We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A league of their own”
Review of Selene

Selene
Ranked #10 of 24 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $112
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 'Selene' restaurant was established in 1986 in Fira, Santorini by Yiorgos and Evelyn Hatziyannakis. Our aim was from the very start, to show and promote the local products along with the local cuisine hoping that this will enable us to transmit to our guests a taste of the island's culture. The success that we have had all those years not only within Greece but also worldwide, has encouraged us to continue with cooking lessons, catering for weddings and conferences and various gastronomical events. Since 2010 'Selene' restaurant has moved location from Fira to Pyrgos. Pyrgos is one of the most beautiful and well-preserved villages of Santorini built around a medieval castle located in one of the highest points of the island offering magnificent views. What is mostly important for us however is that Pyrgos village, and the restaurant's location especially, lies next to the famous vineyards and the valuable farmland of Santorini.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Every visit to Santorini includes a dinner in Selene Restaurant. Although the expectations are higher every year we have never been deceived. Comes may, begins the tension to see what the new menu will bring. It is simply amazing how they manage to find a high skilled chef every year. This year ouyr minds were blown away by the octopus (starter) and the pigeon (main). With the selected wine (by the glass) a perfect match ! As for desert : their interpretaion of 'cake' - that's the simple description on the menu- proves how much research is invested in this restaurant.
Small portions, utterly high in taste, visually very attractive, a story to every wine on the elaborate list, worth every euro...
Thank you Selene for another fantastic culinary experience!

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Dominique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 787 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

Spent over 200 EUR and left the restaurant hungry. Great flavors but portions are way too small. Friendly wait staff but tried to upsell in the wine to the point that it was obnoxious.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank beegemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2019

We had heard such good things about Selene and had high expectations. The restaurant is cute and the staff was friendly and professional, but on June 1, something must have been horribly off in the kitchen.

What started out as a "leisurely" pace for dinner, stretched longer and longer without explanation. We waited more than 45 minutes after our entrees were cleared before the mains arrived - and then only four of the five dishes arrived.

We poked at our pretty but lukewarm dishes while waiting for the fifth dish. When it arrived, the interior of the fish was still cold. We sent it back, only to have it reappear five minutes later - same fish, but just reheated. Wish mains costing EUR 40+, we would expect dishes to arrive properly cooked and mistakes to be remade, not just reheated.

The host was apologetic but the excuse - "all our bookings were for the same time tonight" - was not acceptable. They did discount our wine by way of apology and I really think it was not the staff's fault but a matter in the kitchen.

Overall, nothing about the food impressed me enough to spend this much money and have such a poor experience. Better just get a gyro in the neighborhood taverna.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christopher_schultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Wow - we had an amazingly delicious, interesting and innovative meal at Selene.
The waiters were fantastic and very knowledgeable on Santorini wines.
Creative chef for sure and I think a must is for them to give each guest one of their surprising olives as a welcome to the restaurant!

An outstanding experience which we will remember for a long time! This restaurant isn’t for you if you want a large staple meal though.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank Rache-Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

Tucked away on this small(ish) island is the small village of Pyrgos. Tucked into the small village of Pyrgos is Selene and the food is anything but small (and certainly NOT average). The menu: creative using local ingredients in new ways. Read the menu and immediately you realize the meal is going to be unique, and you have to open your tastes to new flavors handled in new ways.

Service was outstanding and one server put it perfectly: “the chef does the amazing stuff and customers give us credit “. Everyone gets credit for creating an unforgettable night. I was helped to make a wine selection, and the choice was perfect.

$265US for 2 is not cheap. Would I go back and do it again? In a heartbeat! Cuisine like this doesn’t come to small villages like this often, but when it does you have to answer the call.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank RussGHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selene also viewed

 
Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 

Been to Selene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing