We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this paradise?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

It so could be, with a few finer but simple touches and this hotel could take some beating....

You are sat at one of the highest points with volcanos / mountains / sea and the villages to look down on to and when the sunset or sunrise calls, you are somewhere special.

The service is very good and the advice from the team around what to do and where to eat is worth listening to and trying for yourself....they know their stuff.

The staff are all very attentive and the only points that for more that prevent a five rating is;

- no where to sit at night, although we had a beautiful suite and outside pool area
- the infinity pool is beautiful but not practicable to use
- no iron or use of, unless you want to pay a price for laundry...which I don't
- the maintenance men, need to speak and not stare

Overall, do not be out off, santorini is a gorgeous island with so much to do and some fantastic food, combined with natural beauty......we will go back and probably to this hotel...

They made us feel very welcome, thank you

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 287 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

So many fabulous things we could say.

We were looking for a hotel which would provide complete relaxaton, stunning views and the ability just to get away from it all. This place was perfect for us in every way.

From our arrival to departure, we were made to feel very special and nothing was ever too much trouble. The staff were an absolute credit in our opinion.

If more activity or hustle/bustle was desired, this could be found with only a short cab ride to Fira, some of the beaches or a small walk to Pyrgos itself.

The rooms were clean and tidy, well maintained on a daily basis and the minibar was well stocked and regularly replenished. The food was also excellent and although the menu itself wasn't massively extensive (bit more than adequate), we relaise this just isn't cost effective nor practical for a smaller boutique hotel.

All in all, not a bad word to say in our opinion and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Si502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for seven days. The room was fantastic, clean and airy but we were disappointed that there wasn't really anywhere to sit on an evening apart from your room. After an evening out we would have liked to have sat with a final drink before bed but the small bar is within the dining room and we felt it didn't lend itself to a relaxing area to sit. There are no outside seating etc.
Pyrgos as a village is the highest point on the island and as such it can be quite windy at times. The village itself we felt was a little tired and access to it on foot meant you had to climb a steep 1 in 2/3 uneven concrete hill straight out of the hotel. The best two restaurants in the village were Selene and To Perasma Tou Xoriou.
The staff were always very nice and helpful and full of ideas what to do etc. We hired a car on the second day for the rest of our stay which enabled us to find good beaches at both Perissa and Kamari. Also went to Thira and Oia which although busy with cruise tourists were both quite spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 day stay, the hotel was ideal for us, the staff so friendly and helpful in all respects.

With 10 spacious suites the facilities are to a high standard, but limited and whilst the food in the restaurant is fantastic, the range was limited except for breakfast. You are however spoilt for choice with good restaurants around. We found it necessary to rent a car after 2 days.

The location is central and provides great views, although with the weather uncertain for our first couple of days, being at the highest point, it's a little windy as others have observed.

The staff provided great local knowledge and suggested good activities.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel. It is a family run hotel, but the standards are super (5 star) high.

We were given a private pool villa and we were lucky to get the upper level one. It was over looking the sea, and all the other rooms in the resort. While it was in May (2010), the water was cold and pools weren't heated, but that didn't ruin our second honey moon what so ever.

Great hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper level rooms - much more privacy, especially when u are on the terrace or your priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamDubster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had booked another property (Zannos Malathron) for a short 4 day break in Santorini through Secret Escapes. This property closed but arrangements were made by Zannos for us to be transferred to Carpe Diem.
Carpe Diem is just beautiful. Great location at Pyrgos which is the highst point in Santorini, fantastic views, sumptuous breakfasts delivered to your room and lovely large individual suites. Each suite has an idividual plunge pool and there is a larger common swiming pool. The water was however too cold in October to get in. There is a lovely spa which is highly recommended. Couples can book the entire spa for some private time together, again at no extra cost (payment only for the extra therapies which was thoroughly relaxing)
Vasso and her team deliver a superb service. We arrived at 7AM in the morning and the room was ready at no extra cost!!. Vasso also was very reassurung as we were concerned because of the last minute changes in our plans.
I would recommend hiring a car (again organised by Vasso) which allowed us to explore Santorini - this is a stunning island with welcoming people.
The only downside was that there were power cuts on two mornings - unfortunately this meant that water runs out in the rooms as they have to be pumped up and the property does not have its own generators. Thankfully this was only a minor inconvenience.
In all, an unforgetable experience. Vasso and her team deserve all the kudos that come their way.

Room Tip: All rooms are indiviudal and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kanarath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose Carpe Diem for our honeymoon stay in Santorini after multiple recommendations and this place deserves every bit of praise. The rooms are exceptionally large, the place is extremely private, the views are stunning, the service is beyond compare...what else can one ask for. Truly fantastic experience.
One improvement opportunity could be a shuttle to city center for the guests as the hotel is some distance away from the city center and lack of public transport means every time a cab has to be taken which significantly increases the transportation cost to and fro from hotel.

Other wise a highly recommended stay option in Santorini!!
Thanks Vasso for your ever readiness to help!!

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikanshu_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pyrgos
0.8 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
6.6 mi away
Andronis Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Lilium Villas
Lilium Villas
#8 of 81 in Fira
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
4.4 mi away
Santorini Princess
Santorini Princess
#6 of 51 in Imerovigli
939 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#14 of 51 in Imerovigli
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort

Address: Pyrgos 84701, Greece (Formerly Carpe Diem Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Pyrgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Pyrgos
Price Range: $339 - $710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Santorini like never before at Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort. Breathtaking sunsets, high privacy and Cycladic allure since 2008. Member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carpe Diem Hotel Pyrgos
Carpe Diem Exclusive Boutique Resort Santorini, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing