We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend away..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend away..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We recently visited the Ty Newydd Country Hotel and stayed for 2 nights via a groupon deal. Fantastic place, amazing food - throughly enjoyed our stay and will be back again. When we first arrived it was apparent that they are having some renovation work - and the main restaurant was closed. They were using their function room as a makeshift restaurant which did not cause major problems, but will be good to see the work once its finished, judging by the work done so far. The staff were lovely, really friendly and very accomodating to our every need. We had a 3 course meal tied in with our deal which was really good value for money. We upgraded to the bridal suite, which was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    175
    106
    33
    35
See reviews for
80
308
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed one night for a quick, reasonably priced, getaway. The hotel is undergoing renovations so it would be wrong to comment on the public areas before they are finished. We had a great nights sleep in a comfortable and clean room. Our only adverse comment would be the pillows are getting a bit thin. Lovely cozy bar with a log burner, just the job on a cold and wet evening. Dinner was very good, the choice was interesting and it was well cooked and presented by very friendly staff. The next morning, a delicious welsh breakfast. All in all, good quality at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We had Room 11, a standard room. Good size and facilities, no noise although it was above the functi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
375 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for an afternoon tea. Staff knew we were waiting for a long time before we were spoken to, they were sat doing emails or similar. They then served someone who had come in afterwards first.

Was told that we could not eat from the bar menu in the bar. We would have to eat in the restaurant. Fine we said. But then they said it was a half hour wait to even sit in the restaurant. Walked out at this point.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank DaveSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very fiendly staff and yummy food, breakfast was excellent, Room was comfy and quiet.is on a quiet sight away from the road, we would definitely visit this hotel again, nice comfy lounge and bigrestaraunt

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have visited The Ty Newydd Hotel on many occasions and the standards there are superb, great food, great staff and great atmosphere. We have had family from the USA stay there seveal times and they have reved about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Enjoyed our New Years Eve's dinner eight of us seated at a round table. The room and table
were nicely decorated the food was excellent and the staff very efficient. We stayed the night
and our room was warm and comfortable . The breakfast was very good just help yourself.
We had a meal the day before which was excellent value the homemade faggots were delicious.
For our group the only down side was the entertainment the artist was much too loud and his
choice of songs were not the best the disco just as bad, what is wrong with some nice dance music and songs you can sing to if only for half an hour .Would go again if there was more
variety to the entertainment .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rita156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay (£79 standard room with 3 course dinner and breakfast). Our welcome was the only negative point of the stay. The receptionist just seemed to stare at us. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we sat in the sitting room and had a look at the lunch menu. This was all a bit awkward and the sitting room is quite shabby. We then had some lunch which was nice. We had cawl and ham, egg and chips. We settled in our room which was nice enough, a bit run down but very spacious and a nice view (Room no 5). We had a taxi booked to get us to the Pendryn Whisky Distillery which didn't come due to the weather but a member of the hotel staff was so lovely and gave us a lift. The distillery was brilliant and the tasting was a fun way to fill the time. We got a lift back with the same member of staff who told us a lot about the history of the hotel and the future plans for renovation. After chatting she told us the hotel had low occupancy (probably being so close to Christmas) and then offered us a free upgrade. She showed room 19 and 13 and we chose to stay in 13. The room was warm and spacious and we enjoyed the luxury of the jucuzzi bath and four poster bed. The 3 course dinner was utterly delicious! We had risotto and terrain to start, duck and lamb for mains and then creme brulee. Breakfast was nice. Overall, we had a fantastic time away to ourselves before the rush of Christmas and the staff and food at the hotel really made the experience. We look forward to visiting again once the renovations have been made! :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiniest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirwaun
5.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
17.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Swansea
The Grand Hotel Swansea
#14 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
16.0 mi away
Court Colman Manor
Court Colman Manor
#4 of 9 in Bridgend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
15.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Property: Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Address: Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing