We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Hotel(Merthyr Tydfil)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Tregenna Hotel(Merthyr Tydfil)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
597 results
Traveler rating
187
196
123
47
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
196
123
47
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrecon beaconspenderyn distilleryevening mealtoastpen y fansconeslounge areastaff were friendlyexcellent valuewell worth a visittwo night stayfood was lovelywedding venuesaturday nightstayed here for one nighta lovely staytea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 597 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2009

....as seen on old TV programmes.

We arrived after flying in from Australia and were understandably very tired. We found our reception somewhat less than welcoming as the receptionist was on the phone and did not acknowledge our presence until she had finished. It took so long that my husband had enough time to visit the loo and return well before she decided to attend to us. Eventually we were shown to our room and we were so exhausted that we went to bed almost immediately.

The best that can be said about our accommodation is that the room was quite large. However it was furnished with rather old battered looking items - not antique just old and shabby. The carpet was decidedly dirty and badly needs replacing. Closer inspection revealed dusty corners and a rather interesting collection of 'dust bunnies' between the walls and the bedside cabinets. The bedside lamps were covered in a layer of dust which had lain undisturbed for quite a while. The windows had obviously not been cleaned for some time and mould had gathered around the bases and a dead moth which we observed on the inside of the windowsill when we opened the curtails was still there when we left days later. Incidentally the evenings were quite cold - although it was August but the heating was not working in the room and neither was the hairdryer in the bathroom.

The bathroom strives to be 'olde worlde' and fails miserably mainly due to mouldy and missing sealant around the bath and elsewhere. We also found pieces of broken glass near the washbasin and around the toilet. It was obvious that the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis.

The restaurant provided decent evening meals served by very friendly, efficient staff and nothing was too much trouble. What a pity that the same could not be said of breakfast. The so-called continental breakfast was very sparse indeed - not a lot to choose from, although the 'full Welsh breakfast' appeared to be very good and plentiful. However not everyone wants bacon and eggs etc early in the morning.

Some of the morning staff obviously wished they were elsewhere and perhaps wished that the guests were somewhere else too. We were clearly a nuisance, intent on getting in their way and preventing them from preparing the place for their famous O.A.P lunches. On one occasion I asked for a pot of tea and was told "It's over there" and when I asked for it to be brought to the table the waitress did so, but with ill-concealed reluctance. Surly and uncommunicative would be a restrained description of one waitress we encountered.

At 104GBP per night we were not expecting a four star hotel but what we got was no more that a dreary 70's B&B masquerading as a Country House Hotel.

Its website promises much and delivers very little.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vraquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Hotel is a good traditional hotel reached by a long private driveway. Accommodation was of a high standard as was the hotel in general, with a nice lounge area to sit, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast on show was very basic but we went for the cooked breakfast which was excellent! Would definitely stay in this hotel again if in the area!

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LondonEbony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

the price of a good webmaster can paper over the cracks.

waiting just 90 minutes to be seated... and in a pleasant bar, with slightly inept staff, we were greeted into the restaurant that made us giggle! If you can remember the late 80s show called Duty Free then you will know what the ambience is akin to. Wicker furniture with fake plants. were the best thing on the eye as well as the menu. If you can remember that other 80s throwback....the little chef, then this is where the chef must have trained. everything was deep fried or grilled. more grease than a mechanic's rag. service was apologetic at best.....ordering a mid meal drink to emulsify the fat took 20 minutes and the wine would be good to clean the car windscreen. I understand that there is a place for such forgery and that is at a roadside in a caravan owned by a corpuscular geezer named "Big Jim"but at 3 quid for a dodgy burger that would be acceptable. To pay 15 quid for the same rubbish (and allegedly locally sourced ......perhaps from the ASDA in Aberdare???) is utterly abhorrent. There is a fine tradition of good locally sourced food in Wales. Ty Newydd COuntry Hotel is clinging onto the one type of customer that does not see this. 50% off on mondays for OAPs tells its own story. If you look at the cremation on the steaks then you can see the advantage of being able to take your teeth out prior to eating. This is one for Gordon and his kitchen nightmares. I am not really sure who to fell sorriest for.....the staff, who can sense that their food is uninspiring, the chef, who must be so short of talent, or the owners, for not seeing that their hotel is being driven into the ground by Berni-inn quality and a horseshoe in a velvet glove for value. It is that I write this that I accept just how hard and how much effort and research into food is done by good quality establishments. A footnote.......on the way out, an advert for a chicken and chips supper for 13 quid and to watch Amy Housewine.....a tribute singer. How fitting.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2009

Found this hotel about a week before we went to Wales, it was my birthday on the day we arrived , I e mailed the hotel several days before we were due to check in to make sure they had received our booking and to ask if we could have a room with nice views as it was a special occasion, the confirmation came back that they had recieved our booking and that they had chosen what they thought was a room with a nice view but as they were not that busy I could change rooms if it was not to my liking when we got there.
When we drove up the long driveway I knew it was going to be nice and I wasnt disappointed. The check in was swift and the lady was very helpful. We were in room 8, which as you can see by the pictures was really lovely and better than we had expected, it was more like a suite with the chesterfield seating. It took a while to work the tv though having looked at the information folder to see how to work it. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee.
We ate in the dining room, first being shown to the lounge where a young waitress came to give us the menu's and told us what the soup of the day was etc, we ordered the lamb shank with minted butternut squash and a red wine jus, and a bottle of house red. The dining room was a little disappointing though, it didnt have any atmosphere and was too brightly lit, I assumed it would be more like a restaurant with clothed tables and being female that doesnt need an excuse to get dressed up felt a little overdressed ( should have kept my ugg boots on and wouldnt have looked out of place).
The price we paid for this fab double en suite was a bargain £49.00, WOW, never expected to get a room this lovely for such a small amount, more like a 4/5 star .
Breakfast served in the conservatory was a bit hit and miss though, not much selection in the way of cold buffet, waitress forgot our tea and toast, but the cooked part was nicely done and tasty. Overall we had no noise ( possibly as it was a Sunday night) the food was nice and the service good and efficient, would definately come back and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to all.....fab!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miyadivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We drove all the way from London to Wales, for a weekend break. By the time we arrived after 3 hours of driving we checked into the hotel. It looked lovely on the outside. However do not be fooled by the website and the little pictures of the rooms. The furniture is old, falling to bits, generally clean, the bed was horrifically uncomfortable. Hungry and all, we had some tea at the hotel, is was very good. However back from our afternoon wandering round and discovering Wales, we where shattered after such a long day and looking forward to an early quiet night in the country side. However to our dismay there where two pumping parties on at the Hotel, which kept us up till midnight. The room shook with the music and there was no way one could sleep. Our room being exactly above on of the halls where the party was being held. The least I expected was to be told upon booking that there would be noise.... so much for a relaxing weekend break away from the City life. It did not stop there. We where also given a room with a door between ours and the room next door so as to provide interconnecting rooms, after one of the parties the drunk couple next door decided to have a chat at the top of their voices and get intimate in a very loud manner, keeping us up for another hour or so!!! Sound proofing has much to be desired......the couple next door could have quite literally been in our room. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone and I am simply horrified that my weekend break turned into a horrifying sleepless one. This hotel made Fawlty towers seem like a 4 styar deluxe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sassyzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews