We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best meals we've ever had”
Review of Selene

Selene
Ranked #7 of 21 Restaurants in Pyrgos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $28
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 'Selene' restaurant was established in 1986 in Fira, Santorini by Yiorgos and Evelyn Hatziyannakis. Our aim was from the very start, to show and promote the local products along with the local cuisine hoping that this will enable us to transmit to our guests a taste of the island's culture. The success that we have had all those years not only within Greece but also worldwide, has encouraged us to continue with cooking lessons, catering for weddings and conferences and various gastronomical events. Since 2010 'Selene' restaurant has moved location from Fira to Pyrgos. Pyrgos is one of the most beautiful and well-preserved villages of Santorini built around a medieval castle located in one of the highest points of the island offering magnificent views. What is mostly important for us however is that Pyrgos village, and the restaurant's location especially, lies next to the famous vineyards and the valuable farmland of Santorini.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably one of the best meals we've ever had”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

By far the BEST place to eat in Santorini - and possibly the whole of Greece. It was definitely one of THE best restaurants we've ever been to. We live in London and have had our fare share of great places to eat, so I can Selene is DEFINITELY up there! Also great ambiance... we set outside and watched the sunset. The dishes also have great presentation and not to mention great service. It's on the expensive side but it was a great indulgence!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviagoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    120
    52
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best spot to eat on Santorini”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We saw the mixed reviews and decided to try this wonderful spot in Pygros.......it really is worth every penny. The terrific interpretation of classic Greek dishes was outstanding, and the service superb. It far surpasses any of the restaurants on Kamari Beach (where we were staying )by far. We wish like so many others that we lived closer....thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1223LoveTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and great service”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I was really looking forward to having dinner here, though the food was good it wasn't brilliant. I think there are a lot of good restaurants in Fira so I wouldn't necessarily bother to make the trip to pyrgos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kkimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where to start? It was fantastic!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I could eat here each and every day, but since we live in the states our one visit for lunch was awesome and not to be forgotten.

We arrived for a late lunch and sat outside on the balcony. The service was top notch and one could only wonder how great dinner would be. Myself and companion ate around the menu to sample a wide variety of items, each and everyone of them were fantastic and did not disappoint.

The restaurant is a little out of the way and not in one of the "big" tourist towns on the coast which adds to the exclusiveness of it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thetravelgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The buzz is deserved”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fans of Chez Panisse in Berkeley, California will recognize familiar patterns for success in this innovative two tiered restaurant overlooking the cliffs in Pyrgos. The chef/owner's unorthodox spin on classic Greek cuisine was highly satisfying as well as unusual. We dined in the more formal setting, where the service was elegant in a highly stylized way. If you prefer a more informal approach, try the taverna, although you won't get as spectacular a view of the sunset. All the food was excellent, and nothing I have ever tasted resembled the delicious paper thin fried squid chips with squid ink tzadziki.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aprilan265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Selene also viewed

Imerovigli, Santorini
Imerovigli, Santorini
 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Selene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing