We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Nearby Hotels
B&B Il Borghetto(Montefiridolfi)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Macinello(Montefiridolfi)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveler rating
165
74
13
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
74
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantinori familypool areamain officecooking schoolchianti classico regionwild boarsurrounding vineyardsamazing placecooking classpastawe loved our staytuscan stylebase to exploretuscan townswine tourgreat vineyardsfirst class service
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 261 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This is a fantastic location from which to see the amazing landscape of Tuscany. You will need a car, but the surrounds and views are simply magnificent! The Fonte de Medici is a nice place, great pool and ok breakfast, but the service we received when we arrived was poor. We were not shown around, nor given good instruction on where things like the gym, restaurants, markets were. In general, the girls at the desk seemed more interested in having their smokes outside (3 in 30 minutes that we saw) than taking care of their guests. We also cooked for ourselves a couple of nights and found the kitchen very limited. We don't mind the cramped cooking area, but not having simple things like a sharp knife or a simple salad bowl was disappointing. Finally, if you are a couple looking for some quite time, this may not be the place for your as there are a lot of families and kids enjoying the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borzi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Just spent a week in this agriturismo with another family. There are lots of positives: rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is very good (although not 5 star hotel quality), the pool and the pool area are great, views magnificent, there is a nice tennis court and a small, but workable gym, and the location is just perfect with Firenze and Siena nearby. Service is also very good, and we made a nice tour to the Antinori cellars. Fonte de Medici is just a very nice place to visit, and we had a great time together there.

The price is fairly high obviously, and is linked to the location and the quality of all premises. What left room for improvement was evening dining at the restaurant, more about that in the restaurant review.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR_Helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Excellent location by the famous Antinori's wineyards in Tuscany. Very relaxing atmosphere. They also have their own restaurant serving typical Tuscan food with a lot of taste. Also a pool and a small gym.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usere38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We traveled to Italy with 2 other couples. We spent 12 nights in Italy, 6 of them in Tuscany, 3 of which were at Fonte de Medici. This was by far the best place we stayed. As other reviewers have pointed out, you need a car. And it helps greatly to have a gps.

The only thing stopping me from giving a higher rating is how uncomfortable the beds were. They were, by far, the hardest beds we slept on during our entire trip. Having said that, we all wish we would have spent all of our nights in Tuscany at Fonte de Medici. The rooms are decorated well. The grounds and views are breathtaking. This is the perfect Tuscan location. We took day trips to Florence and Siena. It's a short drive to Greve and many other small Tuscan towns. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us driving directions and restaurant suggestions. The restaurant at Fonte de Medici was wonderful and the breakfast provided was delicious with several options.

We did not use most of the amenities provided on the grounds, but we did set up a tour of the Tignanello wine estate (down the road from Fonte de Medici, same owners). We had a wonderful guide.

If we could pick just one place to return to from our Italy trip, this would be the place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchenette. If this is important, please be sure to specify when making a reservation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriamking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Following is for the restaurant only!

The restaurant is very difficult to find. It is somewhere on the hills. You need a car to reach it. The food is delicious but if you wear T-Shirt and shorts (as we are used to wear during our vacation) the waiter/waitress will not honor that. You will get a "lousy" table. In any case it is recommended to book a table in advance. Than i would suggest to ask for a free table on the terrace. The price ~ 40-45 Euro/Person including drinks.
My suggestion is to go to Trattoria Mamma Rossa instead; only 5km away :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews