We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A huge improvement”
Reviewed July 29, 2009

It's a long time since I had a meal at Maesmawr, and knowing the previous standard, went there with trepidation. I was there to celebrate a family birthday and was hugely surprised. The food was exceptional, the best I have tasted in the Newtown area for many a year. The food was well presented, plenty of it, of good quality resonably priced and the service was very good. An immensely enjoyable birthday lunch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    82
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
115
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We found the staff very helpful, friendly and polite.
The Hall itself is beautiful, a wonderfully restored building.
As a country retreat, our rooms were very comfortable, peaceful, picture perfect/dream like, with amazing views.
We had a evening meal which was also fantastic, great service and very good value.
Overall WE ALL said the whole experience was 11/10.
We plan to go back again, but will probably save it for a special occasion.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kris68_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

A lovely building with really cosy and welcoming public areas - a great open wood fire bar area and restaurant but the rooms are a work in progress.
I know this hotel has recently been taken over and changes are being made but at the moment the rooms are dated - especially the bathrooms.
Staff were great and helpful so will be interested to see how this place develops.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

We had a lovely room,which was on the small side but adequate for our needs. We had a great view from the window down the sweeping drive.The towels were sumptious and soft and there were toitetries provided.There was a good tea tray with both still and sparkling water. We had a great meal in the restaurant,but we felt the wine prices were a little steep. The breakfast the next morning was good too .

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The first thing that you see as you approach the hotel is a sign saying that it is under new management. This change was apparent when you got there. Things such as the outdated TVs that the previous reviewers mentioned are going, while I was there my room got an LCD TV. OK, you still can't get ITV but that isn't the owners fault, that is a problem with ITV that should be resoved soon.

The rooms were well decorated without the usual excess of floral patterning that British country hotels suffer from. The toiletries etc in the bathroom were of good quality and the tea/coffee tray was kept well stocked. This is a good thing when the tea/coffee in the bar cost as much as they do.

The food was off an extremely high standard throughout the week I was there. It is all pretty good value for money apart from the sandwiches which we felt were expensive (£6+ for a round of sandwiches).

The staff were fantastic, very accomodating to our numerous strange requests and friendly throughout.

The best feature of this hotel without a doubt is the bar lounge. Yes it does get insanely hot, but after a hard day it is fabulous to sink into one of the sumtuous leather armchairs by the fire and maybe have a little snooze. If they add in more papers than just the Daily Mail then this will be undoubtedle the best hotel lounge in the world!

  • Liked — The bar lounge
  • Disliked — The sandwich prices
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mudcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

This hotel is a lovely old timber framed building with creaky floorboards and a huge open fire in the bar/lounge area. I imagine great for chilling out on a cold winters night!

The bedrooms are basic and have a homely B&B feel to them. The ensuites were very clean but alittle tired and in need of a refurb. The beds were very soft and bouncy with sheets and blankets rather than duvets, not a problem for us but not usual in a hotel charging as much as it does. The TV was a kickback from the 80's, tiny, no Sky and not all the usual channels available. This is not set up as a business hotel and therefore we did not ask or expect there to be WIFI.

All of the points above would not a problem if the hotel charged appropriately - £50 a room maybe B&B. I did not pay for our accomodation at £95 B&B but think this was extortionate for the quality of the rooms.

On the plus! They have a great wine selection and dinner was of good qualtiy with home cooked food. Breakfast was ok but could have been nicer if they used/promoted local bacon, saugages etc.. The staff were all very friendly and work very hard to make you feel at home.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel but would have to warn people about the price v the quality of the rooms.

NB: We were blown away with the area around this hotel, it is simply beautiful! We only wish we had longer there. Also worth noting is if you are into rally driving 'Higgins rally school' is not far from the hotel, we had a fantastic 1/2 day forest experience and when not in a rally car having fun, we sat in the sun admiring the view... lovely :-)

  • Liked — the location, the building and the excellent service
  • Disliked — The price is too high for the hotel bedroom facilities and decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2008

A beautiful building with a fantastic driveway in Newtown Powys.
My husband and I stayed here only for 1 night mid week. There is a large, private car park and the owner is on site at all times. We arrived ata bout 6pm and we were shown to our room which had gorgeous views of the grounds and surrounding countryside. A large bathroom and all the usual tv, coffee facilities etc. Unfortunately we were the only ones there on this particular night but the service we had was excellent. There is a fairly well stocked bar and a lovely restaurant with patio doors opening onto the grounds. We ordered off the varied menu and had a fantastic meal for two with a good quality house wine. The breakfast the following morning was equally good with plenty of choice to set you up for the day. A good find in the heart of Mid Wales and one we will be returning to at some point in the fututre.

  • Liked — Grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
13.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Property: Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing