We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Living the dream”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hendafarn

View of the cottage taken from the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage taken from the beach
Breakwater and moutains in the distance taken from the cottage door Inglenook fireplace and multi-fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View of the cottage taken from the beach
Breakwater and moutains in the distance taken from the cottage door
Inglenook fireplace and multi-fuel stove
Sitting room and inglenook fireplace
Dining Area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Nefyn, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaynem57
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living the dream”
Reviewed October 30, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Hendafarn,is every thing and more that you could ever want from a beach side cottage. It if full of old world character but with all the home comforts to gibe you a perfect holiday. I was delighted that the tide came right up to the cottage wall and cut us off for a short while.we were cosy and warm inside watching the waves perfect.Jane the owner is really nice and welcoming from her opening the front door we knee we had picked the right cottage. Can't wait to come back next year . (any one who could right a bad review must come from another planet)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill H
1 review
“Whatever your idea of heaven is this is it!”
Reviewed December 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolute bliss is the only way to describe this truly beautiful cottage.
Everything you need or want is here it is perfect, very well equipped
comfortable, warm & very homely & the cherry on the cake is the
totally charming Jane what a gem.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I very much appreciate your comments. Hope we will see you all again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan T
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shhhhhhh”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had the best time ever Jane was the perfect hostess.
The cottage was as we expected clean, tidy with all amenities' and more.
This is a very special location for relaxing or for the energetic lots of great walks.

We hope to return again in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Basic shower room but functional and matresses not as at home but ok.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
Thank you very much. It was lovely having you to stay. What glorious weather we all enjoyed. Hope to see you again in the future. Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sbw1976
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little bit of Paradise”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We'll never forget our week by the sea (literally 50ft from the sea)

The cottage is in a stunning location, very idyllic with some great local views and scenery. With access across the wide bay being governed by the tides there's often times where you feel wonderfully cut off. To be able to open your front door and in less than a minute be paddling with the dogs was worth every penny - if truth be told a whole lot more.

We did the rounds, had trips to Caernarfon, Porthmadog, Betws y Coed and Blannaeu Ffestiniog but spent most of our time relaxing around the cottage. Daytimes were spent playing on the beach with the dogs and sitting out front relaxing, BBQ'ing, soaking up the sun (got lucky in that respect), night times spent watching a decent enough TV and tending to the much missed log fire.

The cottage has it's quirks, as it should. Took a couple of days of bumped heads before getting accustomed to the low beams etc. and it could be hard to keep sand-free at times but in all honesty this added to the place's overall charm.

The Ty Coch Inn lives up to it's famous reputation (though well over an hours walk in all fairness) and Nefyn itself has a couple of cafe's and convenience stores. Didn't try the chippy but, word to the wise, the Indian is abysmal.

Jane, the friendly owner is only 2 doors away and as accommodating as they come. We'd certainly hope to return again one day and would give the cottage 6 out of 5 if it were possible - get it booked, you won't regret it!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2014
Steve and Lynne thank you very much for your review. It is always a relief when guests enjoy their holiday. Hendafarn is unique and doesn't always suit everyone but when it does it's a real pleasure. Hopefully you will remember it as a happy holiday and return.
Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbank12...
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The worst holiday cottage for years.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We have to admit that the position of this small fishamans cottage was lovely, right on the beach and I can imagine for people with children it would be ideal to just open the door and let them play without having to go anywhere. For us it proved very different. The bathroom is downstairs and had it said that in the advert. we would never have booked it. Having got over that we settled in and took our cases up stairs. I am afraid that the state of the beds left much to be desired and the mattresses were not nice. Lucky for us we had taken our own pillows & duvets as nothing is provided in the way of bed linen or towels, only pillows and duvets which we would not have liked to use. We made up the bed best we could and my husband had to clammber over the bed to get into it later as there wasn't room each side of the bed. This cottage is recommended for 4 adults & 2 children. Having had cottages ourselves we know they are tight on space but had it been mine, 2 children and 2 adults would have been the maximum I would have recommended as there was little hanging space and no dressing table as such, just a mirror on a shelf which made drying my hair a pain. Many other problems soon became apparent. NO SHAVER POINTand water in the bathroom was by way of a small water heater found normally in a cloakroom, with hardly any coming out, no selves or cupboards to put things. Having moved into the kitchen we were greeted by an old fridge/freezer with rust on it. The next problem were 2 old deck chair like sofa's which worked like a deckchair. Trying to get comfortable in these was impossible, so spent most of the evening watching TV on some basket chairs. After 2 nights of this we decided enough was really enough so we packed up and came home. Having emailed the owner with our list of complaints we were told that only one other person had complained in 10 years, well what can I say, we were not offered any refund or I might say an apology. The owner admitted to one stain on the mattress herself, had she not seen the others and a couple of rips, obviously not. We lost our £375 and booking fee and feel extremly cross that people can let out these cottages when its very doubtful they would spend a day in them themselves. We never expected 5 star but neither did we expect 1 star. We left the cottage in a clean condition as we always would and were glad to be on our way.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: The state of the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2013
The guests arrived on Saturday and left on Monday without saying goodbye or telling me of their displeasure with the cottage. I was therefore unable to discuss a refund with them, but subsequently sent an email saying a cheque would be in the post. I find their comments unfair. A previous review was brilliant. I have been letting Hendafarn for a number of years and they are only the second people to complain. Most of my lets are to people who have been coming back to the cottage for a number of years. Hendafarn is a beautiful beachside cottage and does not deserve this criticism from people who happened to choose the wrong holiday accommodation for their needs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magnificent Hendafarn”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at Hendafarn on a beautiful hot sunny day....the drive across the beach to reach our front door was quite exciting, taking care not to disturb the familys enjoying a day at the beach.
Jane Spencer (the owner) greeted us and showed us around our charming, rustic holiday home for the week.
We unloaded the car as quickly as possible as the sea was calling us to come for a paddle.
We did not leave for 48 hrs and only then to get more supplies.
The week flew by very quickly. We loved this holiday and were made very welcome by Jane the owner.
Cannot wait for our next visit !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Honestly I cannot think of anything !!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing