We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Agriturismo Fonte de' Medici
Nearby Hotels
B&B Il Borghetto(Montefiridolfi)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agriturismo Macinello(Montefiridolfi)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
166
74
13
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
74
13
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsantinori familypool areamain officecooking schoolchianti classico regionwild boarsurrounding vineyardsamazing placecooking classpastawe loved our staytuscan stylebase to exploretuscan townswine tourgreat vineyardsfirst class service
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 262 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Excellent location by the famous Antinori's wineyards in Tuscany. Very relaxing atmosphere. They also have their own restaurant serving typical Tuscan food with a lot of taste. Also a pool and a small gym.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usere38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We traveled to Italy with 2 other couples. We spent 12 nights in Italy, 6 of them in Tuscany, 3 of which were at Fonte de Medici. This was by far the best place we stayed. As other reviewers have pointed out, you need a car. And it helps greatly to have a gps.

The only thing stopping me from giving a higher rating is how uncomfortable the beds were. They were, by far, the hardest beds we slept on during our entire trip. Having said that, we all wish we would have spent all of our nights in Tuscany at Fonte de Medici. The rooms are decorated well. The grounds and views are breathtaking. This is the perfect Tuscan location. We took day trips to Florence and Siena. It's a short drive to Greve and many other small Tuscan towns. The staff was very friendly and helpful, giving us driving directions and restaurant suggestions. The restaurant at Fonte de Medici was wonderful and the breakfast provided was delicious with several options.

We did not use most of the amenities provided on the grounds, but we did set up a tour of the Tignanello wine estate (down the road from Fonte de Medici, same owners). We had a wonderful guide.

If we could pick just one place to return to from our Italy trip, this would be the place.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a kitchenette. If this is important, please be sure to specify when making a reservation.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miriamking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Following is for the restaurant only!

The restaurant is very difficult to find. It is somewhere on the hills. You need a car to reach it. The food is delicious but if you wear T-Shirt and shorts (as we are used to wear during our vacation) the waiter/waitress will not honor that. You will get a "lousy" table. In any case it is recommended to book a table in advance. Than i would suggest to ask for a free table on the terrace. The price ~ 40-45 Euro/Person including drinks.
My suggestion is to go to Trattoria Mamma Rossa instead; only 5km away :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonnDoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Spent 5 days here with my husband and son. At first we were very worried after reading all the reviews on how service was bad etc...but surprisingly everyone was so nice and helpful. We did a simple renewal of vows in their garden and since it was just the 3 of us we needed help from the staff. Have no complains with the service. The view of the grape vines rolling up and down the hills from the swimming pool and trattoria is just so magnificent. You can walk down the path or up the path to take photos at the vineyard beside the grape vines and the photographer's photo came out so nice as the blue skies and rolling hills (of grape vines) provided a very nice backdrop.

This whole place just gives you that ambiance of life can move 2x slower. Just wonderful!
The rooms - note that this is the country side so do not expect wifi, 3 star hotel service or a room that looks like a new york apartment loft. The rooms have the charm of the country side. You have heaters, ac, a small kitchen and hot water. A bed that is not small and tight. So the basics are covered and it is comfortable.
Internet access is via a laptop at the reception so either get a local sim card and use your phone to access emails and web or get a Prepaid wireless access at the airport (Wind or Tim telecom)
Definitely need to do the tours and wine tasting in their cellar (which we were an able to do as August month most people go on holiday so by the time they are open we were heading out already) We did get to do wine tasting at Osteria di Passignano plus the meal was fantastic! It was recommended by reception at Fonte de' Medici. It is a 1 star Micheline restaurant.
How to get here - definitely need a GPS and a car as it is at the center of all the beautiful landscape of vineyards.
We also learned from our photographer (local Italian in the nearby area) that Tenuta Tignanello (which you will pass on the left side of the road as you head to Fonte. It is actually just in front of Fonte) is where one of the expensive Italian wine Tignanello is produce. I have to say it is very good. And when we ask reception they said yes it is the same family who owns Fonte.

Of course no one can be perfect. So the only thing we felt that really bothered us was not having a shower curtain in out suite. (not sure if the other rooms had it) so it gets the floor in the bathroom really wet and with a 2 yr old son running around the fear of slipping in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank somjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This hotel/apartments is/are located in the best place of the chanti region between Siena & Florence.
The staff is very friendly, the meals are great and the views are amazing, since it's located at the top of a hill.
You can do wine tasting here and relax next to the swimming pools or travel around to the small villages located all around.
They have a swimming pool for kids, which makes it safier and funnier for them.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews