We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mother's day at Glenisla Hotel!”
Review of Glenisla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenisla Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ANGUS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Mother's day at Glenisla Hotel!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Headed to Glenisla Hotel for a family mother's day meal as heard under new ownership. We were not disappointed. The place is homely, welcoming with a relaxing atmosphere. Wholesome food in a lovely setting. Loads of families and very busy and although staff rushed off their feet they couldn't do enough for their customers - us included. We are already planning our next visit, which will incorporate a walk with the dog in the lovely countryside to build up an appetite for more culinary delights. Well done to the new owners!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caramel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    31
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
58
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were staying in a cottage for a few days in Kirkton of Glenisla and had a wonderful meal in this hotel. The staff were so pleasant and friendly. The open fire gave the bar area a lovely atmosphere. The food was excellent and all homemade. Can recommend the burger, delicious. Very reasonably priced. Will return without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank McB1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Have been up a couple of time for drinks at the Glenisla Hotel (Kirkton of Glenisla), NEW OWNERS just what the place was needing, very friendly, The hotel once again has some life in it, the owners made us very welcome and the locals were brilliant, very friendly and told many a story about the Glens. The hotel starts serving food tomorrow March 11th, can't wait to go up and try some. Perfect place to stop if your out walking, nice open fire to sit around, Good sized function room, Pool table and darts board, I know they have a quizz night on a Thursday once a month, will be going to that also. Its dog friendly too which is a bonus especially for me, saves leaving them in the car,Not too long a drive, about half hour away from Blairgowrie.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank SHEELAGH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for couple of nights and so glad we did great friendly place excellent food and dog friendly. We met funny locals and without making comparisons to The League of Gentleman Royston Vasey (he he he) they kept us entertained with stories all night. There was impromptu live music thanks to a great guy who was also staying. Would love a place like this as my local. When we stayed there was still deep snow on some of the local lanes and fields but we had missed the worse of it. Wish we had been snowed in. Great breakfast. Locally, I did a run on one of the hill routes, we visited the local farm shop / cafe nearby, did sketches for paintings and generally meandered about watching the mountain hares. Will definitely return and hope to stay longer next time. Room was good - a little on the small side and there was some issue with the shower (didn't cause us any probs). On the last night some hurray henries came in with screaming child - they were "doing the season" - not sure which season exactly probably shooting something small and vulnerable. They were the only blot to be honest. We vote for the old school house to become a bunk house or art gallery btw (he he he). And if you see a black lab running for the hills grab it as the owner will be along shortly to reclaim it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here one night on our Cateran Trail walk. After a 17 mile walk (ending with a couple miles of heavy rain), Willy greeted us at the door with a very warm welcome, took our wet boots and put them by the fire in the cozy bar, and showed us up to our room, which was clean and had a bath - superb! The building is a wonderful old building. We had dinner in the bar - excellent food, great vegetarian choices, and we visited with the local people. The atmosphere was perfect, Willy and Shelly are very friendly. Excellent breakfast in the morning before heading out with a wonderful packed lunch (best bread on the Trail).

Room Tip: There's only one room with a tub, so you may want to ask for this one if you're hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VenetianWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night at glenisla, as part of a hiking holiday (we were doing the Cateran Trail). The Glenisla Hotel was exactly what we wanted at the end of a days walking - old fashioned, faultless service combined with excellent and generous portions of food and comfortable beds! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our recent stay here was just wonderful . Room, food , and very welcoming owner ans staff made us , and our wee doggie Bonnie , feel right at home .Great chef ,good food variety , and any requests granted . The vegetarian Bobotie was just scrumptios and William , chef ,makes a real mean Currie !!Nothing is too much for them here . Bar is well stocked and the Resident's Lounge is , as the rest of this bonnie wee Hotel , very cosy and comfortable . So folks , make your way there ---- and , like us ,you shall return to this wee Jewel . Shelly is a charming host and a really lovely Lady . Here's to our next vist . Anne R .

Room Tip: Go on to their website and there are actual Room pictures and View descriptions .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 143anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkton of Glenisla
10.1 mi away
Dalmunzie Castle
Dalmunzie Castle
#1 of 1 in Spittal of Glenshee
370 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
19.4 mi away
Braemar Lodge Hotel
Braemar Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Braemar
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Glen Clova Hotel
Glen Clova Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milton of Clova
415 reviews
15.4 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
759 reviews
7.4 mi away
Bridge of Cally Hotel
Bridge of Cally Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bridge of Cally
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenisla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenisla Hotel

Property: Glenisla Hotel
Address: Near Blairgowrie, Kirkton of Glenisla PH11 8PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Kirkton of Glenisla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkton of Glenisla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenisla Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Glenisla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing