We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welsh Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Welsh Gem”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Maesmawr Hall is a Welsh gem. From the moment we approached the 16th Century timber framed house in its tranquil setting we were enchanted.
John and his staff made us feel most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
We have just returned from a most relaxing short break (3 nights 2 dinners) and we extended our stay an extra night.
We expected to stay in the main house, but when we saw our coach house room WOW! It exceeded our expectations. The room has been refurbished to a very high standard with great attention to detail. It was sheer luxury.
The food was excellent as was the service. We especially enjoyed the Welsh breakfast, and the first class four course dinners. The hotel has a most relaxing atmosphere. The grounds were delightful to stroll around or to just sit in the garden and watch the wildlife.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob-Vaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    86
    20
    11
    7
See reviews for
70
119
11
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Maesmawr for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We normally stay in 3 or 4* hotels, but we were visiting a family member in Tylwch and this was the nearest hotel.

The service was excellent, the room was lovely, spacious and clean and the location was perfect. The breakfast was one of the best we've ever had, all freshly cooked to order.

Our only complaint was the bathroom, it was too small and looking very tired, BUT, the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment at the moment, so once it is completed I'm sure this will be remedied. Also to be perfectly honest I think the charges are a little high for a 3* considering the condition of the bathroom. We paid £125 a night for what they describe as a "Standard Room + Breakfast". We have paid that for some 5* hotels in the past and even less.

But overall, I would recommend the hotel, it's in a beautiful setting, full of character and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireLass67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesmawr, Owner at Maesmawr Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your very kind comments posted after your recent stay at Maesmawr Hall with regards your room and the service received at the hotel.
I do hope you will have chance to visit us again as we continue with the refurbishment and will be able to see the improvements to all our rooms over the next 12 to 18 months.
Kind regards

John Garner
Managing Dircetor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2011

Stayed for just one night inthe annex. Perfect for us, as just a quick overnight whilst in the area and great value with the benefits of the main hall's bar, breakfast and outside seating. For the owner, nothing was too much trouble. We had beer and snacks outside before his brother in law was called in to whisk us into Newtown when taxis were too busy. Breakfast outside in the sunshine was the perfect sartto a Sunday. Would stay here aain without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Re22ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

This is my second visit to Maesmawr, it is the hotel chosen by my companies booking agent. Walked in this evening to a roaring fire which really warmed me up. Nice friendly staff who showed me to my room. Second visit and again I get room 5, a room which is yet to be upgraded. Even so, the room was clean, warm and very confortable. Last visit I had a great nights sleep here, and I am looking forward to resting my head again. Dinner was great, and the staff never had any problem with making requested changes to the main menu items. Lovely coffee, and great breakfast. I love this place. It is a place of great tranquility after a hard days work.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I've stayed here twice in 2010 on a business trip (July and October). I stayed in two very different rooms (2 and 10) which were both very comfortable but with very different decor. I loved the genuine leaded windows, food was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Only serious drawback as a business traveller is the wifi and mobile broadband availability. On my first visit, a farmer had ploughed through their BT cable and there were no phones or wifi. On my second visit free wifi was available but painfully slow and erratic. I tried using my Orange mobile broadband but the signal was appalling and speeds so slow as to be unusable (other operators may be better in this region). Overall a very pleasant stay but if you are travelling on business make sure you've done all your e-working beforehand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The food is very good and the owners are gradually improving what was a very run-down hotel, but the 'dog-friendly' room I had was freezing, up in the loft and the carpet matted with dog hair which stank. Sometimes they shove you out into the coach-house which is clean but old fashioned.

Recommended if you have passed Llanidloes and don't want to turn round. It is better than anything in Newtown.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in room 22 loads of character , huge modern bathroom lovely lounge separate bedroom with a comfy kingsized bed and fantastic views. The hotel is set in beautifull grounds and the owner and staff were very friendly and effiencient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzyq002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caersws
15.0 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
635 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
270 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
86 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maesmawr Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maesmawr Hall Hotel

Property: Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Address: Long Length, Caersws, Newtown SY17 5SF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown > Caersws
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caersws
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maesmawr Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from before 1600 Maesmawr Hall Hotel is the perfect country house destination for business, leisure or that very special occasion. From the minute you turn into the long driveway and glimpse the half-timbered house that is Maesmawr Hall Hotel you know you are somewhere special. The hotel has a rich history and original features can be seen throughout the main house including the stylish restaurant, cosy bar and panelled meeting room. Set amongst the glorious Powys countryside, five miles from Newtown, it’s the ideal base from which to explore mid Wales and its many attractions; while the stunning coastline of Cardigan Bay is a mere 50 minutes away. Larger towns such as Shrewsbury, Chester and Aberystwyth are also within easy reach. Visitors will also appreciate modern facilities such as wireless internet access in the main house and a large function room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maesmawr Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maesmawr Hall
Maesmawr Hall Hotel Caersws, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing