We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely break away before Christmas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a lovely one night stay (£79 standard room with 3 course dinner and breakfast). Our welcome was the only negative point of the stay. The receptionist just seemed to stare at us. Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we sat in the sitting room and had a look at the lunch menu. This was all a bit awkward and the sitting room is quite shabby. We then had some lunch which was nice. We had cawl and ham, egg and chips. We settled in our room which was nice enough, a bit run down but very spacious and a nice view (Room no 5). We had a taxi booked to get us to the Pendryn Whisky Distillery which didn't come due to the weather but a member of the hotel staff was so lovely and gave us a lift. The distillery was brilliant and the tasting was a fun way to fill the time. We got a lift back with the same member of staff who told us a lot about the history of the hotel and the future plans for renovation. After chatting she told us the hotel had low occupancy (probably being so close to Christmas) and then offered us a free upgrade. She showed room 19 and 13 and we chose to stay in 13. The room was warm and spacious and we enjoyed the luxury of the jucuzzi bath and four poster bed. The 3 course dinner was utterly delicious! We had risotto and terrain to start, duck and lamb for mains and then creme brulee. Breakfast was nice. Overall, we had a fantastic time away to ourselves before the rush of Christmas and the staff and food at the hotel really made the experience. We look forward to visiting again once the renovations have been made! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiniest88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Ty Newydd Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 548 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

we feel that the service we received at the Ty Newydd hotel was excellent,the staff treat you with dignity and respect and are all very friendly.Our christmas stay was made so special .we would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: i don't feel i can suggest a specific room because we have stayed in this hotel on a few occasio...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel using the Xmas package .All I can say is from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed we both had the most lovely time. The staff were so helpful and attentive the room was really large and the food was excellent especially Xmas lunch and buffet We will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this 2 night stay with 3 course meal with Living Social and it was exceptional value for money.

The quality of the food and service was extremely good. My husband is vegetarian and he was very impressed with the choice and quality of the fresh food.

We feel that the only part of our stay that was 3* was the decor, which is dated but clean and tidy. We did have a loo that was temperamental with the flush and a blown bulb, but they could not have come to resolve the problems more quickly.

We would certainly return to this beautiful part of the world and would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We came across this hotel by chance on route to Penderyn whiskey distillery we had arrived two hours too early so was guided to this hotel from the visitors centre,
And to say I'm glad we turned up to early is an understatement, as if we had turned up on time we would of missed a true gem of a place.
We arrived at 12 noon and had coffee in the very homely sitting room the fire was lit and the views are amazing,
We then had lunch and the choice was fantastic and very well priced,
The staff are brilliant and even though we had not booked they were so welcoming and made us feel really special.
They went on to explain that in early Jan 2014 they would be having a total new look throughout and they would be having a grand opening early March ,
I'm sure that it will be as outstanding as it sounds.
I wish them every success in the new year and will be coming back
Many thanks team ty newydd for making our visit so memorable

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband booked this two night break with Living Social. It included 2 nights B&B & a 3 course meal the 1st night.
We were given room 9 which was a smallish room but fine for two nights away.
We booked our meal for 7pm arrived in the bar 10 minutes early to be greeted by a very pleasant waitress who offered to get our drinks for us. Another waitress then came over to describe the menu in detail to us which was a really nice touch. At 7pm we were shown to our table. The food & service was very good, the waitress looking after us was very attentive.
The following morning I decided to have a shower, the shower was not adjustable to make hot or colder. It was only Luke warm so in the end I decided to have a bath. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice, cereal, fruit, yogurt, full cooked breakfast. On returning to the room approx 4.30pm we could see that the room had not been made up, no refreshed toiletries,towels, coffee/tea biscuits. The following morning the shower again was only luke warm so another bath!
If at all possible steer clear from this room, it has a wardrobe hiding an adjoining door to room 8. We could hear our "neighbours" very clearly. To top it all their tv was put on around 6.45am, no chance of getting back to sleep.
Did mention all the issues to the receptionist who politely apologised.
Would I return? Yes for the staff, all friendly & helpful. For the hotel definitely not.
They need to address the issues as I am sure I am not the 1st person to mention them.

Room Tip: Avoid room 9 if you value your sleep!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bridgethemidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed recently for two nights at this lovely located homely Country Hotel. Our welcome by the man on reception was very nice. We (hubby and myself ) choose to upgrade our room and stayed in the Pen-y-fan suite which is situated on the first floor at the end of corridor so its very quiet . Our room had a four poster bed furnished with heavy dark drapes matching the curtains and furnishings. The wood was all dark wood so the room had a cosy "Victorian " feel about it. The room was large and overlooked the front. The bathroom although superficially looked clean left much to be desired. The bath wall had black mould spots on the grouting where the bath meets the wall and also on the rubber bath mat. The sink plug was very dirty and unhygienic looking (see photo) it looked like it hadn't been cleaned properly for quite some time.
The bar which was open the fist night of our visit was a bit sparse with furniture but did have a roaring fire which is always welcome. The bar closed the next day (no prior warning of this was given to us) for redecoration. There was also a nice lounge area with lots of old comfy settees and chairs and a open fire where one could take a drink before dinner. The dining room looked recently decorated but there were very old worn tables which didn't seem right in such a nice room. Maybe it was shabby chic, but white tablecloths would have looked nicer than those old worn out tables. The food (we ate there both nights) was very good (Compliments to the Chef for that) as was the service given by the waitress who was efficient and very pleasant. The price for dinner and wine was on a par with other hotels or maybe slightly better value than most.
Breakfast was the usual sort of mixture of cereals/cooked breakfast etc. and very acceptable.
We loved the homely, old fashioned feel to the hotel but its just a shame there were hygiene issues with the bathroom.
Mentioning the dirty plug on checking out was met with an air of indifference by the woman on reception. Would we stay again ? Probably not, but we did enjoy the area and a lot the hotel had to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hirwaun
5.7 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
322 reviews
15.1 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
115 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
11.4 mi away
Heritage Park Hotel
Heritage Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Pontypridd
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Newydd Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Newydd Country Hotel

Address: Penderyn Road, Hirwaun, Aberdare CF44 9SX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf > Aberdare > Hirwaun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hirwaun
Price Range: $102 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Newydd Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ty Newydd Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Newydd Country Aberdare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing