We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Tuscan Cafe”
Review of Caffe delle Erbe

Caffe delle Erbe
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Snack bar
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscan Cafe”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

After wandering through the lovely town of San Gimignano we came across this delightful eatery in a piazza near the Basilica of Santa Maria Assunta. The Pizze Prosciutto Cotto e Funghi and the Bruschette Pomodoro Mozzarella were excellent as were the glasses of Aperol and Chianti! Quick and friendly service and good value...a great location to while away a few hours and 'people watch'. Washroom facilities could be better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marek010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    49
    22
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to eat, reasonably priced”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

After trudging through the town, we came across this outside dining restaurant. It wasnt the Rits, but the meal was clean and tasty. Service was helpful and the price was reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Like those frozen pizza's your mom pulled out of the freezer”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We understand that not every place is going to be a five star experience but we would have thought that they'd at least get pizza right. Not so, it was awful. First of all, they got our order wrong, with incorrect toppings. Second, it really didn't even taste as good as those awful frozen pizza's and last, the Chianti Classico wine I ordered was horrible. I didn't even finish it. And I'm Irish, I'll finish just about anything.
They don't deserve to be in business. At least not in Italy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewhmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Prosecco and Snacks”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We recently had our wedding in San Gimignano and chose Cafe delle Erbe to serve our guests some drinks and snacks after the ceremony in the nearby duomo. They did a marvellous job and everyone thoroughly enjoyed sitting out in the fabulous Piazza, sipping prosecco and nibbling tasty snacks. The cafe became a regular haunt for our guests during their stay, the perfect place for an after-lunch glass of wine ... or for an evening cocktail!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe delle Erbe also viewed

San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
San Gimignano, Province of Siena
 

Been to Caffe delle Erbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing