We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
England, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The staffs attitude is horrendous especially the purple haired lady. Otherwise a lovely establishment, my stay was solely ruined by the audacity of the staff and the drunken guests, I will not be revisiting as it was so unenjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Declanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    179
    110
    33
    36
See reviews for
84
311
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The staff were absolutely appalling and talked to guests like rubbish, I advise anyone with a brain not to go unless you like to get talked to like dirt. To conclude this review I would just like to give the staff a tip, work on your manners.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Philbeardsley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Spent a lovely evening and morning at this hotel, bought as gift and it fulfilled its promise. The room was lovely and spacious and comfortable, the evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and the staff very professional yet accommodating. The breakfast was also substantial and the staff courteous. I would recommend this for people looking to get away from it all and relax in pleasant, peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely Sunday lunch. Friendly staff with very good service and great food. I liked the comfy old decor from before, it had a homely feel. The new decor brings the hotel right up to date and looks very nice. Id have kept the lounge fire open rather than install a burner but thats just my preference. Have come here a few times and now plan ro make Sunday lunch a regular thing. Keep it up guys its a great place with better prices and a friendlier feel than the nant du down the road for sure!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Went for Afternoon Tea with friends here a few wks ago. As we walked in we were not greeted by a friendly hello but more of a 'what are you doing here'. We ordered afternoon tea and there was some confusion over the order, which lead to poor service and some friends actually not getting what they ordered. Overall I enjoyed the Afternoon Tea however the service was something to be desired. Let's hope that this was a one off as I've heard good thing about this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Euphor_ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I usually don't bother with reviews but I had to take it further as our short break was absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend it as it has everything, warm and personal service, outstanding grounds and very good staff! The ground floor bar and lounge have been refurbished to a high standard ( not finished yet dough), we had food in the lounge as the restaurant was shut for a complete makeover and it was very good! They have a new manager ( Italian looking) and he told us the plans for the new restaurant and it sounded very exciting. We will be back this spring, thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Charged us £4.50 for extra mash,£2.50 for gravy!which they call steak sauce and £7.95 for kids meals which consist of 2 sausage 1 spoon of mash and a few beans.real poor value.rest of meals were ok but not great for a venue like this.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Liamgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirwaun
5.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
907 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
130 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Property: Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Address: Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing