We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“weekend stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

me and my wife stayed here for the weekend.when we arrived we were given room 1,we were being charged £120 per night for this room,wow what a disapointment,allthoughe clean the wallpaper was ripped and stained the carpet had inprints of iron marks whiche had been melted into,we had to take the head board of the bed because every time you turned it banged on the wall,the bed was terrible we rolled in the middle constantly and to finish of at 630 in the morning the central heating was knocking really loudly for approx 1hr,we complained to the manager who managed to move us to a muche better room the next day.now the good point the hotel itself is lovely full of character,the staff are a credit to this hotel very freindly and attentive,the manager was sorry dont know his name was very understanding and is also a credit to this hotel.the hotel is currently going throughe a refurb,but i feel they should drastically reduce the charge for this room or wait till this room has had a complete refurb before they let it out.

Room Tip: please note this hotel is going throughe a refurb,make sure room one is done or avoid this room at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    83
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
68
115
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the hotel for a wedding.

Have to honestly say that it was the best wedding that myself and my husband have ever been to.
If you love and expect the very best in food, the very best in staff customer service and kindness then you'll staying at the right place.

The evening four course meal was exemplary, the breakfast unbelievable and the top notch service goes without saying.

The wedding feast was the best I've ever eaten, fresh, individual, lots of it and 5*. Lee looked after everyone so well and went above and beyond even loaning my husband a tie when he'd forgotten to pack his.

We stayed in room 11 which is part of the old house, the bed was the comfiest ever so a great few nights sleep also!

Can't recommend the place enough and will definitely be returning soonest for the same 3 night deal.

Room Tip: Room 11 for an old fashioned taste of the hotel or the Coach house if you want a modern feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed with a group including V8Racer and Johng39benfleet. It was unfortunate for them that they were consigned to the Coach House! We suffered the same fate approx 8 years ago and had to complain about the room then so it's very disappointing that it hasn't improved yet.

That said, we were lucky this time and had room 2 in the main building. There is information in the room to advise that refurbishment is ongoing but our room was really quite nice and, I assume, had already been 'done'. However, I could not turn the radiator off or down and neither could the member of staff who came to help. The main building, as has been said, is old and quirky, but very photogenic and attractive.

We ate as a large group in the function room (like the Coach House, this is completely dissimilar to the 'character' part of the building). The food was plentiful but a bit 'school dinners'. The lamb with apricot stuffing was served sans stuffing and well overcooked. Food had been pre-ordered but the choice of 4 desserts had strangely been reduced to just 3.

Breakfast was nicely done and the waiting staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, not the Coach House, and not above the bar as, apparently, that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0llyGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stay at the Maesmawr on a regular basis as I work in Newtown.
There is always a friendly welcome from staff and the hotel is a truly wonderful old building with lots of character and charm.
The food is of a very high standard and can be recommended as a great place to dine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redland4451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in the coach House which is detached from the main hotel building. I echo most of the sentiments in johng39's review although we were in room 15.
Room 15 was ok, furniture a bit dated and could have done with some re-decoration, but very clean and tidy. The hot water (including shower) was very hot! and my partner complained of the noisy pipes during the night - I slept through it.
The main (1537) part of the hotel is very old and quirky with a feature fireplace, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.
I can thoroughly recommend the ham sandwiches and the breakfast was excellent.
A nice quiet setting in the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V8Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

When you drive up to the main building, you can see the fantastic character of the building. Inside it does not disappoint and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. Room 20 in the coach house leaves a lot to be desired with 1960's furniture, no chair (no room for one) and a very strange luke warm shower, yet scalding taps!! A very small room that did not enjoy the character of the main building and I would not want to sit in the room particularly if I had time to kill.

That said, good food and a great location, with extremely nice staff on reception, in the bar and serving. I would not avoid this hotel, but would probably avoid the coach house and ask for a room in the main building. It is hard to be negative when a place has a great atmosphere, staff and location, the room was clean and tidy, bed comfortable etc etc.

Room Tip: Not room 20, try and get a modernised room or in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johng39benfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Had the amazing room 22. Such a quirky room. Typical sloping floor, beamed ceiling. Very large room with such a small entrance. Character in abundance. You will understand when you see it! This however is what I'd want to see in this period hotel. So glad we were allocated this room. Fab bathroom, Shower pressure very good considering in the attic and also the age of the house. Stayed in for food and drinks as no where really within walking distance. Small but perfectly formed bar area. Bar menu perfect and reasonably priced. Wine list great and again reasonably priced. Staff went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast was better than the 3* rating. Plenty of options to suit the fussiest of eaters. Perfect night away! 3 * rating but much higher quality of hospitality. Diolch o galon

Room Tip: room 22....this is what you want from a period property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFFMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
13.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Property: Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing