely recommended, especially as Pyrgos is only 15-20 minutes from most places in the island, including Fira, Akrotiri and the east coast beaches. Oia is around 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a late Spring break at the Zannos in May 2012. The hotel staff were absolutely delightful, and couldn't do enough to make our stay special. It was at the same time relaxed but faultless service, and they felt like a family team, although they were not. The hotel is situated at the top of a charming hilltop village, with a criss cross of shallow stepped pathways leading up through picturesque whitewashed houses and churches. The taxi will drop you at the bottom of the village. Phone the hotel just before you get there and they will send someone to guide you up, and a donkey to carry your bags.

If you want nightlife, Zannos is not the place for you, but if you want stunning views, a relaxed stay, lovely staff, and local charm, it's spot on. The hotel is steeped in history, as is the island. We forgot our driving licenses so couldn't hire a car, which I would recommend if you want to see the island. However, we did well on the local buses which are cheap, but the timetable is meaningless so you need to be prepared to 'do it on Greek time' and find a cafe in sight of the bus stop. Taxis are expensive for everyday use.

The Zannos has a lovely little pool on one of its many terraces, all with panoramic views across to the caldera. Sunset drinks on the main terrace are a treat - the hotel is proud of the delicious Santorini white wines. The food is extremely good (ask for the chef's interpretation of rice pudding), but there are good alternatives for eating in Pyrgos, so you are not tied to eating at the hotel every night.

The rooms are large and well equipped, and individually decorated in good taste. We went on a Secret Escapes deal so I don't think we had the best of rooms. Santorini can be very humid, and because we were in one of the rooms that opened onto the vaulted walk-through underneath the hotel, we found that our clothes and bed linen clothes felt rather damp, but this didn't spoil a very enjoyable stay. However, we wouldn't go in May again - they had some very warm weather before we arrived, but the evenings were cool and windy during our week there.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view. If you do get one of the rooms directly underneath the main hotel, make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NowVoyager100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
1.8 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
407 reviews
3.6 mi away
Iconic Santorini, a boutique cave hotel
6.6 mi away
Katikies Hotel
Katikies Hotel
#13 of 56 in Oia
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
6.5 mi away
Mystique Luxury Collection Hotel
2.4 mi away
Astro Palace Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zannos Melathron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zannos Melathron Hotel

Property: Zannos Melathron Hotel
Address: Main Street, Pyrgos 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Zannos Melathron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Zannos Melathron Hotel where history meets luxury..Location: Zannos Melathron Hotel situated on the highest level of the most picturesque settlement of Pyrgos village in Santorini. Santorini is easily accessible via air and boat transportation. The hotel is situated 5 km from Santorini airport and 6km from Athinios port.ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN:A 19th century mansion built by Michael Zannos, a master of the time, in 1750. The famous designer Giannis Tseklenis is responsible for the renovation and the decoration of all suites and public areas of Zannos Melathron. A man with inspiration and finesse who loves Santorini revived and completed in the best way Zannos Melathron that fills its visitors with pretty pictures and lovely emotions. As per 2015 Zannos Melathron is fully renovated and functions under new management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zannos Melathron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zannos Melathron
Zannos Melathron Hotel Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing