We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sub-par accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel Marinetta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Park Hotel Marinetta
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marina di Bibbona
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Sub-par accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was expecting more for the price that we paid. Our room was adequate, nothing more. The kids couldn't get to the bathroom without passing though our room. The aircon didn't really function in their room either, the vent was too small.
On arriving we found that the desk was broken, the hairdyer was broken, the minibar was empty and the TV remote was broken. To be fair to the hotel, they fixed all these things the very next morning, but really things like this should be checked regularly.

Having only one lift serving the seven floors of the tower leads to a lot of waiting around, especially during the day when the cleaning staff are using it to bus clean sheets and towels between floors.

I got the feeling that non-Italians don't stay here very often, there was little in the way of a welcome pack, no hints on whether we needed to take towels to the beach/pools, no mention that beach sunbeds needed be reserved for the week not just on the day, no explanation of the booking system for the second restaurant.

The pools themselves were great, I like the idea of having a separate pool for adults. Good facilities and very clean.

Food at the pool bar and on the beach was quite reasonable for lunch, but we weren't particularly impressed with the main restaurant for dinner and the breakfasts were, frankly, very poor. Lots of cheap stuff, old fruit, very poor coffee and a weird fluorescent "juice".

Wifi - forget it. Unless you sit in the lobby directly under the router, the service is appallingly slow and drops frequently.

Don't use the kids' club. It is badly organised. I found my son wandering in the (public) forest when they were supposed to be looking after him. Shocking to think what could have happened, we were very lucky that I bumped into him by chance. This happened early in our stay and the hotel staff were very apologetic of course but obviously the damage was done and we couldn't think of using it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Archiernf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    385
    86
    24
    15
See reviews for
437
342
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel, where I spent 8 nights with my husband and (adult) daughter, and I do not recommend it to the clients that are used to the high quality four star hotel services. The hotel is situated close to the quite clean beach, there are enough sunbeds and umbrellas for all guests (towels are not provided though), the sea is OK, quite clean and warm, but really nothing extraordinary, the hotel garden and the reception are nice, the pools are clean and the best asset of the hotel is its staff. But that is it. Our room was terrible. The beds were awful - especially the third bed (basically a bunk bed that you tip out of the wall!!!). I understand that there are not too many rooms for three people available in hotels in general, but once they are advertised like that, the hotel must make sure that you are not sleeping like in a scout camp. The mattresses were all of a different kind (one with an uneven surface). The bathroom was in a very bad shape either: mold in the bath tub, the water not running off the sink, the hangers not fitted on the wall properly, the bidet shaking, the handles and the shower holder broken - to name just the core problems. Forget about WIFI. It's NOT working! If you can find the signal somewhere, it would be of unsteady strength and the connection is SLOW!!! Be prepared that WIFI is not available in your room. The worst thing about the hotel however is the food! I have an experience with the hotels of similar rating in the same area and I have to say that it is very hard to find something that indigestible as they serve in the hotel. We had one dinner only and then switched to the nearby restaurant for the rest of our stay. Although the food selection was not bad, the way the cook had prepared it, made it a shame of the renowned Italian cuisine. Same with the breakfast - obviously very cheap items such as something called a ham because of lack of other proper expressions or the only one (!) kind of cheese, terrible selection of cereals and fruits (can you believe that you would not get a melon in Italy in August?), one pot with undefined sort of yogurt, non working coffee machine, eggs floating on an oily splash, cold pieces of 'fried' bacon or sausages, absence of fresh juices (you can get one glass for 3 Euros if you really want to or go to the nearby shop for a liter for the same price). The only thing that was nice were the croissants (well if you had a luck to get a fresh one). The dishes were terrible as well - every cup or plate of a different type and shape, some of them cracked. For me, this hotel is not worth of a four star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We we visit this hotel since many years and were every time totally satisfied. Furthermore the hotel is improving its facilities from year to year. This year we aprreciated the new facilities at the sea very much.
We will come again, of course and we only can recommend the Hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Eugen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gingins
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have recently spent 4 nights in this hotel which we can only recommend. Very pleasant and helpful (multilingual) staff, comfortable room and excellent food. The pool is great and of a size you can really swim in. The nearby beach is a pleasure and the water absolutely clean and surprisingly warm in September. The wellness center is a very welcome plus. Ample parking, free, is available and the hotel is set in a very quiet area. Day trips to Pisa and Siena can easily be done from this hotel with you own car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We loved our stay, 14days in a very nice hotel, the food is great and the swillingpools!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We come here since 1996 and this hotel just feels like our second home. This place has everything to offer: the best traditional Italian food buffet, comfortable rooms, swimming pools and a private beach, friendly and helpful staff and, in short, a great atmosphere. This year the hotel has opened a new bar at the beach, which we consider as a plus!

This hotel enables couples to have a nice, relaxing holiday and furthermore this hotel is a delight for families and kids (e.g. miniclub and different activities in the hotel, holiday park in front of it). I must say, overall, price/quality is good when staying half board (drinks included). I would recommend couples to reserve a table in the restaurant Ombra della Serra once as the service is excellent.

In the near surroundings of the hotel, there are few possibilities. Though, the location is ideal to visit different cities in the neighbourhoud like Pisa, Lucca, Siena and other. I even travelled to Rome by train from Cecina, a small but nice town in the vicinity, this only costs 15-26 euros for a one-way ticket depending on the sort of train you choose from regional to intercity (the last option being really comfortable).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Our trips to Tuscany and The Marinetta were so enjoyable on the previous occasions that we came again. Says it all really! This is quite simply a great hotel to stay.

Most of this is probably confirms my previous review last year. The Marinetta is a light airy modern hotel set in it's own extensive gardens adjoining the pinewoods, and close to it's own private beach. The helpful staff are generally English speaking, and the atmosphere they create is friendly, informal, and relaxed… exactly what you want.

Even a fussy eater like myself found the Mediterranean food excellent and undoubtedly healthy. There’s a very good and comprehensive buffet breakfast to set you up in the morning. We had half board, and the evening buffet usually included soup, unlimited salad dishes including lots of roast Mediterranean vegetables, hot cooked meats, fish, pasta, and rice, plus various deserts and fruit.

The bedrooms are clean and modern. The whole place is spotlessly clean.

Poor sleepers like me should find it's quiet location a real benefit. At night you’re more likely to hear an owl than a disco! There's plenty of opportunity to relax by two swimming pools, both with poolside refreshment huts. There's also a glass fronted poolside gym with bikes and other exercise equipment.

The gardens are a delight, and there’s a fun play area for kids set in the gardens.

Other facilities include, a modern bar, wi-fi, and a wellness centre spa with a large Jacuzzi pool, energising showers, sauna, steam rooms, relaxation area… and I believe various treatments and massages are available. Use of the spa is an additional cost.

The beach although narrow, is extensive and just a three minute walk through the pinewoods. You can have a good long walk along the beach. There’s also a rather nice beach side cafe for coffees, ice creams, panninis, and other snacks. The resort itself has two of great ice cream parlours, a supermarket, and a couple of snackeries, and a few other shops. etc. Shopping is limited, and if that’s your thing then you'd need to combine it with a trip. Marina di Bibbona itself is a new-build and should be regarded as a base from which to explore this beautiful region.

To sum up, if you're after a real Tuscan experience this is a great base for getting out into the fantastic countryside and visiting the wonderful historic hilltop towns and villages. In the immediate locality are Bolgheri, Bibbona, and Castagneto Carducci... lovely old places and just a few minutes by car. The less adventurous will find this a perfect location for a beach & pool relaxing type holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marina di Bibbona
0.6 mi away
Villaggio I Sorbizzi Resort
Villaggio I Sorbizzi Resort
#2 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#9 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
3.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#3 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Riva degli Etruschi
Riva degli Etruschi
#4 of 25 in San Vincenzo
4.0 of 5 stars 699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nina
Hotel Nina
#6 of 10 in Marina di Bibbona
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
4.3 mi away
Club Alle Dune
Club Alle Dune
#2 of 4 in Marina di Castagneto Carducci
4.5 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Marinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Marinetta

Property: Park Hotel Marinetta
Address: Via dei Cavalleggeri, 2, 57020 Marina di Bibbona, Italy (Formerly Hotel Marinetta)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Marina di Bibbona
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Marina di Bibbona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Marinetta 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those loving tranquillity and nature Park Hotel Marinetta is the ideal choice. The rooms are cool and luminous, surrounded by a lush park with flowers, pines and plants typical of the Mediterranean vegetation. Alls rooms are equipped with all conforts. Some of them offer a view on the tuscan islands, to the Elba island and on a clair day even to the Corsica. The restaurants poolfront, completely renewed, serve fine menus of our traditional cuisine, accompanied by a selected winelist with the best labels of tuscan wineyard's production. At the Park Hotel Marinetta the work is mixed with a very beautiful natural landscape, a peaceful oasis at a spitting distance from the beach. Our halls are equipped with the main advanced technologies and our staff will be pleased to assist you in organizing everything, from the small meeting to the more important conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Park Hotel Marinetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Marinetta Marina Di Bibbona, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing